When In Doubt, Go For Frittata!

in #steem6 years ago



Leftover pasta, moreover macaroni, is a common occurrence in my home. Just a few days earlier, at home, we made these many cups of macaroni for the family gathering. And the surplus macaronis is quite amusing.

So, I decided to make something out of it. I really don't want to stack too much of them for the next time I'd made macaroni cup or just a 30 minute mac and cheese. Because I tend to forget them. I know I will forget. And before I know it I'd have a refrigerator full of macaronis. 

We just had macaroni cups, I don't want to bother myself to bake another, well everyone in the house have enough of them anyway. So I'm thinking about drawing out my frying pan. Maybe I could fry them up with a little seasonings. Well most (---every) food do taste better when you fry it.


But instead of just frying, why don't I make a Frittata? Toss in some diced veggies from veggie drawer, sprinkle around some remaining shreds from bag of cheese. This 20-minute meal is guaranteed to please palates of all ages.


Here is a quick guide on to making those Frittata.

You will need:

  • Eggs
  • Olive oil
  • Diced onion
  • Diced veggies. You can go with just tomatoes and peppers
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • And of course, leftover pasta

The measurement for each ingredient depends on how much your leftover pasta is.

Alright, first step, whisk together the eggs, with salt and pepper for the taste. Set the bowl aside after they mixed in together nicely.

Then, preheat a large non-stick sauté pan over medium-low heat. When heated, add olive oil. 1 tablespoon should be enough. Once the oil is hot, add onion dice and sauté until translucent. Add veggies and cook them altogether. Stir occasionally, until they change a little bit of their color. Add pasta and cook them for another 1 or 2 minutes.

Pour the eggs into the pan and get the heat to medium-high. Cook the mixture and make sure that the uncooked eggs flows underneath and spread evenly. Set the heat to low. Cover the pan. And wait until the egg is fully set. When done, uncover the pan, sprinkle in some cheese on the top and cover the pan back for a few minutes for the cheese to be melted.

And its basically done! You can put in any ingredients you have. You just need an equivalent number of eggs to hold the Frittata together.


Cheers!





    Previous Post:

Image Source: 1, 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37