Ideas to Improve the Steemit Platform - December 13th Edition

in #steem6 years ago

11EF7795-D2B7-4CD6-A00B-D8516966CE1E.png

I had previously started a series of posts with the goal of developing a dialogue within the Steemit community of ways to improve the platform, especially as it relates to new/minnow users. These ideas will be important before we transition into the next phase of Steemit, mass adoption.

It has been a crazy couple of months for me so I have not been posting as much, but previously, I discussed the idea of having a way categorize people you follow into different lists. Please check out that post here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@sepracore/ideas-to-improve-the-steemit-platform-october-31st-edition

In this edition, I would like to discuss the idea of suggested posts. For instance, if you watch movies on Netflix, they will suggest other movies or TV shows based on the type of material you enjoy watching. I would love if steemit would do the same thing. Somehow, it would determine the type of material you enjoy reading and suggest similar posts or more importantly, similar authors. I believe this will help people branch out of their small communities and find new authors to read.

I am not exactly sure how this would be done. I would imagine it would be based on your upvote history and other people’s upvote history. It would also have to be smart enough to determine the topic of the posts, which I guess could be accomplished using the tags. I believe a rough prototype of this could be accomplished pretty easily.

What are your thoughts on this? Thanks for reading. As always, all upvote and resteems are greatly appreciated.

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.25 % upvote from @payforplay thanks to: @sepracore.

Do you think this will work?
The way I see it , steemit is a social media platform to make money.
Yes , we all have specific topics we are interested in , which is travel in my case.
But I don't just stick to upvoting and commenting only on travel posts.
I Upvote and comment on any post that is genuinely good.
So in my case , you're method won't work out. I guess?

It won’t if you only want to get travel related posts since you would also be upvoting a variety of other posts as well. Maybe they could suggest posts by category so you could filter it to travel posts to get what you really want.

Somehow, it would determine the type of material you enjoy reading and suggest similar posts or more importantly, similar authors.

Well that's the hard part! If you could figure that out, you'd have a billion dollar invention on your hands. Categorizing each post with a few tags is easy enough, but the amount of relatively unmoderated content on Steemit compared to a site like Netflix is insane. And determining what type of writing style a user enjoys would be a pretty hard NLP problem as well. Not saying it can't be done, of course, but I sure have no idea where to start :P

Reddit has a "Subreddit of the Day" feature that provides free visibility to smaller and lesser known subreddits. I could see Steemit having a similar feature for lesser known tags as well.

Yes! Very hard. It is easy for me to suggest it, but writing the code is on someone else! Haha. I would like to see subreddit like features. What I suggested could be pretty difficult. Maybe adding in easier to implement features would be a good place to start. For instance, sorting by steem power so you don’t always get a few top whale posts. I am just thinking out loud of course, but there are certainly ways to improve accessibility to more/new authors.

Adding on to that - is there a way to block submissions from specific users or tags? As much as I appreciate what bots like cheetah do for the community, the rollups they publish don't really help anyone. And unfortunately I'm not multilingual so many of the kr posts are of no interest to me.

Nice and awesome post! I followed you, looking forward to see more awesome post in the future. Don't forget to follow me back. I also upvoted this.

(Upvoting this comment will help street children of Manila, Philippines this Christmas season)

14495444_1203217269700872_6307408008899792478_n.jpg

I just followed you :) hit me back thanks

good amazing post as clear as crystal

Really? good job man carry on

wow realy. very important news

Carry on man ...good work
Thumbs up for you @sepracore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86