Full STEEM ahead – STEEM business is Your Business and My Business

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Its been a few days now since @neds announcement and I haven’t really said to much on the topic.  To be honest I needed time to process the information and now that I have, well for me, its full STEEM ahead.

source

Okay here’s how I see it.  Steemit Inc need to focus.  They don’t want to be a Marketing Company, they don’t want to be a social media company, they want to be a blockchain development company.  It’s seems to me that with the bull market they got caught up in all the excitement, and even let themselves suffer from Shiny New Object Syndrome.  If you know Shiny New Object Syndrome like I do, they you know that its saps a lot of time and energy chasing and learning about something new, only to realize after a lot of wasted time really if you stuck to what you know and what you were doing, you would be much further ahead.

I bet many of you reading this now also got up in the excitement of the bull market, and I bet many of you also made mistakes because of it, right?

So now business decisions have been made by Steemit Inc, and for the community and investors of STEEM, these are good decisions.  Heck they could have just powered down everything, flooded the market with STEEM and walked away.  But they didn’t.

There is a lot that STEEM needs besides awesome developers, and I have read many posts and comments both positive and negative on the topics.  STEEM needs Business Operations, Marketing, Business Intelligence, all the things that go along with a business.  But its not steemit incs business.  Its OUR business.  And its in our control.  We have many awesome leaders here with the business skills to help take STEEM to the next level while Steemit inc focus on blockchain development.  What we need to do next gather these leaders and just get the ball rolling.

I previously set up a ‘department’ community here on steem.   #blockchainbi analysing the STEEM blockchain data.  For a while it was running awesome and I even offered many of my premium selling courses for free to those wanting to learn and join the team. That’s what you do in a department right? improve skills so you can improve services.  Unfortunately, however Utopian put me out of business, I couldn’t compete with votes and both the tag and the community faded.  Lol maybe I can blame the bull market here as everyone went after the votes from Utopian, including me, and so we let this tag slip.  Like I said, steemit inc were not the only ones to make a mistake.

For me, the technical changes and requirements needed on the blockchain are not skills I can offer. But business skills, hell ya and I am happy to work with anyone that puts themselves forward to at least getting this conversation started and get the ball rolling. #blockchainbi can come back to life. Can you start a department too?

None of this drama has put me off my plans.  Being a blogger that successfully monetize content prior to STEEM, I still plan on powering my business with STEEM.  I made a post just before @neds announcement and I am sticking with the plan.  This is an awesome time to power my business with STEEM. Many of the challenges I faced in the past have been removed.

Source

One of the challenges for me was the expectations gap, what people earned on trending and what really happens.  The expectations gap was way too much, but with the lower prices and less activity, well posts are not doing as well and its easier to see just what’s happening.  

Another challenge was steemit.com.  For me I love it, for my follower, no way.  There was no way in the world I was going to move my content to someone else’s platform and lose the trust of my existing followers and customer base.  Now I can use @steempress and keep my content on my own site, in my own control, where my followers are familiar and comfortable.   

I previously used Disqus for my comments.  Disqus required a user log in.  This week I did my first post using STEEM for my comments. The only difference now is that they will need to log in to STEEM to leave a comment (directly on my blog).  The plan is, after a few weeks of my viewers seeing this, I will do a post introducing the changes.  People don’t need to come to steemit.com, they can just stay on my blog. That’s awesome.  I don’t expect to see any new STEEM users until I make an announcement to them.

What I do know after the first post with STEEM comment enables is that one of the largest eLearning providers in the UK which I supply content to reached out to me asking what it is.  We had a rather good discussion and they will be keeping an eye on its progress.

You can check out that first post here if you wish.

The next obstacle was funding.  I really need to back my brand account @theexcelclub with some STEEM so I can reward my followers, run contests and challenges and do all the things I want to do.  Funding is still a challenge, but I do love a challenge, the price of STEEM is way down.  I am upping my game off STEEM too with my business to increase my revenue, so I can hopefully make a rather nice purchase.  I’m sorry if you don’t like me for what I’m about to say, but I need to the price of STEEM to stay low, at least for 2-3 months.  In the mean time if anyone wants to support my brand account @theexcelclub, feel free.

There are massive opportunities here on STEEM, and you don’t have to be a developer to see that.  Let’s get a conversation started on department type communities and let’s help STEEM be the decentralized platform it is meant to be.  Let Steemit Inc and @ned get on with their jobs and we can get on with ours.  This is our blockchain and I echo what @therealwolf said

We are STEEM


Sort:  

I started an initiative to promote STEEM on social media. Basically, any time someone is frustrated with censorship, shadow banning, lack of monetary compensation on the dominant social medias (pretty much all of them except YouTube). We can flood the post\video\tweet with comments advising the OP to check out steemit.com, and obviously upvote\like each others' comments, to get maximum visibility.
The Discord server I've just opened is a bit basic, so if anyone wants to help me manage this initiative, feel free to join the STEEM Promotion Task Force right, about, here https://discord.gg/PfmK4c

fantastic, this is the sort of initiatives we need and we need to pull leaders like to you together. I will hope over to your discord this evening and we can have a chat

I'm available most of the time ^_^ @paulag

awesome ! what's the initiative you have started ? fb ,insta ads to promo steem ? i see very good synergy where @share2steem can join in too,

  1. s2s provide an easier learning curve for external new users to integrate into steem, they are still using something they are familiar and they already establish a substantial amount of following like @paulag business website where content creator post the content and distribute to various platform for bigger outreach.

  2. just recently s2s deployed the first ever new steem account creation api for external users leveraging on @oracle-d RC, no more long waiting time for account creation. When s2s run external promotion, users from these platform can easily get started.

s2s is more of sharing entire posts on social media. My initiative is about "infiltrating" existing posts with pro-STEEM comments.
Does your tool allow sharing in specific FB groups? Or just on the FB profile?
Some folks in the Israeli community share their posts in Steemit related groups rather frequently, it would be great if some automation can be inserted in to the process.
@onepercentbetter

yeah like u mentioned its on posts. not comments :(

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to read this this morning. I agree that these roles need to be filled. I think a lot of us got used to the idea that a company was running things, so expected them to fill those positions. But if we want a decentralized blockchain, we users do have to be the one to fill those roles.

A lot of the time I think that even when we think of it being "we" we are actually thinking of the witnesses. We appeal to them, instead of taking initiative. It is a retraining to stop asking for permission and take ownership (in part) of something you don't actually own (in full).

Steem really needs coordinated marketing efforts to bring in new users. But things move slow here on Steem and by the time marketing is ready than hopefully the sign up process, RC delegation and hivemind should be done as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

things can be slow but I have a feeling we will see some big changes soon, steemit inc already announced the move to hivemind, lets see how quick and with what disruption they can do this. In the mean time, we can all get our thinking caps on on how each of us can play a role

#blockchainbi analysing the STEEM blockchain data. For a while it was running awesome and I even offered many of my premium selling courses for free to those wanting to learn and join the team. That’s what you do in a department right? improve skills so you can improve services. Unfortunately, however Utopian put me out of business, I couldn’t compete with votes and both the tag and the community faded.

I'm sorry for not using this tag and will try to remember to in future.

You sound pretty positive today, 3 Wheatabix this morning was it?

I stopped using the tag to Asher and went after the utopian votes. I even stopped doing 'segmented' analysis because utopian would not pay for them.

Positive vibes all round, enough of the FUD already. Shit happens right :-)

No reason why we cant use the tag with Utopian submissions though I guess. I'll be using it as long as I remember :)

STEEM needs Business Operations, Marketing, Business Intelligence, all the things that go along with a business. But its not steemit incs business. Its OUR business. And its in our control. We have many awesome leaders here with the business skills to help take STEEM to the next level while Steemit inc focus on blockchain development. What we need to do next gather these leaders and just get the ball rolling.

I'm hoping that steem inc refocuses on it's blockchain development and creates an amazing place for apps to grow and prosper. It's the apps that will earn revenue, not steem inc or steemit so that is where the focus needs to be from their side.

From our side we can easily push these apps into the light and bring in the users and the attention that they need to be successful. As you have said with your own followers, we are not ready for the masses yet and this site isn't suitable for a lot of people to join. it can be difficult and frustrating to use. What we need are apps that you don't even know are blockchain based. You log in through steem connect and they will have a wallet but that should be the only difference to your instagram, facebook, twitter, angry birds or whatever it might be. Until we have that, the chain isn't ready for mass adoption.

That is why i'm hoping that steem inc will create the platform for these apps and then we can be ready to join the rest of the people into them and into the wider community as well.

totally !

Its OUR business.

The way i see it, steem blockchain create the backbone and there's so much innovation from various dapp and turning them into potential business. Even those like me who not so technical incline can do something like you mentioned getting into communities/dapps services and monetise our content. For businesses the more outreach the better for leads gen and conversion.

Autopost post from instagram to steemit EASILY, new dapp share2steem | Get daily upvotes from s2s and 287 users who activate unique double curation! | Let’s onboard 1% of insta users, and show them the possibilities with steem !

Awesome. Resteemed. I'm getting set-up with @steempress as well.
How does one open the download? Having trouble installing after I set up my WP account, or adding to settings? Peace and TY

Great approach and thoughts! These are the ideas that will make Steem an entrepreneurial social site that could add value to the communities that participate. The department idea is a great idea and could probably gain traction as more users seek specialization. Look forward to seeing more!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes We are STEEM! Solidarity! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17