Steem Is Not Fair: But What Is In Life?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

bvoibf1jlr.jpg

Sometimes I find myself browsing through the ol' Steem feed and find a familiar sensation rising from the pit of my stomach. It takes it a little while to bubble up to my brain, where I finally recognize it as big bad jealousy and envy.

Most of you probably know what I'm talking about. Perhaps you are going about your happy business, when you suddenly begin to notice a number of Steem members earning 20, 30, 40, even 50 or more dollars on every single thing that they post. Sometimes these folks are posting a poorly composed photo with maybe a sentence or two describing how awesome it is.

Before you know it, the emotions are building up inside of you and you have lost all perspective. You're likely feeling quite sorry for yourself at this point. You may think something like,

Come on! I spent hours collecting and processing images, thinking about what I would like to write, and then go over it again and again. After posting it, I get a max of 2 or 3 bucks for all of my effort.

I went through something like this recently. If you have followed me for any amount of time, then you've probably noticed that I've not made nearly as many of my epic travel posts like I used to do daily. In fact, recently I've kind of become one of those annoying Actifit guys.

Well, the reason is two-fold. One, I've been extremely busy with actual paying work! It always gets this way in the early months of the year. The other reason is that I have been sort of secretly sulking and whining to myself about how much work I felt that I was putting into the platform, but not getting much back. Especially since there are a lot of people who started around or after I did and are doing much, much better than myself. Not to say that they don't deserve it!

Actually I was getting plenty back

First of all, I have gotten to meet a lot of interesting people that I never would have come in contact with had I not joined the platform. Secondly, having bought a decent stake (I sure didn't build it up blogging) I was given the opportunity to help people less fortunate to raise a bit of money in countries where it would otherwise be impossible. Of course I mean by supporting their blog posts, and encouraging them.

jz4lxqewt4.jpg

It's All About Perspective

The most important thing that I had to come to terms with is that just like in real life, these platforms are all about building personal social networks. And just as in life, sometimes networking is being in the right place at the right time; meeting the right people. Oh, and of course getting the attention of the right people at the right time.

A lot of variables have to fall into place in order to make it into that elite group of people who are making an actual living from writing blog entries.

Also, there are plenty of people on here who don't even get $0.50 per post! Sometimes it takes quite a while to get a decent following. So stop whinging! (As my British wife would say)


So your point is?

The point is simple and has been expressed over and over again on all of these blogging platforms. It is an easy one to forget, however, when the emotions take over.

Don't get into this thinking you are going to be some famous influencer. Do it because you enjoy it! Do it because you will certainly make a lot of new and interesting friends. Do it because you can earn a few bucks by writing about things that interest you. Where else can you do that?

It is easy get depressed about it all and completely lose the plot, but you have to keep the right mindset about it all. Not everyone is going to be a superstar blogger just like not everyone is going to be rich and famous.

ekff11kqf0.jpg

The fact of the matter is, you'll never be happy anywhere unless you can be happy right where you are. That's something to think about!

Sort:  

What can I say Rick? you are so right!
Yes, it is irksome when some earn 10x as much for a fraction of the effort you put in on your post. But then, I am not as concerned about what I get (heck, half of my earnings came from one post that for some reason several whales piled Steem on by the fist-full) - and yet, that post of mine was almost as you described: a quickie, one image, 2 lines of text.
On the other hand I had posts I took a half day to put together, and I got not even enough change for a cup of coffee (I am not even talking about Starbucks, but greasy spoon coffee served by Blanche or Alice, with refills, on an early prairie morning).
But then I am thinking: what really counts are the people who look at my posts and enjoy them. They might not have any SP to give, or just very little, but what matters is that they appreciated what I posted. In turn, I spread whatever little I have to put on quality posts.

Very true, my friend! We can not discount the up-votes from those who don't have a lot of SP. That is still eyes on our efforts.

There are no guarantees that the folks who decided to buy massive stakes of Steempower will also happen to enjoy our particular content. To each his own, I suppose.

I don't know if this would be for you, but I get my best views on Fine Art America, and the only site that consistently sells my prints (for real money, lol) - and my best-seller, which is also the most visited is DETERIORATION OF MIND OVER MATTER so far viewed 37,878 times! But some of my other work is not that far behind.

You know I felt the same way at some point even when I started earning more on dtube. I saw people earning $20 and more and I was like "hell no! I'm better than this guy." But I started to adjust my expectations. Sometimes these people earn as much as they do because of the relationships they've built in here and that most times supersedes the value of the content we put here. So that's what I have been trying to do--build better relationships.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are exactly right! That's what I meant about the social networking. It's arguably more important than the actual content that you create.

It's not about quality or time. It is about your network.

I love your attitude though,

Look, I don't care about beautiful pictures from a stranger. I'm interested in the things people I know care about.

There are millions of beautiful pictures in the world...
We lie to ourselves about why we open posts.

I tend to look at posts from people I know. :)

Very true, @whatsup! Life is about developing relationships. We are social animals, indeed.

I have noticed that I tend to follow a pattern. I will go a month or so looking at only my friend's posts and interacting with that small group. Then I tend to branch out and meet a few new people which get integrated into the group.

At that point, some of the original group falls off because they go a bit off my radar! Perhaps it becomes too much for me to process so many people. Then something reminds me of them and I go catch up. I guess the brain really does have finite memory space. haha!

haha, a great and real view.

That is pretty much how it works for me too!

Excellent review @nuthman and you are right, can truly be happy only where we are on the path of life!

I've been there a few times as well. The sulking place is never a rational one, but sometimes hard to reason away. I'm with you - I came here to practice my writing, and regardless of the small sum of money and/or eyes, Steem has made me a better writer. There is a lot to be grateful for here.

You make some good points. Sometimes I wish that I could just switch off those more irrational parts of my mind. Time to meditate!

Very much can relate to this. Also, don't forget that a lot of the higher post payouts are due to bots. In the end, we don't know what the net profit is. But networking and relationship building is huge, for sure. (this is Marianne West by the way - just happened to see that while in the Freewrite House account)

That is true about the bots. I often forget that! A few months back I stopped using them altogether because I wanted to get a better gauge of what I was actually earning. It was a bit hard to swallow!

I keep the idea in my mind that I knew about bitcoin when it was worth maybe $ 20 (didn't buy any 😟) Steem, to me, is an investment in the future - and like you said, right now, we can help people in areas where earning a steem makes the difference between eating or not eating.

And while I am here as the Freewrite House again, I might as well invite you to participate in our contests - maybe you win some more Steem LOL

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @nuthman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.574 which ranks you at #6223 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 22 places in the last three days (old rank 6201).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 228 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33