Guess who's back? - Dmania is fully operational Again

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

My estimations where off, quite off. I was convinced it would take at least a month or two before @dmania was back in play or at least its developer, but it took less than two weeks. I can't say I'm surprised about it, as much as I'm surprised that I'm surprised, if that makes any sense at all.




img src

Is this a bad thing?


I don't really know, attempting to strip myself from my bias is hard and this particular situation its even harder. That being said, I completely understand and accept that user experience is probably more important that any "ideals" I may hold for the future of this platform and to attempt to preach some sort "purity gospel" is not only delusional, its pointless.

So in a way, this is a good thing. Typing those words may hurt the tip of my fingers, but I'm willing to accept that my opinion on the value of memes is quite irrelevant in the big picture of things. If thousands of users flock to this platform because of the @dmania that could be a net positive, maybe. At least I'm willing to say I'm willing to consider the arguments made in its defense.

Maybe I just have to look at Steem differently

That might be the trick, as if this is just a "protocol" and the dapps being built on them are the actual products. It would be easier of course, if I too was using a specialized dapp that would filter out all the things that I find less valuable. If we look at arguably the most successful dapp built on this blockchain, Dtube, the algorithm is designed to ignore anything that is not a dtube video, hence an exclusive user of their platform would be complete unaware of the flag wars, the nutella memes and all the things that add a little more bitter flavor to my sugarless coffee.

Not everyone is a blogger and to think of this platform as a blogging platform is to exclude a giant percentage of its potential users. I say this and I still find myself wondering if this view, this opinion, is also incorrect, or to be more accurate, I'm wondering if this path is short lived and myopic.

What happens next...


Well, it's already happening, just today I've seen some memes on my feed. Checking for @dmania's delegation shows that it can still provide some support to its users, even though the giant delegation from Steemit Inc is no longer there. Maybe this organic approach to the idea, the @dmania community getting together to build what they find to be valuable for their experience is exactly how things should have been done in the first place.

What are your thoughts on this matter?


Other posts by yours truly

• New to Steem - Tip 3
• The information Seller - Improvised Fictional Story
• The ladies that live in our yard
• The value of Risk - Philosophical Thoughts on Investments?
• For new Steem users - tip 2

Sort:  
Loading...

Dmania shutting down was the silliest thing ever. Dmania offers value. Its not quality, but not everything needs to be. If they can offer laughs they are bringing value to the platform.

Few dollars per good meme isnt so unrealistic. My problem was always spam pretending to be quality. With memes you know what you get.

Very well put my friend... I think this time around it wont create as much backlash from the community... I have a feeling.

Yeah i think the shouting match is over. People got their opinions out on the easiest of targets everyone was picking on. I chalk it down to frustration.
There are bigger fish that need frying

an ugly one at that....

I’m okay with it being back as long as the Steemit delegation is gone.

could not agree more...

I was shocked too when i heard about its sudden return and now i am extremely happy.
Hope to see you there

Maybe!! hahahha time will tell..

Lets do some business of helping each other

Good content,,
Your skill on writing is well ,,
Thanks for sharing valuable opinion on steem,,
Let's see the stability,,
@upvoted

Dmania alert system activated :D

Made this meme yesterday for dmania lol

very nice contant...

Please Stop - @kumillla

You just said "very nice" and in your your last 100 comments you used 36 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 2 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 69.40% and Bot: 3.10%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

I like this one better...

Improving! Still thinking on your call to feedback. I've not forgotten you.

Awesome, I was wondering if I'd hear back! I'll have something else pretty cool to announce as soon as tonight.

Yalha of a very strong woman Otdha was a very good surprise

Hey @roselover what is your native language... I see you comment in every language, but somehow your comments get lost in translation.

Good content!!!

this is good news @preparedwombat ☺️

i was told by many @meno that this was done for good ... glad to hear it wasnt squashed. a few of us like it!

imo its fun ad an additional post to have fun and in addition to writing a blog.

i never thought I’d come to a blogging site and fine so much music, curation feom music, dtube or dlive. let alone open mic night and musicians and artists.

mostly my thought was this platform was just for writers. how boring would that be?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10