Newbies, are you using your Witness votes?

in #steem5 years ago

I seem to be writing more and more about things related to the STEEM blockchain than the topics I usually do and this one is no exception.

Witness voting is the last thing that any new Steemian pays any attention too and as a gamer/blogger/investor your stake will likely to be small and your subsequent influence as a witness voter the same.

Set_for_Katy_Perry's_Witness_Tour_(36757699344).jpg
Source

Witnesses run the blockchain and make sure everything run smoothly, and they get paid in STEEM for doing it.

You can vote or see which witnesses are top of the charts here

In more recent times many operate at a loss and so if you see them powering down, don’t think badly about them. The money must come from somewhere to run all the hardware etc, and this is one way they can pay for it.

There’s a top 100 witnesses list and from what I gather the ones in the top ten do quite well in terms of STEEM. How about the ones outside the ten, the ones in the bottom half of the one hundred, or even the ones outside the top one hundred?

A few have dropped out in the last few months, likely because it’s costing them an arm and a leg to run the nodes.

image.png

What I would like to know particularly from the lower half is what effect an Orca has if it dropped one of you? How about a Dolphin? Is the effect noticeable?

To everyone else especially the smaller fish, are you using your witness votes? If not, which ones would you vote for?

If you don’t know the answer to the last question then consider it politics.

When there’s an election, some candidates knock on your door and ask you to pledge their support. There might be several candidates but who are you going to vote for? All votes have the same weight in this scenario.

steemfest.png
Source


@roelandp is currently asking people if they would attend SteemFest 4 if it was to exist. Considering the last one was in November 2018, he's thinking waaaayyy. ahead!

In the STEEM world, not everyone is equal. The more STEEM you possess, the weightier your vote but witnesses will take the smaller votes as well as the bigger ones. They love the bigger ones more and for good reason.

image.png
Source


@mahdiyari runs the excellent auto-voter that almost everyone seems to use, he is definitely worthy of my vote for providing this great FREE tool for everyone

Consider what ethics each witness possesses before you give them your vote.

Are they hosting events such as Steemfest (@roelandp) or providing useful services like SteemAuto (@mahdiyari), lending a helping hand to newbies as a reward for writing outstanding content (@curie) or maybe providing a dApp like eSteem Surfer (@good-karma)?

You may meet witnesses as events such as SteemFest, and then it can get a little personal.

Did they talk to me, did they just pretend to be interested in what I had to say or was it genuine, or did they just walk past me looking like a grumpy bear?

You can get a feel of what some of them are like in their blogging. Do they respond to comments or is the communication all one-way?

image.png


@good-karma's baby is eSteem Surfer which is an alternative dApp to Steemit. You can download the app here, and they may just vote your post for using it. Beware, they do take a 10% cut of your rewards.

I would say to you, have a good look at what the top thirty witnesses are doing before you give them your vote. There are many more outside this group who are doing things that are good for STEEM and don’t get a lot of attention.

The top 20 witnesses list can be quite volatile. People remove witnesses perhaps because they are not active enough or they feel the direction or opinion they are taking is against their principles, or maybe they have simply pissed them off for one reason or another.

Use your own instincts and judgement and don’t follow the crowd. Because @blah.de.blah is the number one witness, doesn’t mean he/she deserves your vote.

image.png
Source


@curie give huge upvotes mostly to newbies or accounts that earn little in rewards. Don't attempt to try and bait them as they will find you. If you do create great stuff, then expect visits from @curie. Even I still get one occasionally!

Use your 30 votes and ensure the ones you vote for keep to the principles they had when you voted for them.

If they don’t, take away the vote and choose someone who does.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I used to manually vote all of my witnesses, but I found that I was not takign full advantage of all of my votes. I spent a good deal of time reviewing the witnesses that Block Brothers supports and after some careful thought I proxied my vote to them. I feel like it is a better use of my vote since I am not wasting any of them or voting on specific witnesses just because I need to fulfill my quota.

Good post. You are right voting for witness is like electing your politicians... it is one of the most important tasks for a responsible steemian.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @toofasteddie, though due to the stake based weighting this image always spring to mind...

Even we cats can vote :X

Hi mildred :)

Hi to you too! :X

Meow.

Small accounts can have a big effect between them if all of them place their votes.

This guy provides such an important service and yet IMO doesn't get the rank he should.. I would like to see him higher up.

Ah, I see :)

So many different aspects to this site, it’s hard to keep track but I’m excited to utilize all these resources!

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is a lot to take in, but you will get there.

It took me months to understand the importance of my witness votes and after Hard Fork 20, I became very active to ensure my votes were as purposeful as possible as it was an event where a couple definitely showed up. I did not realize who was behind Steem Auto so I think I have space on my votes for @mahdiyari!

Posted using Partiko iOS

think I have space on my votes for @mahdiyari!

Excellent, he does not seem to be that active but when his app goes wrong, he's very quick to fix it.

I try to use all my votes and once a month I try to make the time to check through my Witness votes and make adjustments as needed, I took a while to build up to using all my votes as I wanted them to be meaningful votes

One of mine dropped off yesterday (@utopian-io), so I now have a free one again. Haven't decided who's gonna get it yet.

OK Maybe I need to relook at my list today as I think they were one of my votes

Cheers, you just gave me someone to replace @utopian-io with since they disable their witness, I'll for @mahdiyari

Cool! I also have a space for the same reason and since @mahdiyari is already on my list, I'll have to see who's going to get it.

Much appreciated

Thanks for the reminder. I need to seriously spend some time and work on this :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 456 (04/14/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10