Do you really want to give it all up just to struggle?

in #steem5 years ago

people3248054_640.jpg

Recently I re-watched one of my favorite movie “Midnight in Paris” Early on Inez (Rachel McAdams) and Gil (Owen Wilson) have a argument. He wants to move to Paris to write and follow his passion and she wants to live in Malibu where he is a already a successful,yet unsatisfied, screen writer. At one point Inez asks Gil “Do you really want to give it all up just to struggle?” (she does not want to give up a lavish lifestyle for a less money in Paris)

I paused the movie and wrote the phrase down.

Do you really want to give it all up just to struggle?

It’s a question we ask ourselves several times throughout the day. We use different words and phrases but the concept remains the same. “Do I dare step outside my comfort zone to do something that might not workout? How much worst off will I be?

Often times I want to shrink away and answer that No, I do not want to struggle, let me play it safe. Keep my head down and do as I’m told. But that’s a lie. Because I know what playing it safe has gotten me.

I want to take more risks in life. Although I have to be more careful now because I have a family to think about. That doesn’t mean I can’t still take risks. I may not quite my job on a whim in the hopes burning that bridge will lead me to a better place. I can’t risk my families financial security like that.

I can however take all the creative risks I want. Lucky for me I am surrounded by and have access to an unlimited source of inspiration and creativity. (we all are) that fuels my need to constantly step outside of my own comfort zone.

“How dare you settle for less when the world has made it so easy for you to be remarkable.” Seth Godin said that and it’s something I believe to be true, even if the world in question is powered by Steem.

I know I have held back many time before creatively. Due to Fear of judgment or lack of self confidence. I can not think like that any more. Not again. Not if I want to truly change the trajectory of my life.

Steem has given us all the opportunities to do something great. To live outside our comfort zone and to explore worlds we never thought existed.
Let’s explore space together.

~meditations~

Sort:  

Congratulations @meditations! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great post you shared with us all interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17