What It Means to Be a Dolphin

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: What It Means to Be a Dolphin


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Great post! As you know, I recently jumped into dolphinhood (the neologisms I swear) and also abandoned the dream of getting there with earnings. I think I will stop self-upvoting now because I take this new responsibility pretty seriously. I hope 1 dollar Steem is in the cards by April 2020!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I'm sure we would have gotten there, just a question of when. Same goes for the steem price, so I'm not worried. April '20? That sounds pretty damn exciting! Let's make it happen!

Regarding self-voting, I know, there are many opinions out there, but I've come to terms with it a long time ago, and I don't see anything wrong about it. Here's my justification:

  • It's MY steem (okay SP) and I do with it what I want. I never expect anything less or more from anyone else.
  • An auto-vote shows me and others that I take pride my own work. Nothing wrong with pride.
  • It doesn't have to be a 100% vote, but something that I'd be happy with getting from others too, or something I believe would show any other post that I appreciate it.
  • By adding value to my own post, I also increase the reward split between all curators.
  • I only self-vote my posts, not my comments. In fact, I also reduced the wight of the votes I give to others' comments. However, a 10% upvote on a comments lets me and others know that I have read it, even if I don't leave a reply.

This is of course just my own reasoning for myself, and I don't expect anyone to follow it, unless they want to (see first reason). And sure, my decision can always be changed, and I'm open and ready to be convinced otherwise.

It is without a doubt tempting to upvote one’s self. Your arguments make a lot of sense, after all, upvoting is entirely allowed as per the UI.

After giving it some thought, I may not stop all together but I still think it’s important use our SP to add Value to the platform. These days, I am enjoying support and visibility that I would have never thought possible after years of persevering.

The best way for me to honor this privilege is to uplift as many people as I can so I prioritize upvoting others over myself at this point.

I ask you, would your arguments be any different if you were a whale and your upvote was worth 5 stu? Could it be that you would be taking something away from others by giving yourself a full upvote? I think it’s useful to think about these things as though delegations didn’t exist and we were accountable for all of our SP.

Congrats with the dolphin status! Lovely to see more and more people join the ranks. Dolphins are probably one of the most important in the steem eco-system simply because there's many and all their votes matters quite a bit for the smaller fishes

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats. I own a dolphin account, and it was cool to get the badge.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28