A few more ideas for a successful steem experience

in #steem6 years ago

I think I have a couple ideas that will make Steem stronger. If folks that follow me would do it as I'm going to start, I think it would really strengthen this space.

  1. If someone resteems a post and you end up finding the post useful, mention it in a comment! This will help folks know who to thank and who are good followers. It'll help us form a better community network.
  2. Use @ginabot on discord. Even if that's the only thing you use the app for, it's a badass service that's useful to everyone. She'll send you notifications for everything that happens on your posts. Upvotes, payouts, comments, resteems, everything. You can even use her to follow certain tags to help you keep up with separate communities and topics without having to follow a thousand people. I follow #voluntaryism, #agorism, #anarcho-steemian, #permaculture, and a couple more. I'll get a notification when I post this that they were used in a post.
  3. Post as often as you can. Not posting is how you get unfollowed.
  4. When you follow someone, let them know why and that you're a human. I think a dozen of my followers are human, and that's a big bummer. It would be awesome to know which of them are real.
  5. Freaking upvote the people you follow. There's a reason you follow them. If they're not posting things worth upvoting, then why are you following them? I literally encourage people to unfollow me if I'm not valuable to them. I don't know how I have 350+ followers and only get a few votes per post. It's cause they're mostly bots, and it's frustrating. I'll probably get half a dozen more when I publish this post. Make sure the people you follow know you're human.

anarchosteemian.png

I've been looking around on Steem lately and my experience has shown me a lot of things. I found out that I've earned over 225 SBD in my time here. Just over 100 days. If I had powered that up, I'd be around 300SP right now. Instead I spent it all. Usually on @steembasicincome shares, which I feel are a solid investment.

Lately I've been spending all my SBD on bid bots in an attempt to boost my earnings. Not sure how I feel about that yet, but I'm leaning toward stopping that practice. There's plenty of ways to justify it though. The biggest whales on Steem make a regular practice of it. The one everyone knows does so every two hours and his posts hit $100. Imagine that, 50 SBD and 40 SP every two hours. And somehow there's supposed to be room for minnows to grow? I guess you could say I'm a bit disillusioned with that system. 80% of that guy's upvotes are on himself too. So he's not helping anyone but himself here. It kinda hurts the credibility of the system to have one of the biggest accounts be so arguably fraudulent. Reward pool rape is not cool, and there comes a point when it's not even feasible to fight it because pointing it out results in being downvoted to oblivion.

While using the same practices has been profitable, I really feel guilty as shit about it.


Not saying everyone should. That's just a result of my own personal ethics. I have no problem with little folks doing it, that's kinda what it's there for. I just feel like I shouldn't do it because it has affected my community engagement. Plus, if I'm buying votes, I don't have to be as relevant. It decreases incentive. That's hypocritical as fuck. I wonder what the result would be if I spent that money on other peoples' posts. Maybe I'll do that til I feel like I've made up for my actions. Good idea, Nate. I'll use my next few payouts to buy some badass votes for other people that make great posts.

I need to start buying more folks shares in SBI. I used to do that all the time. Haven't bought any in a long time. I'll do that too. Gotta think of a contest.

Just wanted to stop in and get that off my chest and let y'all know what I've been learning. Sorry for being a shithead, let's all work to make Steem an even better place. I gotta be up in a few hours so I'm calling it a wrap.

Stay relevant

Nate

Sort:  

Hi Nate, great post. We are almost on the same page!
We do have a different opinion about bullet 3. I do think that posting twice a day is the max (for me personally). I could post more, but that would decrease the quality (if there is quality in my posts). Posting more would speed the climb in the Steem ranking but it would feel bad, because I would abuse the confidence some people have in me (auto votes).

Now and them I also buy some votes. Max for 1 SBD and always the same bot. When the bot rans out of power, I just power the SBD.

Steembasicincome is just a great program. I do sponsor the lucky number 25 of @abh12345 engagement league! It is to encourage people to keep on posting and hopefully they will use the force given by me!
Besides that I did gave away at least 30 to 40 SBI shares. Just trying to support authors in which I do believe! I could have used this to power up, but I like to act as a whale, while I am just plankton or a red fish!

Let me explain why I do follow you! I do find your post valuable. Not that I always agree but some of them make me think, which I really like about a post!

Cheers,
Peter

Come on over and disagree whenever! I love talking about disagreements :) Thanks for being here Peter :)

Oh man, i agree... over the past couple weeks my followers has increased a lot, but only one of all of them has actually said anything: it makes you wonder if any of them are real!
Also agree, it's nice to express where your follow came from. Gives people real insight.
Was already doing a many of these things: healthy to consider. We need people - like yourself- that will hold the community to a higher standard. Do you know the Pope here on steemit? @jacobtothe ?
If not, i suggest that you do!

Woah, that looks like a badass profile! I'll be sure and let him know you sent me :)

LOL! @nateonsteemit said you sent him my way! Thanks!

Absolutely, you're both solid gold from what I can tell of you. We need to stick together!

If you heard the conversation I had at my sister's the other day, you'd laugh. We were talking about my upcoming book and my sister was wondering what the races/species were in it. So I said that there are no humans, but the main race is called "polcs", which in a way is similar to saying 'pole" or "poka". We are Polish you see, so my mom says "No, Polish people are definitely not human." And we had a good laugh. So I'm definitely not a bot, but I'm not sure I qualify as human either :p

I hope Texan was on your list of races ;)

Never met a Polish person before. Closest I guess I've met was a fella from Moldova. Not very close lol

Hehe close enough. Slavic people kind of blend together sometimes ;)

Especially to a dumb american lol ;)

Please don't be offended, I dont even know where most of the states in america are. I'm doing good to know that Moldova and Poland are on the same continent... They're both somewhere in Australia, right? ;)

Hahaha I live on the Canadian Shield in a land where everything is void lol So I'm no better.

(In Quebec, a lot of contests are "Void in Quebec" because of the complicated rules and regulations so there is a running gag that everything is void in Quebec, including global warming :p )

Is that like a Canadian version of Kansas? Flat with a cow and a tree that you can see from any point in the state?

My wife is from there, so we get to see it a bit. If you encounter terrain features, you're nearing the border.

lawl no, not flat, but many cows, yes, and French speaking cows too :o

Oh wait, I meant, the animal, but yeah, there are some of those cows here too ;)

Social Justice Warrior: "White privilege means never having to spell your name for people!"

Sensible person: "You've never met a Polish person, have you?"

And you officially have met one now, although my real name is not used on Steemit.

Psh. I'm a general european cocktail white american dude and I have to spell my name for everyone lol

Poles! Poles everywhere!

The Steem Pope frowns upon bid bots, but people do seem to make money from them. Especially the people running the bid bots though.

Resteeming services are a complete scam and a complete waste though. Follow people who share carefully-selected good posts. That is one of the best ways to find new people worth following. And share good content you find as well. We need to spread as a grassroots community of minnows and dolphins, and your ideas are a solid start in that direction!

Yeah, I try to resteem at least as much as I post. Probably comes out to 3x as many resteems as original posts lol

@kafkanarchy84 turned me on to that idea as a great way to spread good people to good people. Super supportive of the community.

The only downside to heavy resteeming is that people trying to figure out what you create can be overwhelmed by all the resteeming. My personal policy is to avoid resteeming more than I post myself, but that is by no means a rule for everyone.

Yeah, I've actually had people tell me that and seen it on other posts as well. Maybe they could make a way to distinguish them in the feed. Know any witnesses?

There have been many proposals to add an option to toggle between a mixed feed, original content only, and resteemed content only. Noting has happened yet.

Womp. That would be boss.

I imagine it'll be a thing on another interface. Steemit is kinda dry. I use it right now because it is what I started on, but there are others under development I bet.

You could try busy.org. It has some useful features and a different layout. Their post editor is nice.

I would agree on quite a few of these. The commenting is probably the biggest. Let people know you read their stuff! Lots of bots of dead users. I also agree with upvoting and looking at posts from people yo follow. I go through my feed kinda often, but not often enough! Though I don't agree to post as much as possible, because then people just shit post and that is the worst. I agree with @fullcoverbetting twice a day should be max. I also never used paid bots, it is so tempting sometimes. I tired it out a thrice, but have since sworn it off

Yeah, I've used them for about a week. Maybe a little more. I don't have a problem with anyone else using them except the folks I described. I just think they're incompatible with my personal vision and goals here.

Hi @nateonsteemit, I'm what you call a minnow and I was lured here by posts attracting $100 in rewards in two hours (and my love for new technologies). I quickly discovered however that minnows earn maybe $0.02 in that time.

While whale posts dominate the "Trending" page, I observed that the "New" page is flooded with poor quality articles every second. Trying to get that few cents. Like a faucet.

The system favors quantity over quality. Therefore I disagree with your third point.

Post as often as you can. Not posting is how you get unfollowed.

THANK YOU FOR DISAGREEING WITH ME.

I think @fullcoverbetting also disagreed to this point and recommended a max of two posts per day.

I stand corrected.

Posting every five minutes is a terrible idea. I don't know if I would encourage folks to limit their posting to a specific daily number. As long as your content is relevant as fuck, post away! I personally can't seem to muster much more than one relevant post a day. Some days I can fit two.

I do encourage folks to post daily. Just a journal type post if there's not a super productive topic you'd like to talk about. Staying active and present is important.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04