A collector's edition

in #steem5 years ago

When I was 8, my friend and I collected pencil shavings in a plastic bag and even had others in our class donating them to us to the point we had to upgrade to a very big plastic bag. It was fun but we got to a point where it just got boring. That point was when we realised the bag we were holding was worthless.

I have never collected anything since.
Until Steem.

While originally I wasn't planning on holding a bag of Steem, once I recognized the potential of the platform and the industry as a whole, it really was the only option. Steem is more than a staked voice, it is also a tool to build with, to encourage, to empower. While the pencil shavings had no utility past a short-lived fire, Steem is highly versatile and growing daily in its capabilities.

While I don't know where this all will lead, what I do know is that of the Blockchain, crypto and Steem industry has a future, I want to be part of it as more than just a consumer. Writing has given me a creative bug and I see Steen Power as a creative force. Even at a technical level SP allows me to create as well as aid the creative process of others and as the ecosystem grows, so will it's range and strength.

I see it that at some point I am going to be able to use SP to develop or take part in the development of all kinds of projects and initiatives that could add to the betterment of our world. Potentially with such a diverse set of empowered users, Steem powered initiatives could dot the world to make profound differences in people's lives.

For me, this is part of the long game of Steem and should probably be a fundamental component of the general crypto industry as it is only when the industry can show across borders and barriers that it is truly better, will it be widely accepted as the go to governance system.

But the long game requires a short and intermediate game and that is where the investment happens for the future results. Screw up the short game significantly and the future envisaged becomes impossible and the future always becomes the present eventually.

I think a lot of people fantasize about the what ifs but don't necessarily break it down into the resources required for a shot at it. What value, skills and of course what kinds of people are necessary to accomplish long goals, to get there. Who is important when traveling and even on a decentralised trustless Blockchain, who one works with matters, as do who one associates with.

I am not talking about death or glory by association, I am talking about the mind that gets influenced by peer groups and cultural norms within them. Spend enough time in a cultural silo and soon the habits of the individual are indistinguishable from the habits of the group.

Do you spend your time around people who believe the world can be better, or those who believe it will always be the same? If you are in a position you would like to improve upon, you better hope that the first group are right and, join them to work toward it as it is your only chance for change.

Being part of the second group is fine too but, it means that it is filled with people who either do not recognize how far we have come or, think this is as far as we can come as a species. Going on the past changes, it is a pretty big call to say no more change is possible.

As I see it, the future is uncertain because change is possible which is why investment into that change is possible also. I'd rather be an active part of my future than a passenger who is unwilling to take the wheel.

I collect Steem as the fuel for my journey and, it sure as hell is more useful and interesting than pencil shavings.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted on phone in the darkness)

Sort:  

I think SP delegation feature is pretty powerful and innovative. It enables us to be part of a bigger project. It catalyzes the community to think bigger than themselves. Of course delegation can be abused but for the most part it offers more good than harm to our blockchain, in my opinion.

It is an innovative approach to development and I think that it is going to become a common place way to invest and grow businesses later.

Agree. I like it too. It gives me the power to invest in a good cause without actually risking anything at all...

Posted using Partiko Android

It will be interesting what type of bag we are holding in a few years from now. I am sure it will be varied with loads of Steem and various other tokens. There has to be some value somewhere.

I am hoping it doesn't all turn into pencil shavings :D

I reallocated all of my crypto into two projects, one being Steem for many of the reasons you mentioned!

Honestly, I've used Steem more than any other blockchain and feel good that I get to seem my investment work for me/ garner some influence right before my eyes. Way easier for me than to invest in an idea or a project with little adoption

It is a positive and negative of Steem to be able o actually use the blockchain for more than transactions and see value work for (or against) us. One of the problems with transparency is we see more of the truth of economy and bad actors within.

The transparency of it all I believe is the biggest turn off. Def breads hopelessness smh. But I hope that we are a little more distributed now and find strength in everything that's going to drop in the next few months on the blockchain!

I am a collector of many things, hoarder in fact which is probably why I have become passionate about Steem currently as it is incredible the opportunity to accumulate at this point in time! The potential is great and to be able to participate and grow is an engaging experience that demonstrates the value that is being created here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you going to end up on one of those Hoarder shows... "This man hasn't let go of his Steem for 25 years..." :D

Nice photography and thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75