SteemIt Gets An A+ For Community Spirit (dPoll Results And Winner Announcement)

in #steem5 years ago

We all know the community here is different from elsewhere. But the results of my dPoll about loyalty knocked me of my feet.

community.jpg
Source

The Steem Blockchain

I assume it is common knowledge that I fell in love with the Steem Blockchain...
It all started with SteemIt. In spite of all its flaws, it is still my favorite interface. Maybe I'm just nostalgic, but I love this old dinosaur.

But the Steem blockchain is more than just SteemIt. Way more...
New DApps are popping up like mushrooms in a fall forest. It feels like the future is being developed around me, and I can only be amazed by every new application that is launched. There are so many already, and this is only the beginning...

dividerlines.png

(D)App-A-Holic

I guess you can say I'm a (D)App-A-Holic. Whenever a new application is announced, I have this urge to try it out. Share2Steem, DLike, Actifit, Steempress, Steepshot, Zappl,... you name it, I've tried it. (Except for those involving video or audio - I'm too much of a self-critic for that.)

This was no different when I heard about dPoll, an application that has an account based voting system and allows you to create polls.

When I first arrived on the site, I noticed they were running a contest in which the dPoll with the most votes would win. That was the perfect extra incentive to create my very first dPoll.


(By the way, thanks to you all, I also won that contest)

dividerlines.png

The dPoll & The Results

So I got to it. This was the result:

dpoll.png
Click to view the original post


Of course this was a hypothetical question, because it's like @bengy and @mightypanda stated in their comment:

To be perfectly honest, I think the question is quite out of our hands! If STEEM tanked completely, there wouldn't be any revenue or incentive for the people to keep the servers or the witnesses alive. - @bengy

If steem loses all its value, that would mean witness will get 0 return and -100% roi so they will turn off their servers and blockchain dies. People who opting to stay wont have anywhere to stay. - @mightypanda



They are right, of course. Still I thought it would be a nice social experiment to conduct.



For the results, I only took the valid votes into consideration. Valid votes were votes made through the dPoll app.
Although I strongly believe in the community, the results still surprised me a bit.

dpoll results.jpg
Click to enlarge

Even when we take into consideration that this was a hypothetical question in a non-existing situation, I think there is something to say about the feeling of community here on the blockchain.

Here are some of the comments people left:

Value is more than monetary - I still think that steem is a revolutionary system, and if it lost 'monetary' value - like becoming illegal to trade for us dollars, I think we could still create 'barter' communities where we exchange non-monetary value. This includes information, friendship, advice, condolences, encouragement and photographs! (@ecoinstant)

Voted for “I would stay”, because of the community. I’ve met a lot of lovely people around here. And without the crypto value, this is still just a better version of Facebook! (@bjornb)

If the platform was to lose monetary value, that wouldn't mean it had lost its value entirely. As the payouts drop off, I can only hope the massive flood of paste posts dry up, which would increase the average "value" of each post in terms of what people can get from using the website, which in turn could help bring some monetary value back, but it will never be the same. (@calluna)


Of course - I'm not a fool - the question remains if all these people will stay true to what they say. Because when I look at the Steem toolbar at the top of my screen, I see the price of Steem has dropped even more.

steem price today.png
Graphic created withThe Logo Creator 7

I can almost hear all the people that are leaving the platform for this.

Well, I've got an update for you:

The only way to get the price back up is to stay around, doing what you would do if Steem was priced $8, and - if you can - invest in Steem!


After all, this is a bargain.

If everybody starts powering down and leaves the platform, we can say goodbye to this awesome place. Think before you act!

dividerlines.png

The Winners

Price drop or no price drop, I intend to go on like everything is fine. because it will be... eventually.

This means I will be announcing the winners.

These were the prizes I offered in the original contest post

Winners will be selected randomly using the Random Picker App.

1 - 2 participants will each receive 40% of this post-payout

2 - 3 participants will win either a @steemmonsters card, an @incinboost share or a @steembasicincome share. (Winners can choose which of these they would prefer as a prize)


This was the result of the drawing:

winners.jpg
Source

You can see proof of the outcome here.

congratulations.gif
Source



Winners of 40% of the post payout:
@bengy and @movievigilante


Winners of a @steemmonsters card, a @steembasicincome share or an @incinboost share:
@valth, @wholeself-in and @ognustn

dividerlines.png

Prize Distribution

The post paid out 2.577 Steem and 0.01 SBD.

post payout.jpg
Source

Since I already received a reward because I won the dPoll contest, I will send both winners each 50% of the payout, instead of 40%.

@bengy and @movievigilante, you will both receive 1.2885 Steem.

@valth, @wholeself-in and @ognustn, you will receive the price of your choice (either a (common) SteemMonster card, an @incinboost share or a @steembasicincome share. Let me know which one you'd prefer.


IMPORTANT

Prizes will need to be claimed in the comments section below.

I want to avoid sending a prize to someone who has already jumped the ship.

I kindly ask all winners to leave a comment below to claim their prize.

If prizes aren't claimed within 7 days after publication of this post, they will become invalid.



Thanks for joining this contest! Keep an eye out for the next one!






promote.png
Created With The Logo Creator 7

Click to see full-sized image. Right click to download and save.

steemit ad -small.png
Source





signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



All images sourced in the post. Dividers created with The Logo Creator Software

Learn all the basics of the Steem Blockchain with SteemSavvy


steemsavvy468x60.gif





Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



JOIN THE DISCORD


Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem



Sort:  

Hooray, I won! Thank you for the contest.
That's not an easy choice, but I would like the steembasicincome share.
You didn't mention if the Steem Monsters card is alpha or beta, but I've recently decided to sell betas and focus on my alpha deck.
I'm surprised at your results too, but glad!

It would have been a beta...
Congratulations on winning. One SBI share coming your way

¡Hola @simplymike! Felicitaciones a los ganadores, estaré hasta el final, espero que sea mucho tiempo, cariños y besos.

Glad to hear you will be still here when everyone else will have been gone :0)
At least I'll have some pleasant company, then :0D

I have no idea how you did it! It's like it was a magic trick, but you guessed that 06524E08-8183-44D0-8609-2BF542Af5357 is my favourite Hex-based number! In fact, I would even go as far to say that it would be the number that I would have engraved on my headstone... it is my lucky number!

Lmao. But definitely not the lucky number of the tulips :0P
The prize is coming your way ...

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 11.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

A fine poll! Glad you liked my answer - and as far as buying, I am doing what I can!

Hi @simplymike!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.662 which ranks you at #1598 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #61.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07