Contructive Criticism on Joe Parys' activities.

in #steem5 years ago

The intention of this video is not to start a fight with Joe or anything of the sort, I am not his enemy, I am just someone who cares about this platform a lot, and as such, I care about the people who are joining it every single day.

I've uploaded this to youtube for the moment, since @dtube is currently down, and I keep on seeing more and more tiny accounts upvoting that trending posts and learning the tricks of Steemit. So, instead of waiting for @dtube to come back, here it goes.

I'm going to leave the video on youtube as well, because the videos in question are being shared on youtube. It's my hope that new accounts find this video as well, hopefully it will be suggested to them, and they learn the other side of the coin.

One thing I do want to make clear, my intention here is not to pitchfork, it's to educate, that is all.

Much love

Sort:  

I'm only 2 weeks in to being here and I was invited in by a whale(friend of mine) so maybe I don't really have enough time here to really have an educated opinion but, it seems to me that, this isn't difficult if you put in the work and care to understand it. I feel like I've moved up pretty quick in that amount of time and it's all due to the genuine care that I put in to my posts and my comments. So I think i understand your point. This type of promoting advances disingenuous actions in the steemit community for the sole purpose of making a profit. Now, we all want to win and earn money and expand our portfolio but there is a balance to be made with the community to be real with each other and to be genuine in our interactions. People can recognize BS a mile a way and thats why I think that despite his "training", those buying in will not achieve his level of success without doing the things he had to do to get where he is. I think this community will spit those people out in the long run. But what do I know? I'm just a fishy. lol

Posted using Partiko Android

this isn't difficult if you put in the work and care to understand it

This. I see people complaining all the time about how hard it is on Steem, but as far as I can tell it is easier to do well here than anywhere else I've ever seen. You don't need to work hard, you need to work smart. Like you said, you need to take the time to understand how things work here, and you'll do just fine.

Welcome to Steem. Happy to see people like you on the platform.

Well thank you for the welcome. When I started to see the potential I was so excited about this and now, for me, the goal is to remain steady and active long term. I've done it before on other platforms but this is a completely different animal.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was visiting Meno and noticed you stopped in. I never did say thanks for that accidental vote that day. I went on vacation from social media and in life the moment I published that post.

Thanks for that.

you may be two weeks in, but you are pretty much right on track cowboy... right on track!

I don't understand? Well, actually I do. So you've been on the platform 2 weeks and your reputation is 54. I joined back in April 2017 and flogged my guts out trying to post at least every day and the best I could achieve was a reputation of 55! I took a few months off because I felt like I was going nowhere and my account bombed through the floor. I'm back giving it another try and I stumble across this post and see your comment and thought "54 reputation? After two weeks?" The accusations I've seen on Steemit over the last two years are clearly true then? "It's not what you know but who."

Hey, I don't blame you, good luck to you I say but wow this platform is most certainly is skewed in some peoples favour. LOL

Well, I don't know if you are accurate there. I do think that whale account upvotes can bring up your reputation but in my case I post every day, sometimes 2 times and 3 times a day, I comment almost everything I read or watch and I'm honestly genuine about the things I say. My friend only upvoted my first 3 videos at first, which wasn't much considering his voting power. I think I got like 5 dollars on 1 but since I've been posting on dtube the dtube account has upvoted me 20 plus dollars on quite a few of my videos but heres the thing, my support is my community and my drive is my community. If I never move past my current ranking I will be fine. I'm not here to blow up. I'm here because it's better than where I was on YouTube. Do we all want to move up? Sure, but my actions aren't hinged on quick success. I don't know, maybe it's a difference in our values. I truly enjoy doing this so even if I only made pennies I'd be happy. In fact I made a video about that as well. I'm sorry you aren't happy about the process but I believe if you work hard you'll get to where you want to be. Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well that's not strictly true, is it? It's true that a whale vote on its own cannot improve your rep but what it can do is draw people to you like moths around a light bulb and we all know The brighter the bulb, the more the moths the hope is that seeing as you have a whale as your friend maybe the whale will be their friend too.

So your profile says:
  • 182 followers
  • 425 posts
  • 269 following
  • I see you've been delegated (+652.176 STEEM) and have 226.466 STEEM of your own. I too had a delegation of around that figure before I took a slight hiatus. My STEEM currently stands at 544.612 which is a difference of 334.03 not massive by anyone's standards

    And my profile says:
  • 1886 followers
  • 1746 posts
  • 561 following
  • The amount of difference in posts is massive as is the followers so I still say that begs the question how come in 2 weeks your Rep is 54 and mine is stuck rigidly on 55 and has been for over a year? You and I have done and are doing absolutely nothing different?

    If I was paranoid I'd scream: "I smell a rat!" Bwahahaha

    Honestly I think it's the value in your work is what it boils down to. I was delegated 777 steempower by @nathanmars because he believes I bring value to dtube and I spend most of my time and effort on dtube. I actually made a video about variety and maybe you should check that out because theres a point to that as well. Do new things till you find what sticks and what works.

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Ahaha did you just try to teach me how to suck eggs?
    https://english.stackexchange.com/questions/31566/etymology-of-teaching-grandma-to-suck-eggs

    OK, Ok, enough's enough. Given you 0.4 cents and a follow so I can keep an eye on you. The minute you jump to 60 Rep I'll be all over you like a rash. LOL

    Lol I'll see you in a week then.

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Ah, good idea. Lay Low for a week and let the heat die down. :-)

    That absolutely doesn't feel like a healthy way to start on the platform. Not only would it be horribly expensive to someone who is starting at ground zero, but it's a selfish mindset. Not even in the regards to the reward pool, in and of itself, but because of the fact that even after more than a handful of people bought into this "strategy", it'd be completely broken.

    It's like the concept of nuclear weapons. They only create leverage for one entity if that entity is the only one to have them. When the entities become multiple, it no longer offers any advantages, only the potential of absolute decimation.

    This guy is basically trying to sell a $10 nuke to every person walking through the Steem doors. As you said, I mean that completely figuratively and not as an insult, truly, but it's just the way I see it.

    In all aspects of life, people shouldn't be proud to act in a way that if everyone were to act that way, it wouldn't work. The 'me, me, me' mindset is stale.

    I saw my face popping up a few times in that video. I hope I'm not coming across as one of these aggressive types who must be hidden from view. That was not my intention. Some things in life, I take seriously. I'm not one to sugarcoat things and to be honest I prefer to be treated the same.

    i read your comments, you were firm but not aggressive... I kind of wanted to avoid tman.. he's been really keen on the poop pics lately. hahahahha

    As the originator of the Shit Post of the Day Award, I'd have to say: it's all in the delivery. Accept no substitutes.

    I took a break and came back with a promise to myself to remove the showmanship from my comments in that sort of context and just get to the point. I'm not here to be a jerk but when it comes to business matters I can be tough to deal with, and I know this. It's like Simon Cowell meets Shark Tank x10.

    That was a very good rebuttal, meno. You are quite a diplomat.

    Posted using Partiko Android

    he is annoying as ****

    wish these self help losers would go away. SCAMMER

    I share the same thought about your opinion of this massive false advertisement. I shared my opinion about it on a Dtube video a few days ago:

    The moral of this story is to not to buy the course, learn from reliable sources, grow your account organically and build relationships.

    The reality is that nothing substitutes hard work, consistency and dedication. If it does, it will not be sustainable as a long term value proposition and will fail. The evidence is on the video you made as investing that amount in promotion consistently will ultimately drain resources unless the real point of doing so is what he gains outside the system and that is a different subject. It could be a great business decision for the business but not for those following. Again, nothing come free and easy and beware if it does.

    I watched his video, and he explains he invested $500 in the post that is paying out $800 or so, so his return is actually pretty high, at least 60 percent. He also points out that he got a whale vote out of it (thejohalfiles) as well as hundreds of redfish.

    On the minus side, he admits that his unboosted posts get very little traction, sometimes 93 cents, and this despite the fact that he has some 13,000 followers, and he himself admits that for a guy with 13,000 followers it doesn't seem like much of that translates to actual support.

    Therefore, one can conclude that his boosted posts lead to temporary business success, but ultimate social failure. That is, the boosted posts add significantly to his bottom line, but the attention is fleeting, there is no traction, and few people become genuine friends.

    This seems a sad use of a social network, in and of itself, but of course, the saddest thing is the hundreds of redfish voting for the post may then seek to emulate this "business success," only to experience the eventual humiliation of "social failure."

    If Steemit's biggest winners aren't even fun to hang with, people will wonder whether that's a social network worth joining.

    That cannot be good for a social network, where the epitome of "trending" success is to be a social failure paying for likes.

    Concomitantly, folks who are genuinely likeable, potential social magnets for the blockchain as a whole, may never discovered by those poor redfish who wasted their votes on learning how to be rich and lonely.

    I agree with you, meno, that the ultimate result of Joe's fleeting business success is to create an unappealing blockchain, with an unsexy trending page, that degrades Steemit and the price of Steem, by driving newbies away or at the least, teaching them how to drive others away. :0

    Rodney you made me bust out Webster, and I'm a nerd and a half. I think I have a favorite new word. Hahahaha

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Very important message @meno. Thanks again my friend for everything you do for this community!

    I'm glad he's going to be a speaker at SteemFest so we can all inform him about the real workings of Steem :P

    Yay you go girl!

    Posted using Partiko Android

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.37
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.040
    BTC 70162.45
    ETH 3540.43
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.79