Remember the last time Steem Tanked

in #steem6 years ago (edited)
There are plenty of people that were here those days, and of course, plenty more that are gone. But, since I've been here for over a year, I got to see the tail end of one of the most trialing times for this blockchain, and I've not forgotten the tensions it created.



img src

The psychological elements are play are quite normal, after all, there are thousands of people who have invested a lot of sweat equity into this place, and the fear of seeing it go up in smoke is too much to bare for most. I for one sympathize with everyone who is feeling afraid at the moment, regardless of the wallet size.

Now, here is the secret that many who don't have a lot of tokens on their wallets don't know. That feeling, that fear, never truly goes away. Regardless of the size of the wallet, there is always a certain amount of investment that is not only monetary, but also emotional and thus somewhat more valuable.

This dawned on me a while back, when I was observing the behaviors of a whale that I respect mind you, and through the explanations of that thread this whale revealed that he too was trying to save some skin so to speak. It may not sound like much to most and I get it, feeling sympathy for someone who has 100 times what we have sounds like a waste of time, but I assure you it's not. We are all flesh and bones after all.

Why am I talking about this? Because STEEM is currently struggling, but that of course is not the whole picture, the truth is that crypto is struggling. However, that word might not even be the correct one to use here, and I'm simply doing so to make sure that I don't get disconnected from the thoughts that most are sharing.

I see our cryptocurrency ecosystem right now as one of opportunity, and I say this because there are records, there is evidence I can look back to and see that this always happens; We always crash hard, before we "moon". So when most see a time of peril, a time to feel fear and anguish, I see a time where I'm upset I have no fiat to jump into it.

I'm not a prophet and even less a crypto guru, but as an observant of humanity, I can see that all the behaviors being displayed right now: The fights, the fear, the debates, all of it, is completely normal and part of the cycle.

We however have a choice to make, we can keep on building, we can put our heads down, ignore the noise, and continue our crypto-journey with hunger or we can succumb to all the negativity and participate in the pitchforking.

I've made my choice, not today actually but long ago. I'm here for the long run, I'm here to build, I'm here to dream with those who want to dream besides me.

And no matter what challenges get thrown my way, I'll do my best to remain the same... simply because I already chose my lane.

Much love

Sort:  

Lesson I have learned. Keep your SBD which seems to be very stable so that you can have a little something you can take out when you want to feel like you are making money doing this.

good tip ethan!

On the whole, I often look at the shortcomings of the platform; some see me as very negative but why criticize something that is worthless? I'm still here...

Since FB decided to memory hole about 800 alt media accounts, we should make efforts to bring them, and their followers here. Those of us who can spare the SP can delegate 40SP to newcomers to help them get established or to keep struggling accounts alive.

In other news: We have a new Flag war between Bernie and Fulltimegeek; WWE your competition has arrived. New drama on the blockchain.

In all; things aren't looking so bad; we can do this.

Right now memo everything is down. Silver&gold down bad, DJIA down and Steem. I do think you need to look beyond the noise, that is how I have made it through life. Just starting out in life years ago I would take an old house and make it new, special. Some people just can’t forward think. Take the artist that see’s the finished art before he starts. That memo is where we are now...... seeing where we will be! 😀

the trick is not stopping, right?

Very true Meno!!!

Even when there are conflicts or arguments or just different opinions on the comment sections / rant posts, is because people care about steem(IT)'s growth.

That being said, those who are still around and keep posting, trying, engaging with others, obviously are here for the long haul...

Rome wasn't built in a day...

Rome wasn't built in a day...

no matter how many times I say that, some people still expect magic

i feelt this words totally described me

I've made my choice, not today actually but long ago. I'm here for the long run, I'm here to build, I'm here to dream with those who want to dream besides me.

And what i really love is that Steem/Steemit does gives you the opportunity to make these dreams come true if you are consistent and fight for it

well that makes me smile brother... cheers

Pepperidge Farm remembers.

Seriously though, I think it might be an entire year before things really start to look up.... but when they do I think we're going to be looking way up into the stars and those that don't have Steem are going to be watching us fly by and wondering why they didn't get on board.

This ^^

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm HODL on steem. I am going to buy more steem. I support this platform for many reasons. Everything and every money sectors is in the crapper. The feds like to jack up their rate when prosparity is growing. It's like they want to make everyone misrasble.

Getting as much Steem and Steem Power as I can for the long run! Posting, Commenting and even Writing Contests!

Congrats bro, your reputation is now 70! ;)

almost there bud! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83