Our nephew today graduates from high school

in #steem5 years ago

IMG_20190703_143433.jpg

@laputis and I later today will go to the graduation ceremony of our nephew. He just finished 12 grades this year. I'm not sure what he will be doing next year (and I think he might be unsure himself at this point) but I will remind him of Steem once again.

The worst thing he could do is to waste a few more years until he finds his purpose in life. It's better to spend this time actively working on finding his purpose. And the easiest way to do this is to write a blog.

Like a journal but in public. Share his daily thoughts with the world. And little by little something will emerge.

Maybe it will not be just one thing. Maybe he will become a polymath. A lot of young people are like that these days.

And actually this might be an advantage here on Steem. Because if he started writing about some narrow niche, his audience would be narrow as well. And their voting power would be low (at least for now until niche millionaires and niche businesses come investing into SP).

But if he likes many things or even if he is not sure about any of this, he could just post about things he is working on, things that are frustrating to him and things that are inspiring to him. Sort of in a self-therapy attitude...

And if I started blogging today, I most definitely choose Steem. Not only because I've seen what investing in Steem Power can do first hand but also because we are in the beginning stages of tokenizing the Internet. Steem-Engine and the upcoming SMT's could literally change the world.

And all of us here will be witnesses of this wonderful opportunity.

So the worst thing (in my mind) would be to watch this opportunity to pass by.

Of course there is a risk of this platform going to zero one day but the upside is far greater. If the person invests responsibly their spare change, something that they can live without easily, then if the Steem project fails, all that would be lost is disposable money and of course a lot of time.

But this time would be spend learning new skills so if this would be a traditional blogging on your own website or on Medium were chances to earn some money are very slim these days I still wouldn't consider it a waste of time.

Because all of this is education.

But if Steem succeeds and we wouldn't be just passive observers but active participants, then in the future we would have built a very solid foundation that would serves for decades to come and give us financial independence that we all want.

I sincerely hope our nephew will embrace this opportunity with an open mind.

Sort:  

Congrat on your nephew milestone graduation

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think your nephew should better work and learn. How old is he?
Building your future on Steem is not something I would advice my children.
Your nephew has writing skills, intentions to be a writer?
Happy day and congratulations. 💕

He is 19. The best time to start creating his future was when his first picture was shared online. The second best time is now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes the time has to be right. Keep my fingers crossed 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

You always give very good sound advice Vidas! I hope as well, that your Nephew turns to look at the opportunities on Steemit. If not for the money for his future, but also for the education, it is very valuable. I’ve become a much better artist with practice on Steemit, and talking to other artists. That to me alone is a priceless experience. Stepping into a pool of other “like minded” artists, is truly fun, I enjoy Steemit very much❣️Blessings

Well, exactly! Without a real community we are nothing. And to be honest with you, since 2011 when I started blogging online I have never found such a supportive community anywhere, like we have here on Steem. It's because support is incentivized with curation rewards. Right now they are quite small, I know. But after the upcomming Hard Fork 21 curation rewards will be 50 percent so people will have even more motivation to help others succeed because THIS IN TURN will make them successful as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your absolutely right my friend! Any institution, where people who support one other through caring, loving, sharing, giving, to each another, is a very good organization to get involved with. All these things are “good” in Gods eyes, and that means that He will make the institution prosperous, and fruitful. I believe for the most part, people care here on Steemit, it was founded on people helping people, all over the world. The key to it’s success, like all good businesses, is sincerely caring about your customers, that’s all. I no that for a fact because Rick and I ran a successful business for almost forty years, until we retired. That’s a very long running business, all do to caring, for people and sincerely, loving them❣️Hey I might just say some of these things on my “Challenge” post HA HA❣️

Yes, share your and Rick's story in this post. People will be able to relate better.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok... I figured it out, you meant yes. I got confused because you put in this post... ha ha sorry. My mind misses things sometimes 😋

Sorry, I don’t know what you mean friend, do you mean don’t write about it on the Challenge ?

Yes write it about it. Absolutely!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations to your nephew, I hope that God directs him in every decision he makes to choose a university career. It is also cool to he make publications in steemit.

Your nephew has a holiday today, he enters adulthood, this is a memorable moment. Let it be held solemnly.

Fascinating to enter adulthood... So many new opportunities! But easy to miss them if one is not curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87