HAVING A SUCCESSFUL PROJECT ON STEEM

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

This is solely based on my observation

I have been having the worst week of the year and I'm yet to have decent sleep because I'm overthinking and the only way to stop myself from thinking is writing.

Now to today's topic. So I have been here for a while now and I have seen a lot of projects come and go. Basically, these are some of the reasons projects die here on steem:

false hopes

Now, most of the communities and projects I have seen here are built on the idea that people care about this platform and its growth. Personally, I think that's the greatest mistake anyone can make. People only care about their wallet and what favors them. Do not deny this simple truth and use it to your advantage. With the right incentive, people will support your project. It is that simple.

Example:

The 777 Twitter campaign. I would say the campaign was creating more buzz during its early days because of the following reasons:

steemians love new things/hype. There is no better way to get steemians hyped than dropping news about something new. It gets everyone talking. Unfortunately, this is short lived. But that isn't a problem in the sense that all you need do to keep people active and happy here is create new and interest things to keep them engaged.

A strong and small team. When the whole initiative started we were barely a hundred. Although Nathan made a long list people never really participated steem was trending within the Twitter crypto sphere. We were having conversations on Twitter about steem. During that period I got a lot of private messages from non-steemians. Many of my followers were eager to know what steem was about.

Incentive

Nathan had the right formula. People were supported with huge delegations. That, in my opinion, empowered a lot of steemians and gave them this sense of belonging. I was one of the beneficiaries of Nathan's a kind gesture. And that helped me in a way to focus attention on Twitter.

I think things started to change when the seven pushups started. The 77days challenge was awesome and realistic. I was able to do a few videos myself. However, when it changed from 77 days to 777days, I think it lost traction. Mentally it became unachievable.

I'm not here to discuss the seven77 movement. It's a decent project and is still kicking thanks to Nathan's zeal. Moving on to other points.

Hype

Like I said earlier hype is an integral part of the steem blockchain. This cut across all social platforms. At every point in time, there should be something that everyone is excited about. Unfortunately for the steem blockchain, many of these projects that are or were hyped did not maintain their momentum for long and they were relegated to the background once a new project came onboard. I'm sure you can count at least 10 projects that were once trending on steem that we all have forgotten. It's not like these projects weren't good enough, they just didn't live up to their expectation.

Numbers

When people think about the steem ecosystem, they imagine thousands of people when in fact we are just in our hundreds. The steem ecosystem is very huge but the people who live on it are small. That's why it's easy in my opinion to take advantage of the opportunities here because not so many people are here to see or utilize them. Personally, I feel if you have more than 300 steemains using your platform or supporting your project you should be happy. Asking for more might be unrealistic.

SO HOW DOES ONE BUILD A SUSTAINABLE PROJECT ON STEEM

I have not built anything here so maybe I'm not in the best position to speak here but I will anyway.

  1. Have the funds/influence

This is an incentive-based platform. That's the core of this blockchain. If you want to build anything you must be able to fund it and provide incentives for people to use it. That's the steem culture. Anything short of that will be a total failure. If you do not have the money but you know someone who those then you can pitch your idea to them.

  1. Be willing to work with what you have

That might be just 100 persons or 50 or less. The most important thing is that they are dedicated. That way they can do the work effectively.

And the major thing is empowerment. Empower your team and those who are part of your vision. This goes beyond tipping. Tipping is short term. You need people who can contribute to your project significantly with their skills of which might be poorly developed and those skills should be developed so these people can be of value to you in the long term. See people for their potentials as well (I'm going to make a video discussing how to use people tomorrow or next) Helping these people reach their full potential will be an added advantage to you and your project. You must not forget that the people who support you have dreams as well. Try to know what they are and how they can align with yours as well. It creates a win-win situation.

  1. Be innovative People get bored easily. So it is important that you find new ways of engaging them.

So if you're thinking about starting a project probably you should have this at the back of your mind. Like I would always say, a great idea isn't always a practical one. Also, be willing to work with a small team, that's what steem can offer at this point. And it's really not a game of numbers. Having the right set of people on your team will produce a good result and take you one step closer to actualizing your dreams.


My name is Nonso and I'm a writer and full-time digital nomad. If you like my work and you want to support me you can donate to keep me going and improve the quality of my content:

BTC: 3FWRn64T3Xcs8chJaRzeWbSwesiDiSKKWX

BATT: 0x87Ef4482C08c9c2E22B99c43cb36D02fC457C6d1

ETH: 0x1eAF9AcEB3575DA94b89C8E9802CA43c2baeE3B1

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Agreed. I liked the Seven77 challenge. By the end of it I was pretty tired and then it changes to 777 days which i think is too much. People like challenges that can be done in a reasonable amount of time. It gives them a goal and gets them excited. 777 days is way out in the future and its not like progress is being made. 7 pushups or whatever is nothing so it becomes an arduous endurance challenge that is too long to feel satisfied about.

Posted using Partiko Android

Even if Nathan leave the boat, I will reach the vision to the end. I see meself at day 777. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a personal vision for myself and that why I will keep forward!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16