I'm Steem Depressed (and not for the reasons you think)!

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Prices have been tanking across the cryptoverse and instead of selling and running, I bought more Steem because of the bargain deals.

I don't see disaster. I see opportunity

But I feel down and here's why ...

The creative juices aren't flowing.

Well, they are flowing, but just not as much as I want. I have been struggling of late to find topics that I really want to write about.

My goal is to create quality content, so it bothers me when I reach the end of a day and I have not had a creative epiphany or an "aha" moment. It concerns me that when evening time rolls around, I am tempted just to post "something". I don't want to do that!

Content is king or queen (depending on who you ask). I want to make sure that my content is great. I want it to be an expression of my creativity. I want it to serve others.

I am still trying to find a community I can invest in.

Sure, I have joined 15 plus Discord channels, and I am a part of several community-centered Steem accounts. Shoot! I have even tried to start some groups of my own.

But being a name on a list of names does not make you a member of a community. I want to find a place where I can invest in others (and be invested in). But you know what? Community requires time and effort. It requires sacrifice. And though I want to be apart of a Steem community, I must prioritize the people who are in my home, those I see face-to-face on a daily basis.

Dear Steem friends, I do want to know you more, support you more, and invest in you more. When I find the right place, I will be there for you.

No one even wants my free online course.

Ok, that was a bit dramatic. Close to one hundred people have signed up, and for that I am grateful. But man, I want to change the lives of thousands of Steem users.

Deep down, I think all of us want to make a difference. I sure do!

Intrigued? Go check out Steem Markdown.

If it helps you on your Steem journey, tell a friend or two (or ten).

More Steem Power doesn't mean happiness.


Steem is the lowest it has been in a while. I don't see a disaster. I see opportunity. So I bought more!

But you know what? I don't feel happier because I have increased my Steem power. I don't feel more fulfilled.

In fact, searching for happiness in all the wrong places, makes you dive deeper into a ... funk.

I know I need a mentor, but I have not found him/her yet.

I have not made it. And when I do (and it will be a long journey, by the way), I will not have done it on my own. I am looking for someone who has walked the Steem journey. I am looking for some who is a few steps down the road than I am.

I want to see her example and follow it. I want to watch his engagement and mirror it.

Dear mentor, I know you are out there. Maybe we have not met yet. Maybe we have. But when it is time, we will know.

Final Thoughts

Wow, that was therapeutic!

So the power of writing a Steem post has done it again. I was a bit down when I started writing, but by the end (yep, we are nearing the end), I feel better. Now I have a slight glimmer in my eye and a bounce in my step.

Everything perfect? Nope! But it doesn't have to be.
Striving for more? Yep! Step by step and day by day.

Thanks for stopping by. Let me know your thoughts in the comment section.

@SumatraNate


More About My Steem Projects

image source: bitmoji app Like This Post?
Upvote, Comment, Resteem
Want More Like It?
Follow My Steem Blog!
Learn how to format your Steem posts so that your great content looks great!
image source: pixabay Wanna Join The Best Birthday Party On The Steem Blockchain? Click here for more details!
Sort:  

I realise that you are now a dolphin, which is very-very cool! This will give you more exposure, and you have no reason for being depressed! Be cool, and keep going! I like your content!

@steemmillionaire, I appreciate your comment and encouragement. I am glad that you like my content.

I recently purchased enough Steem Power to level up. I believe the Steem blockchain is worth investing in. I look forward to​ seeing what role I will play as Steem continues to grow.

Thanks so much! Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming.

"I don't see disaster. I see opportunity" - This is the vision that the majority of people don´t have and that's why FUD spreads so fast and stayed for so long. I share your vision, I haven´t bought much, because I don´t have the possibility to do that, but this prices are a dream of everybody (like me) who joined when the price was well above $1.

I feel your "pain", I´m also little bit steem depressed, but it as nothing to do with the prices. I haven´t found still what's causing this...

@diogosantos, I really believe that Steem prices will increase again. Steem is a very new project that has accomplished a lot, but there is still a lot of room to grow. I look forward to seeing how the next hardfork turns out.

Keep looking for what is making you down. Sometimes you just need to talk to someone about it. I found that after I wrote this post, I was able to clearly​ understand what I was feeling. And a lot of people came and encouraged me as well.

Exactly, let's see how much will the hardfork help the price.

Your post definitely made me think on a wider scheme of things.

Ok, that was a bit dramatic. Close to one hundred people have signed up, and for that I am grateful.

Awww, but I think 100 people who signed up is great! Congrats!

@diabolika - You are right. 100 is great. I guess I was feeling down because I was looking at life through a pity-party shaded glasses. After I was able to process my thoughts, I have been able to get out of the funk I was experiencing.

I say because I don't even get subscribers to my website. It's still new though.

But yes, I hope you get more in the future! If not, it's fine. :)

We all have good days and bad days. Don’t be steem depressed. Writing is very therapeutic and if you don’t have a subject, write a Ulog. What you did today. It works for me 😊

Thanks for the kind words. I completely agree that writing is therapeutic. In generally prefer to state facts, but I have found since I joined Steem, writing about what I am feeling is equally important.

It is very true, I feel the same. 😊

And though I want to be apart of a Steem community, I must prioritize the people who are in my home, those I see face-to-face on a daily basis.

I think that is the most important line in the whole post except for the "must". If you don't actually want to do that, then why would you?

I think it's harder now to be part of a community because there seems to be less and less engagement here. A number of the people I used to "talk" to regularly have left.

The positive side of that for me is that it's easier to balance time on Steemit with my outside life.

I am just taking each day as it comes as I think SMTs will have a big impact. Who knows what will be created as a result of them?

I think the most important thing is to enjoy your time here and not set up too many rules for yourself.

That "something" you are tempted to post but with hold may be just what someone wanted to see.

I've made a number of posts that I judged as not good enough but posted anyway and was surprised by how interested people were in them.

Relax and enjoy the journey. It's your journey. No-one elses.

I would encourage you to experiment, drop what you think you know and have fun.

Note to self: you teach best what you most need to learn! 😂

Wishing you a wonder full weekend!

@gillianpearce - By the end of the post, I was feeling better. But your comment has uplighted me even more.

Using the word must was not the best choice. "I will prioritize" or "I choose to prioritize" would have been better choices. I get the same feeling as you in regards to engagement. Even though it feels a bit "thin" around here, we have a great opportunity to strengthen bonds between those of us who are still around.

And you make another good point. Some of the content I thought was just ok, was received better than some of my favorite posts. Since I write for me, I want to make sure I feel comfortable with what I create, and if my content is validated by others then that is a cherry on top.

I have seen you around @qurator for a long time now. Just realized I had not been following you, so I decided to make it official - now following. Sorry it took so long.

But your comment has uplighted me even more.

That's nice to hear @sumatranate. I'm glad it had that effect, 😊

we have a great opportunity to strengthen bonds between those of us who are still around.

I couldn't agree more . And with fewer people around it makes it easier because it doesn't take as long to reply to those I want to reply to. 😊

now following.

me too! 😁

More STEEM doesn't auto-mean more attention either. Though if I suddenly bought a million STEEM and started splashing out votes to the Orca's, I wonder what the result would be? I have thought about this in the past.

@slobberchops, completely agree. You would have to be splashing with some major players to get high-level​ attention. Most of us will never experience that.

You may want to join the Buddy Up community. Or maybe you already did, I am not sure.

I had joined the Buddy Up discord channel a while ago, but did not have permission to write an intro in "the puddle." Your message reminded me to follow-up. I just left a message in the general chat so hopefully I will hear back soon.

Do not get depress about steem 'cos your greater day is closer my friend @sumatranate

I think that good days are ahead for all of us. Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!

Thank you sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed reading this post. Thanks for being open. I feel and have felt similar feeling in Steemit. I’m working on a few projects right now. I hope they keep growing.

Good luck!

Thank for your kinds words. Your projects have not gone unnoticed by me. I really appreciate how you try to improve community engagement with @dosdudes.

One thing I have noticed is that when we start projects for others, sometimes we stop looking for help from people who have more experience than us. Well, I guess I can't speak for you, but I feel that way.

Keep pressing forward. Keep reaching up and reaching out. Keep Steeming!

I really want to have the talent to write like you !
Following you :3

https://steemskills.teachable.com/p/steemmarkdown <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23