What does the Founder of a non-Steem crypto app think of Steem?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: What does the Founder of a non-Steem crypto app think of Steem?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

This is the importance of a well educated community that can spread knowledge of our ecosystem that continues to expand quickly. The push to take this outwards and promote whether it be Twitter or another like the recent addition to Wikipedia, is a start!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The biggest thing we can do for Steem's growth is chastise everyone who continues to open a post with "Hey Steemit!"

I know Steemit is the gateway interface, but that can change. There are far better ones out there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe - well, there will always be people experiencing the Steem Blockchain only through 1 app. Maybe people will only ever use steemmonsters.com or steemit.com or drugwars.io or the Partiko app on their phone. So saying 'hi' to the community of your app is okay.

But I do get your point. We should teach/educate about Steemit, Steem and the beautiful app landscape 'out there'. I would leave the chastising to the 'older' better educated Steemians who still use Steemit as a synonym for Steem... That makes me just go:

Yeah, my comments were more directed towards those non-noobies with reputations greater than 60 that still do this. :)

I am working on an education piece for future potential steemians in my city as a way of helping with onboarding.

It remains interesting, too how people outside the eco system see it as a two dapp race.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought you meant 'them' too :D They're a special class of Steem Citizens...

I'm excited to hear you're active in your city and creating something to help with onboarding! There's a few projects around too that are busy thinking about how to onboard Steemians 'better', like @steemonboarding and @steemsavvy, who knows if they could use your stuff as well, or you theirs...

I organize meet-ups in my city and although some 'fresher' Steemians join I have not yet started to actively onboard people here. Would be curious to see what and how you're doing that though! :-)

Good luck with that!

Face to face support is the most important. I'm onboarding someone later today. I'll be sure to Resteem their intro post when it is done.

I attend regular steem meets here, and it's our best way of supporting and mentoring each other, and as much as we hate the word around here, centralizing our recruitment powers!

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't used steemit for anything except it's wallet since the first week I signed up...

Posted using Partiko Android

Just curious, what apps did you use instead of Steemit? :-) And did you know about them before you signed up?

I knew nothing about blockchain, crypto, or what a dapp was etc. when I signed up.

I believe Sida offered partiko as an alternative on my introduction post and after about a week of suffering with steemit I gave it a try and never looked back.

I'm a mobile only user both iOS and droid and my UX especially using droid on steemit takes me back to dial up days of old. IPad isn't much better so out of necessity I had to find another front end.

It's amazing that steemians generally push back and tell me to do this or do that and that I should essentially show steemit more respect lol.

I'll then explain how the half dozen friends and family I tried to get onboard gave up after steemit wouldn't even load for them to start the waiting game.

Even when I'm forced to go to steemit to power up this often has glitches and takes multiple attempts..Everything else on my devices works famously it's just steemit.

I'm aware of all the other front ends but I'm cozy with @partiko and have no reason to venture out, though I did try steev but it was also a bit wonky and has a super stretched thin staff.

I heard about steem from word of mouth here in Malaysia and then discovered it was a mostly isolated and self contained universe of information and tech I was oblivious to before.

I appreciate and applaud your efforts to export to steem to the masses. I feel I pretty well represent a normal non tech 2019 target audience that came merely for the opportunity to post whatever and not feel restricted. Zero motivation to earn money.

My experience here has absolutely changed my perception to a long term big picture that will require us all to take baby steps together..

If anyone takes anything from my perspective I'd hope it's that most people want to use their mobile device most often. Sure, coders, devs, bloggers etc have computers and first world isp but the rest of us potential consumers or whatever we will be called do not.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is how I use to think until @broncnutz made me more aware. I'm feeling myself become more committed as I participate and see the integrity of the site.

Wow...
The first statement, which of course you highlighted in the preview of this post, is mindblowing indeed.
In his defense. To the outside world dtube is the most branded Steem dapp, because it is often used to attract creators and the name (youtube > dtube).
But, you would expect someone in such a position to know the top 10 dapps on stateofthedapps.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe - yes, I'm trying to defend him a little at the end of my post as well :-) It is incredibly educational for us as a community to learn what non-Steemians actually know about Steem.

As our addition on stateofthedapps.com has helped us enormously to get our name 'out' and even 'compared' with some other big names, it takes a while for people to really integrate this with they perception of the crypto landscape.

I would have expected him to maybe be more knowledgeable as well, but maybe this just shows us how everyone is just building their own 'thingy' and not looking over the fence to other blockchains that much...

(Something we should change, because heck, we should work together and make our projects huge cross-blockchain-successes imho)

So true.

Even for most of us on the platform there are so many dapps we haven't tried, so we can't assume that non-steemians know about it as well.

As for everyone building their own thing. I guess that is the problem in these type of young markets. I really wonder what @dan's take on this is. Also if there will be an EOS version of Steemit that at some point gradually destroys what he has built here.

Personally I'm really happy with current developments, in the sense that a year ago the amount of steem dapps wasn't nearly as impressive as it is now.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 31.50% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @soyrosa! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is cool! I really think it’s good to have people not in the “bubble” giving their opinion! It is very easy to get somewhat blinded when not challenged by outsiders.

Staying humble and always assume that per definition what you are doing isn’t per se the right thing keeps you openminded!

Thanks for sharing this stuff is more important than some of us think! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it's long been said that STEEM has a marketing problem—that beyond the initial stages of the token distribution, people don't know a whole lot about STEEM, other than from the flim flam artists that were selling it on YouTube. I think people have tuned out, which apparently includes industry people and competitors (either that, or Mahbod is trying to downplay what STEEM has—except when it comes to stealing users away).

Regardless, there needs to be a rebranding, I think, a serious, united front. Something like, "I am STEEM," with video testimonials or something. However, it works out, there needs to be a human face put on STEEM, more than Ned or Steemit.

I'm so glad you mentioned how long it took you to grasp the wholeness of the Steem blockchain. I feel better now.

I listened to the interview and find this guy very uninformed and arrogant.
Well, strange enough his famous app is No.: 114 on app list with 44 daily users. And his masterpiece coin with a superb name invented by genius himself I think is listed on a single exchange I never heard of.
But hey. Who am I to judge him?

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85