Nobody is ever talking about their huge investing failures...never.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem4 years ago

tws_stills_rushes_medres-7-h_2019.jpg

Image Source

Hello everyone!

I hope that each and everyone of you have had a great weekend. For me weekends, and more specifically Sundays are all about relaxation friends and family. Not necessarily in that order...

There are always a few things that need to be done before I can have some free time for myself, such as taking the dogs out for their daily walk...buy a few stuff from the super market etc, having a good fight with my gf while she is heading to the coffee shop and I am heading to the beach and so on...ordinary stuff.

71724954_2373472216105488_6662505126713884672_n.jpg

Speaking of beach, October the 6th and feels like July the 6th...

1395211_1387211724851496_1391125365_n.jpg

And...speaking of family...

Every Sunday I like to challenge myself...I try to not talk about Steem to my friends and also I try to not log in to Steemit. I fail miserably in both...

But that doesn't mean that I can't read the crypto news, right? So I deactivate my add blocker,-otherwise I can't have access to specific sites- and trying to catch up with all the latest news regarding crypto. The funny thing is that all the ads that pop up are somewhere between the lines of:

John and Peter have invested in "this" and a couple of years later are enjoying their riches... or...

Don't miss the chance to buy "that" and you can be the next millionaire in no time...

Seriously now?

Is this how investing opportunities are being advertised these days?...I call it the brainwash effect. And every single one of them gives you the feeling that you will have massive profits...like 10x / 100x / 1000x

But nobody is ever talking about their huge investing failures...never.

Not even those who are millionaires so to speak. Well, let me tell you about one of my failures.

Back in 2000 - 2001, a few years before we had the "pleasure" to get punched in the face by the global financial crisis, everything seemed...perfect. Our stock-market climbed to 6.500 units (it is swinging between 800 - 1000) ever since then...Every single stock was skyrocketing. No shit.

Remember the bull run that took place at the end of 2017? Oh you do? Then you obviously remember that it didn't matter whether you were holding BTC or a sack full of shit, because both their prices were going up like crazy...And...surprise surprise! Just have a look at where we stand now. Why? Because it was fabricated and unsustainable.

That's exactly what happened to our stock market too. There was euphoria...Even our fuckin government used to push people to buy any kind of stocks and to not miss that great chance...Banks used to call people and tell them that they could go and get an up to 5000 Euro investing loan using their ID only...Literally crazy stuff...

I was young...really young. I thought that if I was a bit lucky I could make my own future the way I wanted. As long as prices kept going up...So I bought some stocks too...Around 4000 Euro out of my own pocket...Well I still hold those stocks, but even if i decided to sell them, I am not really sure that I could buy five or six beers for my friends...

On second thought, almost all my investing decision were shit...I could say the very same thing about Steem as well, since my entry point was at 1.60$, but there is a huge difference compared to all the rest of my failures.

I am informed now. Back then I didn't know what I was doing...I guess I had that "get rich as fast as you can" mentality. I didn't come to steem to get rich overnight...I would have chosen BTC instead. I may have found Steem by accident but it was like a "school" for me.

I keep thinking that due to the progress and constant development of this chain it may turn out to be something really huge. It might take time, but I am not in a hurry now. Not anymore...

Stick around and we might have the chance to witness something remarkable in the future...

Or go away and run...and you shall never find out...

Have a great one!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Not admitting losses is the mainstay of the compulsive gambler.
Gotta do those mental gymnastics to keep justifying gambling.
Personally, I'm pretty far in the red, but we've all seen how these things can turn around. One smart bet is all it takes. Spoken like a true gambler.

Personally, I'm pretty far in the red, but we've all seen how these things can turn around.

I totally feel you...

One smart bet is all it takes.

Been waiting this smart bet for a while now...the only thing I am not invested in is the local grocery shop...

Heh. My entire blog is about my biggest investment failure.

Thanks for sharing your story. Talking about personal failures is a brave thing to do. But often quite a cathartic thing to do to help with healing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Meh...I just needed to get it off my chest...

There's no doubt that there are a lot of people who have made fortunes...but once in a while it would be good to let others know that not all kind of investments have a happy ending

Indeed. I’m happy to share my failures so that people understand the reality of being in business for yourself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Stick around and we might have the chance to witness something remarkable in the future...
Or go away and run...and you shall never find out...

I think there are far too many things that need to be done.
So warm is it like 6th of July? Rejoice, mindtrap, with me it's pretty cold already. Finally again, such a beautiful beach photo, I love your photos of the sea. And not only that, your two cute dogs, haha, they look really very dear. Is there anything good on the table, because they snoop and longingly sit, but they do not dare grab a bite from the table?
Stay tuned, mindtrap, not just for the wealth :)

Δεν χρειάζεται να απενεργοποιείς το adblock σου, απλώς χρησιμοποίησε το tampermonkey... https://reek.github.io/anti-adblock-killer/

With failures you might find the success!

  • 스팀 코인판 커뮤니티를 이용해주셔서 감사합니다.
  • 2019년 10월 15일부터는 스팀코인판에서 작성한 글만 SCT 토큰을 보상받을 수 있습니다
  • 스팀 코인판 이외의 곳에서 작성된 글은 SCT 보상에서 제외되니 주의 바랍니다.
  • Thanks to everyone who continues to participate in SteemCoinPan community.
  • From Oct 15, 2019, we will provide SCT rewards for postings published on SteemCoinPan.
  • You won't get SCT rewards at all if you create a posting on other Steem Dapps after Oct 15, 2019.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @mindtrap! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78