The 'New Steem'.... Trying Not To Get Lost

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

The Steem ecosystem is developing at warp speed. New communities, new tokens, new front ends pop up like mushrooms. This is supposed to be a good thing, right?

lost.jpg
Source

The Good (??), Old Days

When I discovered the Steem blockchain, in October or November of 2017, there was SteemIt. That was it. As I already stated in my post 'Tokenization of Steem: TRUMP, GOAT and COKE Tokens???' how overwhelmed I was by all the new information I had to process and how it took me while to get the hang of it.

Looking back now, I realize I was lucky to arrive before all hell broke loose....

dividerlines.png

Tokens, Tokens Everywhere

Ever since Steem-Engine was launched, new tokens have been created and distributed almost daily.

I do see how tokenization creates opportunities for both communities and investors/content creators and I'm fully aware that the Steem blockchain is developing at warp speed, growing up faster than any of us had expected.

So far, only good things...

dividerlines.png

But...

You did see this coming, didn't you?

It's not the long list of tokens that bothers me - or better: confuses me.
It's the launch of all these new community-interfaces.

Let's see if I can list them...



Those are just the ones I know about. If there are more, please DO NOT LET ME KNOW about them.



I can totally understand that a community in a specific niche wants to have its own interface, where one's feed isn't cluttered with posts about topics you're not interested in.

And I also get that people want to try out different mechanics, like the 50/50 payout and the downvote pool on Palnet.

But this does make things a lot more complicated.

dividerlines.png

Complication 1 - Tags

Like I said in the beginning: it was hard enough to figure out how SteemIt worked when it was the only interface around.

Learning how to use the right tags to make sure your posts would be found took time. Can you imagine how much harder it has become for a newcomer to learn how to use tags correctly?

In spite of all the new interfaces, we're still limited to only 5 tags. I refuse to think about how many posts that would interest me I will be missing because the publisher decides to use for example #palnet, #neoxian - and don't forget - #newsteem instead of niche-related tags.

I'm going to use both #palnet and #neoxian on this post. I've been using the first one for a while, the second one I consider to be an experiment.


But that's not even the worst. I just visited all interfaces to grab the links, and I noticed a lot of tag abuse is going on already. People are trying to get the most out of their posts, raking in as many tokens as they can. I'm sure the communities will find a way to stop this behavior soon, but for now, ... I didn't notice any consequences for using certain tags for anything other than opportunistic reasons.



If you want some tips about proper tagging in this new Steem ecosystem and how to avoid tag abuse or information overload, drop by the posts @torico and @jongolson published earlier this week:

=> Tagging in the wake of Tribes and Tokens


=> How To Not Lose Your Mind In The Steem-Engine Economy

I've used a SteemForever-link for both posts, so you can still reward the post after post payout, if you would want to.


dividerlines.png

Complication 2 - The Interface

All those sites are created using the same script, so they all look and work exactly like SteemIt.

I completely understand. After all,

  • the design is so very attractive
  • it doesn't look like it was created in the 1970's at all
  • it's such a user-friendly interface

...NOT

Most - if not all - haven't even implemented that awful Google Search engine that I despise so much. No matter how I much I hate the limits of the search ability on SteemIt, it's even worse when there is no search ability at all. Posts are all categorized under 1 or a few tags.

And to top it off...

I keep running into these messages:

not private.jpg



I don't know about you, but if you ask me, this isn't going to build trust and attract a lot of new people...


dividerlines.png

Cutting Some Slack

I realize that all these new developments are still new, both to us users and to the developers, and that I should cut them some slack.

And I do.

But I also think it is important to remind people that one of the main reasons it is so hard to keep people on board is that the Steem(It) experience may be a lot of things, but 'user-friendly' is not one of those.

And everything that is happening right now might be good for the ecosystem in the long run, but we shouldn't forget about the here and now.

Personally, I'm suffering from an information overload. My Steem adventure has always been filled with positive vibes and always gave me the energy to keep on going. However, these last couple of weeks, I feel lost and exhausted. I understand other people's excitement about the recent developments - after all, the Steem blockchain is taking big leaps forward - but I'm too drained of energy to feel it.

While I do have the basics down...

Just sayin'... all these new developments are awesome, but there's still a lot of work that needs to be done, and meanwhile, we need to make sure to not drive people away by making something that's already complicated even more complicated. It'll be a fine line to walk.

But that's just my two cents...





P.S.: I don't mean to be all negative about all this. I believe in the Steem blockchain and its huge potential. All these changes will create new opportunities... for everyone. Meanwhile, just try not to get lost, okay?! ;0)



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


Sort:  

I think search for me has always been the biggest pain point. The Google Custom search really doesn't do a good job, unfortunately. But it is a good way to earn extra revenue I suppose.

While not perfect I do think eSteem has the best search https://search.esteem.app/ for blockchain content and I wonder if it can't be integrated into tribe sites and front ends to improve their content search and it can be refined by only tribe tagged posts, making the search much more effective

I started using eSteem in the summer of 2017 when I first started on Steem and I must give them all the credit for my account being what it is today! I love eSteem search. If you use @ or # you can find anything you are looking for. I am having fun watching the tribes/Tokens that I have decided to use grow and think they will make Steem have more value!

I think search is so important for the chain every day new content is being attached and lose in the ether, Search really helps bring content out of the mire. I only wish more front ends would focus on improving or adapting to eSteem search. I'm sure one day we will have a truly consolidated product and using the chain will be like dream lol until then let's have fun stumbling around in the dark

I must admit I've never used eSteem. I downloaded it a couple of time, but removed it again without using it. I didn't even know about that link you just mentioned. Bookmarked and will give it a try. Thanks!

That search engine is amazing!! I don't understand how I could have missed that all this time...

Lol You've been around the blockchain long enough to know tools are created but never promoted, glad you enjoyed the search its totally killer, I wish it could be rolled out across all front ends.

Searching with handles @ and # tags are also pretty effective, I just wish we could filter searches better and this product would be epic.

For me, the limited markdown and UI is a real turn off. For normal social media posts, it simply should not be that hard to put up and caption photos. For more technical posts, steem needs support for mathjax and html interactive elements, such as plotly graphs. I can create much better posts using github pages and packages like xaringan and bookdown.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Agreed. During these last 20 months, however, I've gotten so used to the markdown code of the SteemIt publisher that I even use it when I'm writing on my WP blog. I taught myself the HTML basics years ago and it has come in useful when styling posts here, but it should indeed not be as hard as it is now to create a good-looking post.

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

I agree that the user interface / getting started / etc... is a bit difficult and frustrating (and let's not forget resource credits, and just getting money in and out of Steemit). But.... that offers a benefit as well. You know that the people that are here want to be here. It requires some work to get here and get comfy. There are helpful people (such as yourself), and you can find a lot via Google... And then you feel that you've earned being here.

It's kind of like if you go to a conference that's free, you get a lot of whiny tire-kickers that will take no action, will find things to complain about, and haven't executed on much... and likely won't. You charge just $50, and you've upped the quality of the people who are going to be there. Charge more, you up it some more.

One dude said to me "There are no warriors without scars." -- I've got my scars, and am still getting some new ones daily. Getting / giving help also forms connections.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to simplymike! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

thanks for the mention, good info here :) the link at the bottom (server invite) is expired tho. might want to update it to a longer expiration or multi use

Thanks for the heads up!
(and the great post earlier this week)

I don't think all the new interfaces/communities spawning are a negative. No-one should expect to be apart of every single aspect of STEEM as that would be unrealistic. Since the popularity of the internet there has always been multiple resources to receive the same info from.

I feel as currently most the communities are side groups from the main interfaces like Steemit so anyone stumbling upon one of the new interfaces likely already know enough about Steem that posting from a new interface won't be too confusing.

I'm not so sure I can say the same for all the tokens being created. I also have no clue if all these new tokens is a positive or negative for the price of STEEM. I suppose all we can do is sit and wait to see what comes of it all.

#palnet #battle #sct #spt

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Battlegames.io
Battletube.io
#BATTLE
@battlegames

For real gaming content !

Yeah, I thought about the Battlegames site about an hour after I published the post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02