"Why doesnt your Reputation get out of the negative zone?" - @remotehorst23 asks, here's the answer

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

@remotehorst23 asked this question and I am hoping others are wondering the same... I hope you are, otherwise you're just heartless dudes!

I digress, so the question was, why is it with all the votes I am getting my reputation score isn't going up? Now, if you want a really technical answer, you can read this post:

https://steemit.com/steem/@sevinwilson/complete-overview-of-reputation-score-how-it-s-calculated-and-how-to-increase-it-reputation-score-table-included

But for those that follow me, you know I like to keep things simple and I am a visual person. So I thought I could best explain it through a diagram. (you will need to click to see the picture)

steem reputation score.jpg

So, when you start your steem journey, you get to be landed on this nice safe ledge and are given a 25 reputation score. Most people tend to look up and try and climb up. The first few steps are easy as many of you may have noticed, but each step up becomes harder than the last. To go from 45 to 50, is a lot harder than going from 25 to 30.

Now, here's the other side of the journey, if somebody comes along and pushes you down by flagging. It's quite easy to get back up if you are not pushed too far down.

But it my case, it went down to -12, thanks to a certain whale who's name we shall not speak of here. That is 35 steps down from 25. Now remember each step down is steeper than the last. To go up from -12 to -11 is lot lot harder than going from -2 to -1. Basically you are climbing back up a cliff edge, it's tough and takes a lot of effort.

But the good news is each step up will become easier until I get to that nice safe landing spot of 25, then it will start getting steeper again.

Let me know if that helped you to understand how a logarithmic scoring system works!

Questions in the comments if you want some more clarification.

@kabir88

If you liked this explanation, go and let @steemitblog know as they are looking for new writers
https://steemit.com/steemit/@kabir88/re-steemitblog-want-to-write-for-steemit-inc-20181026t153623902z

Thank you to everyone who's kept supporting me while I try and climb back up that cliff face!

Sort:  

Thank you @kabir88, your analysis is easy to understand. I make this graph for you and good luck with your journey. You have my full minnow support. Whales, please don't stare at me, I'm just a minnow, you don’t have to do anything and I will just die by my own.

Screen Shot 2018-10-28 at 3.15.07 PM.PNG
IMG source

haha, thanks @carlpei, I made this just for you...

Untitled presentation.jpg

Hahaha, good one. Today, I nervously went online to check my Rep.

The way that the formulas are written down in that sevinwilson post suggest that the formula which convert the raw score to the simplified score is given by y=(Log[x]/Log[10] - 9)*9 + 25 where x represents the raw score and y the simplified score. The first derivative of this function is positive and the second derivative of this function is negative. This means that the lower your simplified score is the easier it is to increase your score. So I am guessing that for negative simplified score there is another formula?

UPDATE: Yeah so indeed the formula only holds when certain conditions are satisfied.

def reputation_to_score(rep)

if isinstance(rep, str):
    rep = int(rep)
if rep == 0:
    return 25.
score = max([math.log10(abs(rep)) - 9, 0])
if rep < 0:
    score *= -1
score = (score * 9.) + 25.
return score`

Thanks to flugschwein for the code :o)

This means that the lower your simplified score is the easier it is to increase your score

This holds true at 25 and above. Below 25 it works in reverse

Just look at how long it took @berniesanders to get out ofnthe negative with his huge resources and fan club.....keep climbing friend, one foot in front of the other and repeat ...you'll soon be losing your cloak of invisibilty!

Thanks @nathen007, I might miss it when it goes. It's helped me avoid spam comments and engage with some really genuine people.

But I have plans that require visibility going forward, so it's time to accelerate that climb :)

I would also add that there are other ways to consider an account’s reputation like the @steem-ua project which uses different metrics to determines its score and the importance of looking at that approach.

That's a good point, but unfortunately, it's not currently beening supported by any steem front end platforms and there's no easy way for users to check someone's @steem-ua score. More importantly, most platforms are hiding all my content, even to my followers.

So it's Phoenix time ;)

I think @steem-ua is an epic failure. Have you seen the absolute shit posts they are upvoting?

I get a similar vote from @busy.org for free... My most popular posts which was in the top 26 posts on @steem-ua got peanuts. Looks like most of their voting power is going to their mates in utopian

Now to be honest I'd be first to defend utopian as a community of great value to STEEM, but when it comes to UA, advertising your service as one thing and deliberately deviating from that promise is not on.

I honestly have not seen them but thanks for pointing it out as I will. However, have in mind that this could be a factor of how many posts are actually being done. I do a weekly post to highlight new user that post to the #introduceyourself tag and have had to really stretch the limits of what is a decent post or not. It becomes a learning process that I too have not only been through but still look to improve on. I also like the project because it helps me track my relative progress with my own score and I think it consolidates some good metrics that help measure my engagement.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Awesome project @tts, who is behind it? It's great!!

Alas, we do not know, they've only made one post and I don't think that bot's owner checks replies or is looking for feedback.

Not having an option to adjust the speed of the recording without downloading the file makes this thing a bit useless, at least to someone who uses TTS daily (to spare his already slightly poor eyesight).

I wonder if it is open source and if someone can fork the code and update it?

Well I'm not a web developer myself, but I think I know what speech engine it could be based on:
Amazon Polly, with one of the optional voices. Though I can't confirm this because there are no samples for alternate packs.
I'm basing my assumption on the fact that Amazon provides ready processing and storage, and if you went with your own engine (or more likely just one of the open source ones), you'd still have to run a server for processing. Just saving time all 'round.

Ah, I see. That explains your situation very clearly. Now, bear with another (probably no sense) question. Can't some friendly whale or dolphin come and give you a lift? If a whale can flag you and cause you to lose your reputation, can't another upvote you and help your recover your reputation? Or does it not work that way.?

That's a very good question. Unfortunately, the flags were worth around $600, so it would require a similar worth of votes to get back to where I was.

I have had some supporting votes from a few dolphins and whales, but none were as large or as persistent as the abusive whale that flagged me.

Hi @kabir88, it's unfortunate how you got into the current situation. If @quotes-haven and @gandalfthewhite are supportive of you, then I think I should do my utmost to help as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @culgin, and thank you for the follow. I am surprised we haven't crossed paths sooner, but it may due to my current involuntary cloak of invisibility :)

I see. Thanks for your reply.

Dear @quotes-haven,
You are here too? Now that is kind of hilarious, a terrific coincidence my friend because you are a loyal follower to @culgin too.
@kabir88 May I ask you how you got here - why did a whale downvote you that much?
I wish you guys a glorious day!
Yours truly,
Gandalf The White

My dearest @gandalfthewhite, I don't think we have spoken before, so I would like to say I am most pleased to see you here. As they say a wizard is never early or late, he arrives exactly when he means to :)

As the blockchain can't lie, it's probably the best place to start, you can see all the key events written up by @moeknows on his post

https://steemit.com/truth/@moeknows/haejin-timeline-updated

Thank you for your best wishes and I hope to hear the footsteps of shadowfax more often in these parts of the steem woods

@kabir88

I guess we have not but I am glad we do now. Many thanks my friend and the same to you. Haha, yes. (:

Yes, this is why I really like this "new" technology, although there probably always will be liars/bad people.
Thank you, I will take a look at it once I have got more free time - hopefully tomorrow or Saturday.

You are welcome and I agree with you - hopefully we soon meet again, my friend.

My apologies because I was not able to reply yesterday and the day before yesterday, my friend. Anyway, now I have read (pretty) every connected/appendant post and comment of this link to the end.
"So far" it seems you are a good guy kabir88. I hope it stays like this haha
I have to admit I do not really know who "all" these 'people' are - it appears they are whales or something similar, or simply famous Steemit users and/or bots (for whatever reason).
However, it looks like this war only emerged because of various reasons - 'most important': money respectively infamous and terrible greed and jealousy. Humans...
I do not know if there are any general accepted rules regarding earnings and 'post/comment values'. If not, apparently they are needed because probably @haejin was/is too greedy!? And maybe @berniesanders was/is too jealous? And and and. I do not know although Haejin definitely did/does not act like the nicest/most honest etc. person on earth. And I do not have time to analyze all this (who is right or wrong), right now.
All in all, this whole dispute seems pretty infantile. Just talk about problems and be more mature (before flagging and all this 'stupid' stuff) - easier said than done.
By the way, why did you join this war? Could have (had) several reasons. However, I guess you thought he 'receives' too much money because of his self-voting?
Futhermore, looks like Haejin was or is a liar/an impostor - at least concerning @ranchorelaxo.
Enjoy your sunday, my friend kabir88.

Hi there @gandalfhewhite. It's a small world. :-)
@kabir88 and @culgin have been very kind and supportive of us newbies. I try to repay their kindness. Unfortunately, I am way beyond their league. An upvote from me means nothing, but I do what I can - my way of showing my appreciation for their support. :-)

Never underestimate the power of words, they have a way of moving people that no upvote can surpass. Your support is valued and most appreciated @quotes-haven

Yes, it truly is, my friend. (:
You are right, @culgin is a good person, friend, brother. And I think you are a good guy too. I do not know @kabir88 at all but I hope he is one of the good people as well.

I try to repay their kindness.

This is a great idea.
It is not all only about the materialistic things in life. Having the right people around you is way more important. So is kindness, truth, love etc.

Thank you @gandalfthewhite I try my utmost to be a decent human being. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02