Steem & Blockchain: Where Are We Heading?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/metametheus-steem--blockchain-where-are-we-heading-gdjmfiho-1544056651955.pngPhoto by Josh Wilburne on Unsplash

All good things take time…

As someone qualified and trained in Cultural Anthropology, it’s been interesting to observe and read the introspective and self-critique amongst the Steem community about the purpose and future of the blockchain. First with HF20 and the Resource Credits issue, the continued dip in the fiat value of Steem, and recently with @ned’s news on where Steemit Inc. is and their recent lay-offs and focusing on direction.


Oh it's like a storm at sea
And everything is lost,
And the fretful sailors calling out their woes,
As to the waves they're tossed.

— Sandy Denny


When I was completely immersed in the entrepreneurial world, there was a prevailing wisdom that when you have an idea, you just jump straight in and build it as you go; “on the fly” so to speak. The goal was to get in the hustle, make as much money as you can, and hope that you can build that thing more and keep going, but if not... oh well, at least you made some short-term cash!

My observation of Steem and what has evolved here over a couple of years is that there is a blockchain and development that really is built on a community of people. I read a post by @lordbutterfly the other day which was hyper-critical of this ‘soft’ opinion, and whilst I felt a little put off by it, I could actually see his point, as well as other points of view and opinions. There have even been suggestions about introducing advertising on the Steemit frontend, which has met with understandably divided opinion... I’d like to share an idea on that later.

I’m not a techie. I use Steem because I love writing and blogging and community. And I have found that here, where I couldn’t find it elsewhere. I’m also an investor, as I continue to buy Steem, and use it to give away in contest or to delegate or power-up. I have become completely sucked in to Steem Monsters (is there anyone who hasn’t?), and I think it is a good example of what Steem is about.


Social Media is more than just posting comments

It’s the new cyber version of the town square.

Some people want to write stories, others want to share their photos, others want to share recipes; some people want to share their music, their art, their lives, while others want to make videos.

Some want to play games, some want to speculate on cryptocurrencies, and some want to develop dApps, and other tech to earn a living and help improve peoples’ lives.

In many ways, certain other platforms have narrowed the definition of what “social media” is... but on Steem, the horizons are wide open, and only as narrow as any one person’s imagination (which from observation is not very narrow at all).

Unlike the other platforms, we have an added dimension: the chat servers.

The other day, we went to the Heide Museum of Modern Art here in Melbourne. As I stood and admired the work in front of me, I would also listen to what other viewers were saying about the art we were looking at. And it struck me as a parallel to what we have here on Steem. The creations on the wall are like the artwork in the gallery; the conversation of other gallery visitors about the work are like the conversations that happen in the chat servers.

Engagement is not just in the comments, but also in the various chat servers, and a vital part of what is created and posted up on Steem. Art without people to view it is pointless and useless, but the real value of art as a social medium comes with the appreciation and discussion about what the art elicits in the observer/s.

This doesn’t happen on other platforms — if it does, it usually degenerates into toxicity, because the platforms aren’t made for the kinds in-depth discussions that we have in the associated community chat servers. Amongst the Steem community I have had proper, civil debates that could not have happened elsewhere.

This is all to point out the inherently chaotic factor in continuing to develop Steem: the human factor. It’s not just about codes and algorithms. But it’s also not just about community. It’s both.

I believe we’re at a true frontier here.


You can have it if you really want
You can grasp it if you have the thought
Feel your power that is deep within
Are you ready?

— Lenny Kravitz


Another project I have been observing over quite some time is Holo. The crew behind that project have some very grand visions — literally claiming they are re-building the Internet!

This is their latest communication updating on how the development of the Holo-boxes are coming along. The idea being that these boxes are the servers on which the Holochain is built, which will be what houses the hApps hosted on the Holochain: truly decentralised!

And yes, I invested in one of these boxes, and have invested into their HOT coin. But what has really impressed me is that the development of the concept has been (more or less) open-source throughout the entire process. Alongside conversations about software, hardware, and codes are relatively deep and cutting-edge philosophical discussions about purpose.

How will building this app actually serve humanity and our civilisation?
How can we use the Holochain to build a better society?
How can we use it to bring hope to those who don’t have it?

Check out any of the Holochats to get more of an idea.... my favourite is the one with Nora Bateson about a concept called symmathesy... (seriously, have a listen! It may well blow your mind, but you’re probably already familiar with the idea...)

I’ve noticed that this undercurrent is also present here on Steem, especially amongst many of the tech folk, just maybe not as explicit (or maybe I’m not seeing those posts 😉).

Because the world really doesn’t need another ‘nanny-app’ that serves only to wipe our own arses! Everyone agrees that there are some seriously fucked up systemic issues in our society at present, and we are all wanting to do something seriously beneficial to fix it up. There is at least that one thing in common from everyone I’ve encountered here on Steem.


That advertising idea

I said I would share my idea about this, and maybe someone has said it already... but surely advertising on Steemit could be scaled according to how much SP a person has?

So for a newbie with a free account and hardly any SP, there would be a certain amount of advertising, while someone with a lot of ‘skin in the game’ would have less... maybe to the point where a certain amount of SP means you are ad-free?

Is that even possible? Surely there would be coders/developers around here could make it happen.


I’ve chosen to continue to invest in Steem and purchase more (as well as keep earning it) because I believe in the blockchain, the vision, and more importantly, the people.

All good things take time; and that has been what the Holo team have been doing. We thought we’d get our boxes in March; they are still a couple of months away, as they iron out all the bugs before getting the product out to the investors. There has always been a preference for quality over getting it out there. But they’ve also only ever been upfront and communicated where they are at with everyone who is interested.

We need to play the long game if we believe in Steem. But we also need to get onto doing what needs to be done. Let’s have the conversations and the debates, and let’s get to work. There is an amazing and talented pool of people who are part of the Steem community, people with all sorts of talents and skills that can be utilised.

For example...
I would love to develop an online publication focussed on the LOHAS market (lifestyles of health and sustainability/spirituality), where contributors earn token for their contributions, a la SMT’s. I’d love to build it and host on the Steem blockchain, a real competitor to Elephant Journal and LivingNow.

I have experience and skills in publishing and writing and management, but I don’t have the technical expertise, the marketing whizzbang, or the networks to raise capital... but with the right people who also share the vision, I know we could make it happen. So I’m always asking about where to go to find these people? I guess I’m putting it out there by stating it here...

My point is let’s start rallying and networking and solving problems, because that is where magic happens. And if there is any group of crazy, imaginative, and dedicated people, they’re going to be lurking around the Steemiverse.

So let’s somehow find those links and connections and get to work, shall we?


The unbroken spirit obscured and disquiet
Finds clearness this trial demands
And at the end of this day sighs an anxious relief
For the fortune lies still in his hands
If there's a pensive fear, a wasted year
A man must learn to cope
If his obsession's real
Suppression that he feels must turn to hope

— Dream Theater


MADE FOR STEEMIT

Listen to the HI-FI MIXTAPE: TAKE THE TIME soundtrack.

banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


My_Post_1.jpg

left.gifmetametheus.gif

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hello metametheus, we're working on a project but we're really struggling to choose between the Steem blockchain and the EOSio blockchain.
Why would you choose Steem if their main Dapp Steemit is having such difficulties?

My understanding is the Steemit is merely a frontend to accessing the info (posts) on the Steem blockchain. And that it was never meant to be the 'one and only app".

We now have Busy, Steempeak, eSteem, and Partiko as frontends, all of which work better and still allow us to post stuff.

There is also Steepshot for those who like to do the photo thing.

Steem Monsters operates on Steem, but you access it via any web browser, and I believe they're working on mobile app versions (that will seriously take up my bandwidth once that happens).

DTube is a video front-end. Vimm is a live-streaming front-end.

If the Steemit Inc (the company) focusses on development, and the other 'front-end' apps work on the apps, what's the big deal? We're all going rah-rah about decentralisation, and yet we're cracking the shits because one man and one company aren't taking the lead? Irony much?

Like I said, I'm not technical... but based on (real, 3D) conversations I've had with my friends who do earn a full-time living from this industry, I know that those kinds of decisions that your referring to are based on whether the infrastructure can handle the demands of the application. And that is fair enough... if another blockchain works better for your purposes, that's fine. And of course business decisions come into that too.

If I was to run something, I'd want to know that Steemit Inc (the company) were focussing on the development of the blockchain and the infrastructure. I wouldn't honestly care if Steemit (the app/front-end) wasn't around knowing there are others picking up the load. And in context of what I would like to do, it wouldn't matter because an online publication would be the front-end that I'm reaching out to public with... so whether they knew about Steemit, Busy, Steem Monsters would be irrelevant, so long as they people I'm trying to reach were coming to my product.

I'm equally drawn to Holo to host something, but mores because I feel its aligned with other visions and values I hold... If I could operate an SMT-based online magazine where creators receive payment from subscribers/readers from 'likes/upvotes' on a system that was completely decentralised (like Holo), that would be even more perfect.

Thanks for asking me the question, it got me thinking a bit more about stuff.... much appreciated. Hope everything goes well with your project... any chance of sharing a bit about what that is....? 😉

😊🙏🏽☯️

That's a very good question. I don't know much about developing and certainly haven't worked with the Steem code, EOS code, or any other code. Therefore, I have nothing to say about that. What I will say is, you can't judge a blockchain on one the success or failure of one Dapp. If that was wise, you should look at Steem Monsters, arguably the most successful Steem-based business to date. They wholly standalone and rely on Steemit for nothing. So the question is, can you build a viable and profitable business on the Steem blockchain apart from Steemit? Yes, you can. The execution of your business model depends only partly on the blockchain on which it is based, but mostly on the skills and the talent you bring to the table.

Why would you choose Steem...

@meyemetheus has covered the Steemit FUD issue pretty well in my opinion, so allow me to offer another thought as to STEEM's preference over EOS for your project''s use.

The larger part of my cryptfolio is in Proof of Work coins, however the Delegated Proof of Stake experimentations fascinate me. STEEM is my one exception of having traded in DPOS coins when buying my Dolphin level.

The magic of DPOS governance allows STEEM to be one of the fastest and most scalable blockchain networks out there, yet it also holds a level of danger of corruption that one will not find on POW Networks.

In my opinion, and understanding, EOS has taken that potential corruption to a new level of fear by giving the governance the ability to change transactions on the blockchain if they meet a majority vote. EOS' Governance gives EOS Witnesses the ability to do, at any time, what Ethereum has done once in an action that brought about a hard fork (the real kind). There are some other checks and balances, yet the short answer is the EOS Blockchain can be changed after the fact.

For that reason if my choice was to use a DPOS Blockchain for my project, then STEEM would be my choice at this time. Although ripe for corruption in its own right, Witnesses cannot change past transactions.

Hi @metametheus!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.353 which ranks you at #7349 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #248.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 156 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

The only way advertising is going to work on Steemit is if there is a strong user base to support it. Right now, there isn't much of a user base. Steemit needs to focus on getting people here, and the best way to do that is to make it inviting. It needs to be attractive, functional, and easy to use. It isn't.

Attractive - No.
Functional - Somewhat.
Easy to use, intuitive - Not by a long shot.

When they fix these issues, they'll stand a chance of attracting more users. They're competing with Facebook. Like it or not, they're the leader of the pack. Steemit isn't even close.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67