Coinbase Listed 0x! - What this Means to Me

in #steem6 years ago

IMG_1569.PNG

You may have missed it, but about 12 hours ago Coinbase announced that they are listing 0x on their platform.

This is big news because 0x is the first ERC20 token to ever get listed on Coinbase.

Another reason why this is exciting is because 0x was one of the tokens mentioned in a post a few months ago that CB put out that said they were looking into new assets.

One of those assets on the list? STEEM!

0x getting listed could be the start of a new era for Coinbase where tokens with lesser recognition (like STEEM) could get listed on the platform.

My hope is that STEEM gets listed soon. I've tweeted at Coinbase several times listing the reasons why it's important to me for STEEM to get listed as a customer of theirs.

Having STEEM listed on Coinbase will not only open a whole new market dynamic and floodgate of users for the Steem ecosystem, it will also make a lot of peoples' lives a lot easier.

For me, having STEEM on Coinbase will allow me MUCH easier access for fiat to STEEM and STEEM to fiat transfers.

As it stands, I have to go from the Steemit wallet interface to a secondary exchange and then send another transfer to Coinbase where I have to sell ETH or BTC and then convert to fiat.

Or if I want to buy STEEM and send it to my account, I have to buy ETH or BTC, send it to a secondary exchange, convert it into STEEM and then send it to my wallet.

That's simply too many steps. It's not accessible and it's quite a hassle. On top of that, it's also a ton of fees to pay on all those little transfers and conversions.

0x marks a step in the right direction in my book. I hope to see this begin a new trend where Coinbase begins listing other valuable utility tokens like STEEM. Just imagine how much bigger the userbase of Steem could get if our token was in the face of the masses!


Read Coinbase's Article on the listing of 0x: https://blog.coinbase.com/zrx-is-launching-on-coinbase-pro-29ae77eadc42


What's your opinion on all of this? Do you think STEEM could be next or on the short-list of soon-to-be listed tokens? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I think Steem being added as one of the tokens you can watch on their platform means they are thinking about adding it, this could be great news, especially since they are adding an ERC20 that could also mean that eventually even SMTs could be accepted into Coinbase!

I agree, it's a great first step. I've been using their app to track STEEM which is already helpful.

Absolutely, CB adding ERC20 is a definite step in the direction of eventually adding SMTs. Especially because I believe SMTs will be better structured and easier to understand than most ERC20 tokens because the Steem protocol is much cleaner and user-friendly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85