Curation Rewards Are Up?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I have noticed that my curation rewards have quadrupled since HF20. That is partly attributable to the ballooning of rewards in general followed by nobody claiming rewards immediately post HF20. But I think it has mostly to do with the fact that paying attention to the changes in curation has changed my approach to curation. For example, because of the rule that instead of going to the author of a post curation rewards given immediately after the post was published go back to the pool. At 15 minutes and onwards, the curator gets 100% of his curation rewards.

The reverse bidding system of curation itself has remained unchanged except for the halving of the cut-off time before which curators lose a portion of their curation rewards proportional to the amount of time before 15 minutes the cast their vote. There's one thing unclear to me and that is whether or not the authors always lose 100% of their curation rewards if they upvote their own post even a second before 15 minutes.

What all the talk about curation rewards has done to me is made me more mindful of how I curate. I'm now more likely to upvote posts that are about 15 minutes or a little less old at a higher voting percentage than posts that are old and have received as much value as they are probably going to. Before HF20 I didn't really care because I often would not mind losing a large proportion of my curation rewards to the author of a post. Supporting authors was and still is the main reason why I curate but I hate to have any portion of my voting power go to waste. Have your curation rewards or curation style changed in response to HF20?

Sort:  

Strange world, we don't know how we earn our money !

Hi markku. I think that is a good policy. If I am there and someone posts or it is in the time frame I will give a higher vote. If I had missed it then I will vote but a smaller percentage. That sounds fair and smart. The rewards have tripled or quadrupled and I think it is positive. It is like being rewarded on an extra post now.

I've been thinking for quite some time that curation rewards should be higher. That's because curation is the bread and butter of this entire operation.

I agree with you. Curation should be pouring in all the time.

The poster has the same rules as everyone else. This is the biggest single reason for the increase i think as the poster can't take curation rewards from others by voting early. It is a level playing field. Almost no one is voting early as no one wants the rewards back in the pool. I used to vote earlier on some people's posts because i could reward them more by foregoing my own curation. There is no benefit for anyone in doing that now.

Mine are definitely up!

Posted using Partiko Android

What do you think is the main cause?

Not sure tbh. I'm gonna wait for the data analysis posts for that... it might be linked to declining activity of course... we're all getting more if the pie as use of the platform declines!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's correct. But my while my author rewards have gone up, too, after a week had passed from HF20, it seems to me that that was mostly because @acidyo dropped about one big upvote per day for about five days or so and because @anomadsoul upvoted one of my posts. If these gentlemen had not curated my posts in that period of time, my rewards may have gone up "only" about 30-60% or so.

The value of my own vote has gone up, despite steem's contined decline! Not sure how much. It alll helps though.

'Only' 30% - not a bad little increase in itself tbh!

Posted using Partiko Android

What you said is quite different to what I read in a Thai post! I also read another different one in an English post. This is very confusing!

The Thai post says you should wait for one hour before voting a post! Another one says thirty minutes!!!

Please confirm that your data is the correct one!

Thanks ever so much!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The 30 minutes was pre-HF20. The one-hour wait idea was probably based on a misunderstanding.

I've read from many sources that, post HF20, 15 minutes is indeed the time after which curators get to keep all their curation rewards. But if your goal is to maximize your curation rewards, it's not that simple. There is a reverse auction in which those who upvote first get a larger share of the curation rewards than those who upvote later. Front-running whales is obviously the most profitable way to curate even if you do it before 15 minutes and lost a portion of the curation rewards back to the pool. From what I've been told, only the author loses all curation rewards by upvoting their own post before the 15 minute mark. Because authors generally no longer upvote their own posts before the 15 minute mark, a larger share of the curation rewards go to other users. This should favour small accounts.

Thank you very much! This is very helpful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 133 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.574 which ranks you at #5772 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 295 places in the last three days (old rank 5477).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85