This is what scares people off of Steemit...

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I found this because I read about fulltimegeek's continued flagging. Just dumb. Figured I would see what was on his account and I found this on an article he resteemed. Sad.

To all Steem newbies: I promise there are some normal people on Steem.

Sort:  

Meh it may scare some people off at first, think of it like the word "crypto" in general. Many regular folks thought of btc as a weird dark web drug money before they started to understand all the advantages the actual tech had behind it.

I'm still hopeful that more adoption will start to fade out the irregular folks from general view. If not from the blockchain/internet then on front-ends that have certain rules to avoid trolls/certain users.

Right I hope so too. One of selling points of Steem is that there isn't censorship, and that attracts a bit of a strange crowd.

Reading stuff like this does make me motivated to think about how I can improve the platform though. I have been working on growing my steem power and maybe it is time for me to start thinking of building a community on here. I have been trying to think of how I can help this platform become better.

Build! Start small and see what you can start doing once you have more people in your community willing to help, etc. Everyone can be their own community much like streamers have their own following, etc. Here creators can give back to their fans. =)

Community building is not easy, but it is highly rewarding! The best thing you can do is build up people you like, and help them flourish.

Posted using Partiko Android

So people are scared of ultimative freedom of speech?

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps we should embrace it? Perhaps we need to make a new Steem frontend that literally screams in it's banner: "COME ONE, COME ALL. COME CHAT WITH SMART PEOPLE, DUMB PEOPLE, CRAZY PEOPLE, ALL PEOPLE!"

Perhaps people are actually more willing to give a new platform a try if it is just very upfront that it caters to everyone. If the fancy new social media site let's you know before you use it that you are about to encounter a wide variety of dynamic personalities, maybe users will end up feeling more comfortable encountering them. Kinda like, yeah, ok, I know there'll be some crazies & wackos, but I'm safe here. This site understands whose using it & I'm knowing & consenting to interact with whoever may show up.

I don't know, I'm just wondering if people might actually find an honest & somewhat "wild" experience to be refreshing in the age of echo-chamber bullshit that we currently have...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Schubes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79