Resource Credits: Use It or Lose ItsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

resourcecredits.jpg

Theme parks cost money to get in.

But let's say you really like this particular theme park. You do some quick calculations and come to the realization that based on the expected frequency of your visits, it makes more sense to shell out the extra bills for a season pass.

Your season pass gives you unlimited admission and access to all the rides, all year long. Sweet!

What's even more exciting is that every few days, all season pass holders get a free one day admission ticket. No strings attached. All you gotta do is ask for it and the customer service person hands it over with a smile.

You can invite friends and family. You can sell them. You can stuff them in a box for a rainy day. Doesn't matter. They belong to you, and you can do what you like with them.

The only stipulation is that you have to ask for a new ticket every few days. If you don't ask for it, you don't get it. You can't wait 6 months then go ask for 6 month's worth of tickets. The ticket booth will not hold them for you. All they ask is that when the ticket is ready, you go pick it up.

Simple.

If you own about 5,000 Steem Power...you have a Season Pass. I think that based on current market values, that's about $1,500 USD of Steem (powered up). I say Powered up, because Steem Power is what generates (and regenerates) Resource Credits. And Resource Credits is what fuels any action or transaction on the Steem blockchain.

If you have at least 5,000 Steem Power, that means you have enough Resource Credits to claim one shiny, new Steem account every week. You don't have to activate the Steem account. You can just hold on to it.

Now a lot of you already know this. However, I doubt that most of us are getting the most out of our Steem investment. I bet there's a ton load of Resource Credits wasted on a daily basis. Valuable resources that are just doing nothing.

I'm just as guilty as the next person.

I try to remember to "pick up my tickets" when they're ready. But usually I just plain forget. Until recently, the tools I came across to claim the free tickets required entering my private Active Key (which I was not overly thrilled about doing). So there's that too.

For the past few months, I've tried to do better at claiming the Steem accounts. I still forget most of the time, but every couple of weeks, I'll go "Oh yeah!" and take a whole 20 seconds to visit the "ticket booth" for my digital loots.

I'm currently sitting at 89 claimed Steem accounts. Not sure what I'm going to do with them. Steem.ninja charges $2.50 USD to create a new account. So based on that market value, I guess my 89 accounts are "worth" a couple hundred bucks. But I don't claim them because I want to sell them (although that's not out of the question I suppose).

I claim them because it seems wasteful NOT to.

Like think about it. How much do you value you your Steem account? If you're like me, it's worth more than gold. It's this AMAZING thing that you couldn't live without. If you REALLY think about it, each and every Steem account is a magical gift, full of opportunity and potential for the soul who's ready to grab it with both hands.

There's not enough of these accounts to go around. If Steem went "mainstream", there would not be enough accounts to fulfill the demand. Let that sink in.

Scarcity. Demand. These are words that lead to increased value.

Or look at it from another angle. What sort of difference can a Steem account make in the lives of those less fortunate in the world? Can you see how claiming your free tickets might lead to positive change if those accounts were shared with others?

I dunno. Maybe claiming accounts is silly.

I remember doing it for the first time, because I thought it was cool, haha. That's it. Neither greed nor nobility is what motivated me. I just wanted to play with a new toy.

Regardless, let's get down to the nitty-gritty. If you want to claim an account, there's a nifty new tool that was created by @reazuliqbal. You can check it out here:

https://codebull.github.io/AccountCreate/

What I like about it is that it uses Keychain. Two thumbs up for the added convenience and security! Yay!

The only sucky part is that you've got to use Keychain on the Firefox browser. For whatever reason, the Chrome version doesn't play nice with the site. But no big deal. If it means I don't have to enter my Active key into the website, I'm more than happy to use the Firefox browser.

EDIT: Chrome seems to work now! Yay!

Don't have the browser extension yet? No problemo. Here's the link to install it on Firefox:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/steem-keychain/

Here's the extension on Chrome or Brave:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/steem-keychain/lkcjlnjfpbikmcmbachjpdbijejflpcm

Okay, so now that you have Keychain and you're on the Account Claim site, the rest is pretty darn easy.

Check the top of the Keychain app to see what your Resource Credits % is. For every 5,000 SP, you should be able to claim an account. So if you have 15,000 SP...at 100% Resource Credits, you can claim up to 3 accounts. Just be prepared to watch your Resource Credits % drop all the way down to zero if you do that. Normally, I claim enough to drop me down to 40-50%, then I stop. A few days later, it's back up to 100% again. I don't like the idea of going all the way down to zero. After all, I still have to play Splinterlands!

Today, I went a little crazy and ended up at 33%

accountclaim.jpg

Since I was going to write this post, I decided to try activating an account. So I took my 90th claimed account, and made it "active". This is easily done from the same page that you use to claim accounts.

It was actually pretty easy!

I encourage you guys to try it.

If you lose track, you can check how many accounts you've claimed (and have ready for activation) at:
https://steemworld.org/

Just scroll down towards the bottom.

Welp, I hope this post has at least one useful nugget of info. Happy account claiming!

sigsteem_nateaguila.png

Sort:  

Awesome write up. Thanks for the mention. :)

Killer info as always @nateaguila, thanks for the heads up. I have seen a lot of people creating additional accounts on here, in fact several at a time and this is apparently where they are getting them. Thanks again for posting.

Yep, keep claiming your accounts Dolphins!

Solid tool by @reazuliqbal, I recommend it also (with Firefox).

@nateaguila, Really interesting perspective for sure and it's very important to claim something which is knocking our door for free and that is scarce at the same time. Keep claiming and keep up.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't have enough to claim a ticket yet but I agree, it seems wasteful to not claim them if you can.

#palnet #spt #battle

That site seems to work fine for me on Chrome with Keychain...what is the issue you're seeing?

Holy crap, it worked!

That's weird. I guess the problem fixed itself? Previously, claiming the account would not broadcast.

Well, guess I'll edit the post to reflect this wonderful news! Yay!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @nateaguila!

You just got a 1.72% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @nateaguila! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @nateaguila!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.228 which ranks you at #875 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 452 places in the last three days (old rank 423).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 160 contributions, your post is ranked at #3. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73