I'm Loving This Use Case for SBDs.. My Steem Monsters Collection So Far!

in #steem6 years ago

Hey Everyone! It's been a while since my last post, I've been busy with quite a few projects as of late, but I've been doing my best to stay up to current events on the Steem blockchain!

One thing that has caught my eye in the past week is the Steem Monsters game. It's truly something special and if you haven't tried it yet, I recommend checking it out!

The basic premise of the game is to buy boost packs of cards (each for $2, paid for with STEEM or SBD) and collect and level up your cards for tournaments which will be a feature of the game later on.

The really interesting part about this game though isn't the uniqueness of the idea... Card games have been around for ages, but this card game has 1 quality that I think makes it extra special out of the gate: each individual card (not each type of card, but actually each individual card) has it's own unique identification that's stored on the blockchain.

This idea reminds me a lot of the idea of "art" on the blockchain. Some of these cards have already proven valuable via the Steemmonsters discord chat... I've seen legendary cards sell for $10-$30 in there.

Why is a game valuable for Steem in the long-run though?

I have a few ideas for why I think this game is valuable for the blockchain, but the most important (in my opinion) is attention. I think this game has the potential to peak the attention of mass media as well as within the crypto world. If you look at the cryptokitties built on the ETH blockchain, you'll notice that it gained massive massive attention and I think SM can provide a similar "virality factor".

Not to mention that it also gives us all a use for some of our extra SBDs that are lying around.

This game reminds me of going to the store to buy booster packs of cards and also reminds me of a more recent game called Hearthstone. I think it's a beautiful mixture of the 2 combined with a little blockchain sprinkles on top.

Anyways, it's just another way to have some fun on the blockchain and prove that there is true value that can be had with 3 second, fee-less transactions on the steem blockchain!

I've been seeing a lot of others sharing their full collections out there. Here's mine after opening about 100 packs so far:

Sort:  

Mixing the luck of the draw of opening a case of SBDs cards with a deep strategy experience, it became a massive success and inspired dozens of imitators at home and abroad.

If you'd like, I can sell you some legendaries!
I would also buy your summoners if you're interested!
@mattclarke would also buy those minotaur warriors from you :)
Nice collection so far!!!

I'm all about the flesh golems.

Great collection! I hope this game takes off and becomes a big success!!

I’ll trade ya for your Alaric stormbringers! 🤑

Hey @stackin, I've been seeing you all over this SM game! What'd you have in mind for the trade? I've got 9 of them!

Anything, got tons of extras, hit me up on discord :)

You have a rich collections how long did it take YOI to collect so much? The potential of the monsters are really going to skyrocket it's like playing UGO, you got amazing collection here really, I'm waiting for the monster games to come

Hey @josediccus! Not long at all actually, I bought 4 sets of 25 packs (100 in total) to get this set so far. YES! I'm anxiously awaiting the debut of the tournaments where the cards will actually have some great usage value! There's already a lot of external selling going on in discord which is very interesting to see in action!!

Hello my friend Kazi, it's been quite a while. I hope everything, it looks like you are busy these days. I hope to read some great stuffs from you soon.

Hey @lordjames!! It has been a while, how have you been? I do need to get back to writing posts more regularly!

This is a good idea! Hope it will work out seamlessly!

It's a really amazing idea and great for STEEM awareness and liquidity/use case!

Very good post the sharing @khaleelkazi

You got a 19.89% upvote from @upme thanks to @khaleelkazi! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69