Steem needs better feeds: How to build better broadcasting and receiving systems.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

17a32cbd06d57f47e316beb3a9eb9e77.jpg

A while back I decided I wanted to keep a separate steem account. I feel it's easier to manage posts this way, keep things clear and cohesive.

The upsides to this is that you can maintain expectations with your follower base. A shift or influx of posts in my feed that I didn't sign up for can be a fast track to unsubscribing for me. Instead of transforming my current blog, which is rather sparse and has a focus on supporting other artists in new forms of distribution, then into an aggressive stream of my own art seems disingenuous. So I created the account @solrasol so I can keep these two things separate for my followers and for readability of my own stream that I am putting out.

However after trying out this experiment, having to rebuild a whole new set of followers is quite a lot of work and unless you have a very specific plan and don't mind furiously networking, this isn't an avenue I would suggest. I really wish instead there were better tools for subscribing to threads on one account. This isn't a problem exclusive to steem but different social media handles it in different ways.

So for an example of a system that I think would work better, maybe you don't want to read these silly ramblings of mine, but would like to see the art I make (Let's pretend for a moment that I'm posting all my art on this account). A smart feed system would allow you to subscribe to content based on how it is labeled. Ever get annoyed with the re-steems someone makes? Your feed subscription system should be able to easily filter them out.

Big Brother social media uses AI to "curate" your feed to keep your attention based on years of testing on you. Steem from it's inception tried to solve this problem through Proof Of Brain which has failed miserably (I like to call it, Proof of Ring Voting). It would be relatively simple for steem to introduce better filters however. All it takes is another set of labeling tools for content creators, and then label and tag filters in subscriptions for viewers. This doesn't even have to happen on chain, it could be an entirely second layer solution.

Maybe some of these solutions already exist and I have missed them? let me know if you have heard of tools trying to address this on steem.

Are there other social media platforms or publishing platforms which handle these problems in a way you think works nicely?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02