Steems only true success

in #steem5 years ago


This is not my attempt to blindly cheerlead STEEM as a cryptocurrency, but more than anything point out the silver lining of the whole situation.

As others have said before, the value of this blockchain is not "the money" per say, but the life changing potential it has.

This video was somewhat inspired by many of the opinions being put out there today. Shoutout to @exyle for the real talk, I found myself nodding the whole way through.

Much love

@meno

(sorry for the terrible editing job, I need to get a good program for this, and open to recommendations.)

Youtube Mirror for Posterity


Sort:  

Well you are a very successful steemian no matter how you look at it.

When I first met you I checked your wallet, like I do most people, and I think there was something like 7000 SP in there. Now you've managed to get up to 13,000 in a very short time.... maybe just a few months which is incredibly impressive.

Not only that but the whole Community knows who you are and everybody listens to what you say.

I remember when we first met and I thought to myself "hey who the heck is that guy" but I'm glad we met because I think you're a really cool person..... and just for the record if you want I could probably get you a job at my restaurant.

Also for the record I think this is a really great time to buy steem and I'm actually considering it even though funds are really low right now.

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

I think, now the true decentralization is coming, when people are going to take the block chain in their hand.

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

@meno for CEO!?

"What doesn't kill us will make us stronger!" Given the value created by the community based ecosystem, it will survive although it may take a different model, the fact that the community remain is key as you mention. I would not be surprised to see many external parties come in and support it as well given the risk/reward at this point. Not to sound arrogant, but $2 million a year to support infrastructure is not much for a community that create more value than that. There will be tradeoffs but it will be to build something more sustainable for the future.

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

@cryptogee was recommending lightworks as video editor..going to try it soon, but maybe its something for you as well dude!

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

Great video - spoken from the heart. Not much more that anyone could really disagree with!

I (and I bet most others) share your concern about the degree to which the ongoing operation of the STEEM blockchain appears to be tied to Steem Inc.

A burning question I have right now - that I don't think I've seen be directly asked or answered - is:

If say the lights went out at Steem Inc tomorrow, would the lights also go out on the STEEM blockchain too? Would it be game-over from where we stand right now?

I saw Ned talk about the need to push out the operation of the nodes and the APIs to the wider community but it seems that this hasn't happened (yet). I'm not a techie so I may be stating the bleeding obvious but it seems like this point is being skirted around....?

As you say, we are overly reliant on Steem Inc at the moment which is completely at odds with the idea of decentralisation.

It would be great if you or someone could help answer the Q of where we are right now if STINC went under before we had time to 'settle the ship'.

as long as we have full nodes running the answer would be no... the blockchain would stay alive, all the info would be in there...

Now, Steemit.com would probably go down too, but any front end that is using their own node, or using an active full node would be able, in theory, to carry the torch.

So to answer the question especifically:

  1. As long as we got full nodes, no (Anyx is running one, but he's not the only witness doing so)
  2. As long as there are witnesses signing blocks, no.

Appreciate your response @meno.

So to clarify (and apologies for seemingly putting you on the spot - anyone else feel free to chip in!):

Do we have full nodes operational today sufficient to keep the blockchain operational without Steemit Inc's involvement?

Most dapps would probably be down for a few days, while they adjust and what not. Some I'm sure would cease operations all together. For example, steemit.com would probably stop working, but it's possible that busy, steempeak, steeve and even partiko would adjust and continue working afterwards.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @meno - this makes sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'd love to see the reply on this.

Florida man says..we are going to Moon !!

are you racist against veggies?

You are veggie killer...plants have feelings too !!

Great blog @meno! I don't think we've crossed paths yet. I tune into Exyle's blog a lot though and agree with you that his outlook is very level headed. You #nailedit when you said the community is the silver lining here. We are being pushed from the nest and it's time to grow. I don't know this techie stuff but hope we can get enough full nodes going to be one even better by this. Much love to you too!! ✊🎶🙏

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

My pleasure! It was a great video. I appreciate your thoughtful comment! Have a wonderful day 😊

I feel the same way meno!
It has been worthless anyway.

Have a good night!

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

Yup, still here, but I'm halfway out of my seat.

Thank you for your comment on my fellow Dtuber's content and I appreciated it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34