I know many purists dislike coinbase but...

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
Here is the truth, they've been killing it, not just now, but for the longest time. As a matter of fact at the hype of the craziness their app was #1 for both android and iphone platforms and that speaks volumes regardless of our personal feelings about them. So what? you may be asking yourself... Well, this:




Steem and Coinbase


Many months ago Coinbase released a list of tokens they were considering for their platform, among those of course our beloved STEEM. I remember reading about, dreaming about it, and thinking to myself that without a doubt, that would be precisely one of the elements needed for the valuation of STEEM to really take off.

As we have it today, STEEM's value is attached to the hip with BTC, this means of course, that it's subject to BTC manipulations and such. Now, I don't really have to make a case as to why this is a problem, but let's just say; You could be holding a lot of STEEM and the Mt Gox custodian could be destroying your hopes and dreams because he feels like dumping. It's frustrating, infuriating to say the least, but there is nothing we can do about it, not really.

But, if Coinbase becomes a FIAT/STEEM platform, this whole dynamic could be turned on its head. Then, the valuation of STEEM would be more real so to speak. Of course speculation would still be a thing, but it would also facilitate investment for hundreds if not thousands of people who are just hesitant on making all those hoops to "get here", financially that is.

I'm sure I'm not alone on this one, and plenty of us have spent hours teaching someone not only how to buy bitcoin, but then getting it into exchanges, buying STEEM, sending it to their account, then powering it up, and what have you. Now, imagine how easy Coinbase can make this process?

The Focus on Investors is shifting a bit


During this whole bear market the winners have been building, that is, the crypto companies who are here to say, have taken the opportunity to build better products for the customers and what have you. As you probably know, it seemed that Coinbase was mostly focus on their institutional investors, creating products for them, but not so much on the end user.

Seeing this today, reading up on the crypto bundles you can now buy, shows me that they are starting to shift gears and focus a little more on the retail user/investor. The common crypto-joes and crypto-janes of the world. To me, this is fantastic news, and I can't be more excited about it.

By no means am I implying that we don't need big investor, no, nothing like that. What I am saying is that that is not the whole pie, and all of us have gotten too caught up talking about ETFs this year and somewhat abandoned the regular users a bit.

Get on your Coinbase Account


I'm sure you have one, don't lie. Then add STEEM to your watchlist, and if you are on twitter let them know you love that your token is available for the watchlist, but you would like to see more, make some freaking noise people.

I obviously don't know what is going to happen, but one think I can assure you, if we get STEEM on coinbase, everyone, and I do mean everyone, is going to be be doing so much better. That would be the time of real price discovery.

Keep on Steemin my friends

Sort:  

It would make it a lot easier for myself and thousands of others to cash out for USD thats for sure.

"The Mt Gox custodian" sounds like a great name for a Doctor Who villain lol.

Of course, you're absolutely right. Coinbase has been the onboard/offboard to Crypto for everyone I know, and getting listed there, and gradually decoupling from bloody Ethereum, specially, would be great.

Let's hope we can get there before the Mount Gox custodian has his final battle with the Doctor. :)

it does actually hahahhahhah

Very true @meno, and if Steem gets listed on Coinbase Pro you can pick some up at zero % fees! Then just send to your Steemit wallet.... :)
resteemed !!!

YES! I agree it would be amazing if Coinbase listed STEEM. The market would get so much more movement and simply 'eyeballs' - the dream! We will all have less worries about how to get to SteemFest4 :D

I'm going to randomly go to my Coinbase app to 'watch' (as if I can't dream the current price... :')) the STEEM price as much as possible lol.

make noise with me on twitter Rosa!! write an article and share it on the twitteronia!

I would love if Coinbase supported a STEEM, I could deposit my mining rewards with no fee into Coinbase then simply convert to steem skipping the exchanges and fees for btc transactions!

Fiat to STEEM would be even better simplify the buying in procedures, they would make a huge impact on STEEM if they do this.

I like the idea of making some noise about it, when did they list STEEM?

Posted using Partiko iOS

first time I saw them was today.. dunno when it became available for watchlists...

It showed up about 2 weeks ago. Coinbase announced a new listing process that makes Steem & other token listings much more probable. It looks like it relies on the token issuer to take the first steps, so I hope @ned & Steemit Inc. are on the case!

https://blog.coinbase.com/new-asset-listing-process-a83ef296a0f3

Good idea about watchlisting it to show interest. I’ll do the same!

oh thanks for the link, thats awesome.

@socky did you know about this?

I have been using Coinbase for a while now, my last interaction was a few weeks ago and I didn’t notice it then.

This is really exciting news, pretty well all of the tokens listed in Coinbase make dramatic movements with the mass of mobile users still using this app.

I hope Ned and Steemit Inc are on top of this one!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like coinbase. Not as an wallet, but it's definitely an easy way to purchase coins.

I think it would be pretty awesome if they added Steem.

make some noise jeezzle... make a post and tweet it..

OMG this will be splendid! Not gonna lie it’s what I mainly use. This would be huge for steem!!

dont forget.. you gotta say YUUUGE... ahahahhaha

Amigo, me encanta leerte porqe eres muy optimista, y eso me fascina.
Nos haría mucho bien leer artículos donde nos explicas cada cosa, como ésto, su origen, su situación y su posible futuro.
Gracias por alegrarme el día, se vienen cosas buenas.

I have account od Coinbase and I have asume that Coinbase it's good place to hold your cash or buy crypto. If they will allow Steem on Coinbase that would be fantastic!

This is awesome news...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10