Would it be useful to bring back the Steem Daily News? Could the Steem Proposal System be a route to making it sustainable?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I ran the Steem Daily News for almost 150 consecutive days as a spin off from the State of Steem forums.

It was fascinating to do, and I believe it provided a useful service providing a daily summary of all the key happenings on the Steem blockchain.

There is still much going on in the world of Steem but it is very difficult to keep up with everything as there is no single point of reference.

I took a break from Steem for a couple of months to see to family issues, and now I am lost!


I made a post a couple of days ago asking about progress of the Steem Foundation, and tongue-in-cheek enquired about a Steem news service 😃

There doesn't appear to have been anything arise to replace the news service that I ran so I am wondering if it is time to revive it.

It is was great doing the news everyday but it took a lot of time.

To do it properly it needed up to 4 hours every single day.

About 3 hours for sifting through 300 - 400 posts each day, and about an hour for compiling and editing the daily post.

To do this continually was not sustainable - particularly with the low price of steem and going forward with the reduction of author rewards.


There were a couple of suggestions in the comments of my post from @cryptocurator and @gadrian about possible ways to support a daily new service.

One was to apply to the forthcoming Steem Proposal System (SPS).

I don't know much about that now. And I am not sure who to ask.

I know @starkerz, @aggroed and @eonwarped are running the Delegation Committee, but I have no idea who will be overseeing the SPS. If I recall @theycallmedan was going to back it.


There isn't a business model for the Steem Daily News so I am not sure if it would be viable or eligible.

The news service could well be extended to act as an outward promotion, and even PR, tool for Steem.

Anyone got any ideas on this?

Is it viable? How could it be taken forward?


Thank you.


[ graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

I'd definitely support it. I really enjoyed your news post and I often saw things that I otherwise would have missed.

Steem News is now back...

Great to see!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. Hopefully it will gather enough support to get back up and running again soon.

As far as I know, there will be no one in charge of SPS (not even for the donations account). It will all be handled at the blockchain level, by the code created by blocktrades.

Only 5 projects at most will be given a share from the SPS reward pool every day, but can be less, depending on votes. The top of projects to reward will be established based on stake weighted votes, similar to witness voting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the extra information @gadrian.

I guess some sort of guide on how to apply will pop up soon...

Well, I'm sure explanations will pop up right after it will be available on the mainnet and through the popular interfaces.

Yes, I miss your daily news and would love to see it back, but understand the work that must be involved!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm looking for ways to streamline the process a bit further to make it a bit less time consuming.

I'd love to see it come back, was a daily read for me. Maybe I should have upvoted it more. Few thoughts on it:

  1. Obviously, if there is a way to simplify the process that would make it easier and more worthwhile, is it only find the news that takes a long amount of time?
  2. With the introduction of tribes, there is now additional streams of revenue for the type of content that you were producing, maybe not sustainable in the long term, but short term it would provide some value.
  3. Have you thought about a website dedicated for this, owned and operated by you? Obviously, there is a bit of setup, but in the long term, I think it could provide additional revenue through advertisements, as well as providing additional value to the blockchain by providing a curated feed of quality content and actual news. These things take time to grow but might be worth considering, you've got a good platform to build upon.

Good ideas @tobias-g.

I'm a bit out of touch with all the different tribes. Not quite sure how / where a news service would fit in. Any suggestions welcome.

An external website would be a possibility - I will look into that further.

Thank you.

Yes I would love to see it up and running again and hope that you get rewarded for your work. All I can do is give you my upvote.

All support would be welcome, thank you.

All I know is that we need your coverage again. Hope you make it happen, @pennsif Even if on a reduced basis.

Posted using Partiko Android

Steem News is now back...

Hopefully something will emerge in the next few weeks...

It has my support! We need trusted members that can easily bring leaders and communities together as you have been able to!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your offer of support.

I am encouraged to see that people found it useful.

Yes that would be nice, especially if you manged to do it through SPS.

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 140000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 150000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87