How Steem changed my mentality.

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

screen-shot-2018-07-28-at-15-05-23.png

Throughout my Steem journey, I had to ask myself quite a few times why am I really here? I guess just because human beings are really adaptive and can adjust to different challenges, environments and circumstances, I can't really provide a single answer to that question.

The truth is that I came here for the money. And if there is even one of you out there who might be reading these lines and claim that they are here just for the cause and shit like that then they are simply lying. Period. The fact that I am still here for the money hasn't really changed.

What has changed though, is everything in between...

Who doesn't want to be rewarded and get rich fast... that's how I accidentally found out about Steem, while I was killing my time reading a worthless piece of crap on FB some 2 years ago. The comment section of that post was like an endless referral link spam, and among all those links there was that comment that somehow promoted Steem as "the blogger's heaven-place on Earth".

A little bit of digging...some random posts that payed out thousands of dollars...and here I was. Add to that the fact that all the above happened exactly during the previous bull run so it seemed as the perfect opportunity to make some money online. It would be the first time I would attempt something like that but, what the heck...I can DO it.

You can do shit @mindtrap....


You thought that it would be easy pal? Who the hell are you, and why the hell should anyone vote for you? That was the conclusion I made after the first couple of months. You see some people think that whales, or anyone with a significant vote value could and should vote for everyone around here.

Of course they could...obviously the top 10 Steem stakeholders combined could "feed" the entire user base right now...(we are not that many nowadays). Add bots to that equations too and you have massive amounts of VP ready to be used.

As for the they should part. This is a big NO.

NO NO NO NO NO NOOOOO, they shouldn't vote for everyone. People need to understand that if we really want this project to be successful in the future, the Steem tokens should end up at the hands of those who are willing to walk the walk. To those who have faith in Steem and not killing their earnings on first chance.

By upvoting someone you essentially give them money. That's right. Money you have either invested by busting your ass off to work in real life, or money that you've earned around here by blogging just because some people thought that Steem in your hands is the right place to be, when they decided to upvote your posts.

So you need to act the very same way when you decide to cast a vote. To make sure that the rewards will end up in the wallets of those who are here to build, to communicate, to make this place better. Does it sound weird to you?

Assuming you could give away 10 guns to 10 different people one day, would you choose 10 murderers or 10 police-officers?

Steem murderers...or...Steem cops?

Because that's what Steem is. A gun. A blockchain that can support everything a human mind can come up with, yet, still undiscovered...

There's so much potential in Steem and all it takes is a little spark and then the real value of all the progress and development of those last months will be reflected on its price. I am sure it will. But right now, and exactly because we are in the middle of a long bear market Steem's price is like a bomb that could explode and drag the price down if the tokens are held by the wrong hands, or to make the price go up, if the tokens are in the right hands.

Steem should be held by believers...

That's the first and probably most valuable lesson I've learned while being on Steem. And I am happy that I've learned it while I was still a newcomer, because it changed my mentality. It changed the way I see things now.

I was educated...

To be continued...

Image Source

Sort:  

We all were lured here for the money, money for posting on a social medium, how easy could money be, right?
The money turned out to be quite insufficient, but it’s still money... And I don’t intend to leave pretty soon... 😏

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would suggest to not leave at all actually...

Worst case scenario? Waste of time and possibly some money you've invested. Best case scenario...?

Dream big

I won’t, just keep on stacking, posting and curating!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is why I'm often willing to upvote holders even if I don't necessarily have time to vet the content. Supporting financially responsible users with long-term goals is an automatic win for Steem.


By upvoting someone you essentially give them money.

and that money could have gone anywhere, including the upvoter's own pocket. It's interesting that many do not view the obvious reality for what it is. upvoting is like a clever trick that fools us into being more willing to give away money and more likely to believe that we deserve the money we were given.

Theoretically Steem should work just fine with zero inflation and direct tipping, but we all know it wouldn't work out like this in reality. The trickery of inflation (devaluing all stake) and upvoting is very very powerful. That's because central banks have already done the work for us as they constantly try to brainwash the population into ignoring the devaluation effects of inflation.

The frog boils slowly.

Well, I guess I couldn’t have said it any better than that mate.

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

  • 스팀 코인판 커뮤니티를 이용해주셔서 감사합니다.
  • 2019년 10월 15일부터는 스팀코인판에서 작성한 글만 SCT 토큰을 보상받을 수 있습니다
  • 스팀 코인판 이외의 곳에서 작성된 글은 SCT 보상에서 제외되니 주의 바랍니다.
  • Thanks to everyone who continues to participate in SteemCoinPan community.
  • From Oct 15, 2019, we will provide SCT rewards for postings published on SteemCoinPan.
  • You won't get SCT rewards at all if you create a posting on other Steem Dapps after Oct 15, 2019.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30