YO! Rome Wasn't Built In A Day, But It Burned In One - Let's Put The Torches Down & Keep Building STEEM

in #steem5 years ago (edited)


Take a minute to really read this one.

Many of us have put a lot of quality time and effort into building our presence within the Steem community (and into the community itself).

Some have spent months, some have spent years. Some at their leisure, some full-time. All by choice.


This magical blockchain is something we can't physically touch, but it's important to us for whatever it represents to each of us individually. Only you know what those reasons are, but they're what keep us here.

We run on mana these days. This requires faith.


Most of us strive to create value and utility for the chain to help it develop. We also strive to earn and reward from it. It's a great opportunity from any way you look at it, that has actually changed many lives. It will continue to do so as long as we work together constructively.

We're all connected here and there's no denying that.

The ecosystem and landscape is constantly changing, so if anyone tells you they've got it all figured out, they've got it wrong.

I think this is something even the most difficult people can agree on.



Over my 18 months here, I've seen people grow from crypto and social media novices into masterminds that wow me every day. It's been fun to watch people develop and succeed. I've been lapped a few times, but I'm not a vlogger and chose to earn all my Steem.

I've seen many people come and go... Haven't we all? We have over a million accounts, but only a fraction are active today.

I had over 50 people in my daily fitness challenge back in the day, and almost all of them are long gone from Steem. It's sad because many of them were such good people. I experienced the potential of Steem with my first tight-knit community that I started! I learned what true engagement was before they had "an app for that."

Others praised Steem, but vanished when the price wasn't worth their time or it got too hard.


Some may have needed a breather to recharge. I can understand this.


Then there are The Faithful...


Whether they're passionate, dedicated, full-time, addicted, stubborn, tech wizards, profiteers, or fiscally handcuffed, they're still here grinding through the tough times.

I respect these people, the true core of our revolutionary army here. Thank you for staying.


Caveat Lector:

The title of my post is for those who have put in the work and care, but who've gotten sidetracked from what we're building.

After all of our hard work to establish ourselves within the community, in the roles and niches we best see fit, we should protect what we've earned.

Who knows what these roles will expand to in the future:


On the contrary, we can burn everything we've built to the ground and lose everything overnight.


What take times to build doesn't take time to fall apart. Steem has had some rough times, but it has endured. However, I've seen many individuals self-destruct at the same time.

Everyone has different values, but I'd imagine that almost all of us here want Steem and its greater vision to succeed.

If we want to be a healthy part of that, we need to act the part.

There will always be disagreements, wrongdoings, battles and wars. Drama and infighting is unavoidable.


While certain issues definitely call for attention and effort to resolve, sometimes it's best to let the others or aftermath burn out on their own before they spread.

There are no winners in a toxic spiral of infighting, no matter who started it, or who is right. Trolls will always do what they do best, and it's up to us to make them have less of an impact.

More harm than good is a certainty in this scenario, whether it's for those involved personally, or the larger community that's brought down by the negativity.

I feel it at times. I try to tune it out. But, you can't always avoid it. It shows you what people are made of and what they're not, but this is important because they're all part of the foundation of a very close community. We need our foundation to be strong to support future growth.

Whether we like it or not, many people are public influencers around here for outside investors or new users, and could possibly benefit from this simply reminder. If this was was so obvious, we'd see people treating each other better at this time.

We need to keep our eyes on the prize, our goals, and continue to see the forest through the trees. You know, all of that positive energy and focus jazz.



So, what's the secret to help with this?

Be the bigger person and don't respond to people once they show you that they're irrationally unflappable.

Let haters talk in circles with themselves.

Don't let them drag you down to hold you back from lifting others up.

Eventually they'll get bored and find someone else to harass, while you'll be clear-minded, happier, and able to focus on the bigger picture again.

Set the right example for others, potentially millions of others down the line.

Our goal is the first picture, and we can get there if we don't act in incendiary ways in the direction of the second one.



Thank you,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

from what I'm smelling it smells like things are gonna go through the roof! <3
I can be wrong! :D

I’m only commenting to applaud you, as I feel you are spot on.. but also to show “ignoring” people sometimes doesn’t work.. as I ignored flags, continued curating and commenting and working behind the scenes and now if I try to continue that.. the post is spammed.

Now, I can’t just continue on ... as me commenting on a post ruins the post. Which means the 60-100 comments I leave a week while curating now can’t happen. So I can either go silent or only comment of posts of trolls .

So what now? I’m at a loss of how to just continue on after this to be honest... and you’ll see why with the spam that follows.

Anywho, I’m really sorry to ruin your comment thread... I think you’re right, and I think it needs to stop. But I also think it will only stop when we as a community come together to say it’s not ok, all of it.. because ignoring it doesn’t fix the problem unfortunately.

Sending love your way ❤️

What now? I think your traditional positive comments are worth the extra click to read, and a few auto-replies don't ruin posts. Steem the heck on. Black and white, extinguishing conversations with your usual kindness will resolve this over time. Don't let random strangers coax you into changing your uplifting ways in the meantime, noting that this can be very challenging.

Or you can listen to a relaxing Sia drum cover about rising above this I made the other day, with a soft Band Of Horses' Funeral cover as the backup, while writing a blog post about your homesteading or photography.

It'll all work its way out. Thanks for your thoughts and support.

The best thing you can do is build up the people you want to see on the platform. Don't waste your time tearing down the people you don't want to see. It wastes your time, and if they're just there to troll people, you took the bait.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, you’re spot on.. and this is normally my attitude.. I guess it’s just harder to ignore when they follow you around and mention you 20+ times a day.. I think I just hit my limit and trolled back.. as all my comments were flagged and hidden anyways. But that’s not what I want here or what I want to do, need to get back to the important stuff. Thanks for the advice.

Very well said. Thanks for contributing here.

When did you start getting trolled? Sorry to hear this, no idea that was occurring!

Great post. Nothing to add. So I won't. Oh shit. I said words without saying something.

You continue to make me laugh with your clever little lines. I'm lost for words at your wit. Wait, I can't be if I'm still typing.

True words! The fighting is sad and unfortunate but it’s a result of the human condition alas.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is all new to me but you seem pretty solid in your thoughts to me. Maybe you should change your name to TeamPlayer.

The team is growing and you're on it now if you'd like to be! Thanks for reading and the thumbs up.

Well said!

Although is that army giff allowed these days? Looks like something from 1970s British comedy.

Thanks. Is the gif on a list of don’t use these army gifs I missed? Definitely looks like vintage British comedy, with everyone expressing their personalities, which is why loved it.

It derives its humour from derogatory gay stereotypes - back in the day that downward hand motion was used to suggest someone was gay or a 'poofta' being more likely to the language used, it certainly wasn't a gesture used in a 'he's gay and so what that's ok' sort of way.

But I guess these days it could just be interpreted as people expressing themselves.

It's the kind of clip that would be cut from a re-run in the UK!

Posted using Partiko Android

Whoops. I see what you mean in hindsight. I just saw it as some general humor. I don’t want to push the envelope, so I’ll find a safer replacement for it soon. It was on giphy. Thanks for the follow up.

I wouldn't worry too much about it, you may not be familiar with the cultural meanings from the 1970s!

Down to age I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05