What are Resource Credits?

in #steem5 years ago

B2603AA0-BC4A-4DAD-A8CB-7293AED9D4EF.jpeg

Hi Steemians

I received a comment about this topic, so I decided to edit and reissue this post.
I hope you find the information helpful.
@shortsegments

New word: Resource Credits?
This term is defined by it’s creators, the software developers who work for Steemit and publish information on their blog called @steemitblog .

Definition: Resource Credits are non-transferable credits given to each account based on how much Steem Power it has, which get “spent” whenever a user transacts with the Steem blockchain.

What function doe this new entity called Resource Credits perform on the Steemit Platform?

They are a form of currency you spend to enact or perform transactions on the platform.

What are Transactions:

They are votes, comments, transfers and power ups. You pay or expend Resource Credits when you perform transactions or interact with the Steemit platform. Each transaction has a specific cost in Resource Credits, if you have enough resource credits to cover the cost, you can perform the transaction.

How much do transactions cost:
These are the costs I see on www.steemd.com:
comments 1,570,000,000
votes 282,000,000
transfers 259,000,000
powerups 259,000,000

If you don’t have enough resource credits you get an error message telling you that you are unable to perform the transaction or interaction. You should also be aware that the cost of transactions varies depending on factors that effect blockchain perform and the available supply of resource credits.

Questions: this is a question and answer section from the Steemit blog.

How do I get resource credits?
Answer: You are given a certain amount of resource credits in direct proportion to how much Steem Power you have. You need at least 15 Steem Power to be awarded any resource credits.

If I spend all my resource credits, do I have to buy more?
Answer: No, resource credits regenerate each day by a certain percentage, which is believed to be 22% and it takes 5 days to fully regenerate your entire allotment from zero.

Can I buy resource credits?
Answer: No they can only be given to you buy Steemit when you buy Steem Power.

Can I give my resource credits to others?
Answer: No, these tokens are non-transferrable, they are attached to Steem Power. But you can delegate part of your Steem Power and the resource credits go with the delegated Steem Power.

Sources
@steemitblog
Steemd.com
Steemit GitHub

0AA1C268-9802-4BFD-A809-32E342897F53.jpeg

Sort:  

I'm glad I have plenty thanks to delegations. :)

Your lucky. I have just enough.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good helpful knowledge about resources credit sharing sir.
Thanks for sharing.

Good explanation about rc i must say. Short, simple and was great

This is a very good explanation of RC. It’s very short but complete. I really feel like I understand it clearly now. Thank you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

RC on steemit is challenging for new adopter. It recharges faster when our steem power is high. RC also, encourage steemians to power up and mind to keep a certain amount of SP after power down.
Peace

Posted using Partiko Android

I got more than enough. But I wonder: doesn't this push new users with (almost) no SP away? Because they can't use the platform?

It does encourage investing in the platform and but the new user has a large amount of RC with a minimum amount of investment. If the new user is very active it does limit their daily participation. But because the RC regenerate daily it doesn’t shut new users out.

A friend of mine tried to register a new Steemit account. It's now already more than 1 month ago. He still doesn't have an active account. Seems like they don't want new members?

Sorry to hear that. When I joined it took over 4 weeks, so I found another way through Anon Steem. The process going through Steemit is slow. But you can do it almost instantly with Anon Steem and it costs about 0.2 litecoun I think
Then you have about 15 SP to start

I think there are a couple other alternative like steem onboarding and others. They vary in price.
They might be cheaper then Anon Steem, but I am not sure.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Resource credit (RC) was introduced during HF 20 and it made difficult to survive for newbies. Thanks for sharing useful information @shortsegments

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to know too, what is resource credit ...

Good information for resource credit. New steemian can understand platform better .

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87