Powered Up 20,000 Steem - I'm Back!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Here We Go Again...

A few months back I had a bit of a meltdown, it's true. Psychologically, I could no longer deal with the sheer amount of money that I had lost in crypto, specifically in Steem. I was one of the unlucky ones who jumped in and bought heavily between mid 2017 and January 2018.

20190926_165112.jpg
I Felt pretty much like this guy

Anyway, a while back I sort of half rage-quit and sold off about 50% of my Steem. To be fair, I really needed to step away for a bit. I was so obsessed with all of this that I neglected pretty much everything else in my life. I got pretty overweight, depressed and was frankly quite miserable.

I decided to get my butt moving and get active! I also changed my diet and cut out all of the crap - no more pints of ice cream in a single sitting for one thing. It's funny how getting your blood moving can really wake up your brain. I still have a ways to go, but things are getting much better all the time and my perspective is changing.

20190925_131110.jpg
Had a blast at the Conan show this week!

Rebuilding My Stake in Steem

While I was recovering, the new hard fork hit. I wasn't really sure what to think about it at first. I was kind of lurking for a while and mostly curating. Most of my remaining SP was tied up in delegations to @ocdb (who are awesome in my opinion) so I wasn't really able to do much rewarding. I started to notice a bit of change in the culture of the platform - for the better.

More people are shying away from bid-bots and there is a renewed focus on cleaning up the act of the platform as a whole. I can't really put my finger on anything specifically, but there just seems to be a new sense of hope that I had really started to lose before.

20190926_164933.jpg
Now feeling a bit less Bert, and more like these guys.

So anyway - last week I decided to just go for it and start pumping my account back up. Besides, a few guys on here who used to be at my SP level are totally kicking ass now (@holm and @slobberchops for example! lol)

I have added about 20k to my account bringing me up to 31k+ total, which is about 5k more than my all time high. I have about another 10k coming in soon, which will be getting me closer to being an Orca, which I expect to be within the next few months. We shall see how things go!

I am really happy to see things looking so bright for Steem, even with the current crazy low prices. On the upside, there is no way that I'd be able to do what I'm doing now if not for those low prices. I don't think there will be many more times in the future that it will be possible to buy in at such a bargain price.

20190926_165206.jpg

Also, I'd like to thank those who continue to support my blog. I am humbled by the support even after my little tantrum and storm off. This is what I like about Steem compared to other blogging type platforms - the humanness of it. We are all experiencing this thing together and growing and learning how to make this crazy thing work. Much love to you all!

Sort:  

Welcome back,depression is a terrible thing and I'm glad you were able to put yourself together and get back up, yeah, the price of steem is down for now,we all hope it gets better soon. The only people still here are those that still believe in steem, 20k steem is a lot and I know I'll really scream steemit down the day I get 10k steem.. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I was actually the most depressed that I've ever been. I'm finally getting out of it changed to some forced perspective!

I agree, only the diehard Steemians are still here! After I left for a bit, I missed all the people more than anything - that's when I realized that the money wasn't the most important thing. Although it would be nice to actually make some! haha

Sometimes it is good to stay away from something you are used to or obsessed to and give it some time/break.
I was ome of those who read your last post about "goodbye". Am glad you came back after giving up on steem. Hope you stick around for longer time. And I hope you benefit from your investment and regain your loss.

Posted using Partiko Android

Getting away really helped! I was able to catch up on a lot of things that I had been neglecting (namely my health). Thanks for coming back!

Welcome back! I'm glad the culture change is showing

Indeed! Thanks for the welcome bro

Welcome back buddy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, my friend. Glad to hear from ya!

Awesome to have you back :) Good things are happening bit by bit.

Thanks, man. It does feel that way!

Glad to see you powering up. It's the perfect time to buy steem and to do so. ☺

I think you are right! Thanks for stopping by.

Hey man👋 glad you're back and enjoying NewSteem!🙌

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @jenina619! Glad to be back.

Welcome back!

Posted using Partiko Android

You picked a good time to buy STEEM

It's the first time I've picked a good time, but better late than never!

Cool will be nice to have access to an Orca :-)

Well, I'm still not an Orca, but headed that way! Unless the price does a major jump before I can pull it off. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77