My neck of the woods

in #steem6 years ago

Today, I was talking with @galenkp who was asking about @steemmonsters and whether it was something he needed to be looking into. Well, I don't know because, I am not very interested in games like that but, that doesn't mean it isn't important to me. my brother was saying that there is so much going on that he just can't keep track of it and I reassured him, that is okay. Not only is it okay, it is the way it has to be for Steem to begin to deliver on its promise.

Steem is like network infrastructure that provides the wiring for information to flow upon but, that information is going to continue to diversify. Many people who came in when it was just Steemit and one or two other interfaces often still interact mainly in those ways. But, like my brother who has also used @dtube, @dlive, @busy.org and a few others, they recognise the expansion also.

The problem is that because everything is lumped in together currently, we see all of these various aspects mentioned by people excited by the opportunity that they provide and perhaps, feel a little bit of FOMO, that we are missing something vital. These various apps and projects are vital but, they aren't necessarily vital for every user.

Amazon is the world's highest earning website making $3392.94 per second or, 107 billion per year. Pretty incredible. I took that from this website which also noted that in 2009, the highest earning site in 2009 earned 'only' $691 per second. Lame.

Even though number 2 is Google with 75B, 3rd is JD.com with 29 Billion. Ever visited the site? Probably not but, there it is, the third highest earning website. Others in the top 20 I had never previously visited were, Tencent, Reuters, Priceline, Expedia, Rakuten, Salesforce, Baidu, NetEase, Sohu. I know of some of these, just never visited their web services.

Me not visiting probably hasn't made much of a scratch on their bottom line but, it also hasn't affected me either. They can do what they do and we need never engage with one another. This is how I see Steem growing where services, apps, sites and users who may all be traversing the same blockchain, never need run into each other since they have no need to interact. The blockchain, like the internet that carries those sites, still runs underneath them all.

What I told my brother is that it will be this diversity that brings the real value to Steem and even though not all content areas, games or whatever may be of interest to many people, they are the niche markets that groups can get excited about, just like @steemmonsters. My brother doesn't need to know about it or play the game to benefit from the success of it in the long run, as he already has stake in its success due to the Steem Power he holds.

As more and more of these alternative ways to use Steem get developed, they will hopefully attract an increasing mass of users who may not be interested in long form blogging but, will be interested in playing some kind of game or, perhaps buying clothing using an SMT at a shop that sits upon the Steem infrastructure.

For Steem to go mainstream, it isn't about convincing people that blogging is a great way to earn Steem although it is at the moment, it is about convincing people to either develop or join a community that allows them to use Steem the way they want to use it, much like they do on the internet now. Some use the internet to browse the news, some gaming, some buying, some run businesses, some watch movies and some do some very messed up things like, use Facebook.

The websites and services themselves are subject to supply and demand and therefore be quite volatile and open to a great deal of competition but, the internet is robust and doesn't suffer the same volatility but instead, continually grows. With 5G and IoT the next phase, the growth is going to take another giant step. Any one or, thousands of individual sites can fail and still the network survives.

This is my perspective of what Steem could be in the blockchain world. One that uses the infrastructure of the internet to become an infrastructure that better handles the information that flows across it. It might not take over every position but, it could make inroads and power a significant amount of websites and whatever services they provide.

As they say, there is no pleasing everyone but, this isn't actually true. There is no one thing that pleases everyone. But Steem is not one thing, it is a growing multitude of things that will continue to expand and diversify so that anyone will be able to find something that they enjoy or find useful to interact with and with SMTs, they may never realise they are even using Steem.

So, we see a lot of things going on we may not understand , like or be interested in at all but, it doesn't mean it is irrelevant to us if we view the long term goal of becoming a mainstream tool. We do not have to know about every detail, we do not have to use every interface, remember the name of every project or, play every game to still be Steeming.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Hi Taraz. We are all under one umbrella and only linked by Steem. I honestly hope Steem monsters is popular but have no interest in it. I still don't know what the fuss was about as it doesn't make sense to me.

I haven't really looked into it as it isn't really my thing either. With the popularity of gaming industry in general though, there are going to be more of these types of games being developed.

Huh, I haven't heard of most of those sites :O Should look into them. I haven't been able to figure out @steemmonsters either :/ Everything's moving so fast 'round here..

Meh, not my thing so not so interested. It is a role playing game scenario as far as I know. Good luck to them though and I hope they are successful.

Steemit is starting to remind me of fight club (the movie and book) where one of the main characters thinks he knows all about fight club only to realise that members of the club started new fractions within of the club. The club had evolved beyond what he knew. except here we want other to talk about Steemit :-)

except here we want other to talk about Steemit :-)

The first Rule of Steem Club: Talk about Steem Club.

I have noticed that there are many applications for steemit, if we use all of them we would become saturated and in the end they are all steemit. I currently want to download an application to my cell phone, and I do not know which one will be better: steemapp or android partiko. The first one looks very attractive but it takes up many megabytes, and the second one looks simple and easy to use, it takes a few megabytes, so I do not know if the first one is more complete because of the megabytes it occupies, or it will be a matter of graphics images what make it so heavy.

I don't know much about it as I don't use a Steem app on mobile. Perhaps trial each and then decide.

Yeah. that I was thinking do.

"Steem is not one thing"

Yes. The more things Steem becomes the better. I love how those things are multiplying.

I suspect Steemmonsters will be one of the big ones, just because most geeks tend to be both early adopters (owning Steem when most people haven't even heard of it) and collectors (collecting things gives people a feeling of empowerment, achievement and security in a constantly changing world), and Steemmonsters scores a bullseye of catering to both instincts.

As to your brother, if he doesn't actually want to play the game, hoarding cards other people desperately want, for the sake of "investment," might not be a good look. :)

My brother won't buy any cards I am quite sure :)

There are going to be many games that both come and go and like any collectibles, they will phase in and out of popularity. I think that where the money will really be made in gaming is when companies like EA and blizzard start building for blockchain.

I was 100% drawn in by the photo — stunning — but this was a great read. We expect things to happen quickly and follow a straight path. But life doesn’t work that way and I’m glad Steem doesn’t either. It’s more interesting to watch things evolve, branch out and grow. I can’t help but wonder what we’ll think about this stage in the process when we look back on it 2, 5 or even 10 years from now.

It is my favourite Autumn tree in the city and sits on a hill over a lake. =)

I can’t help but wonder what we’ll think about this stage in the process when we look back on it 2, 5 or even 10 years from now.

Who knows but, Facebook started off as a site to rate people's attractiveness.

I couldn't have said it better.

But life doesn’t work that way and I’m glad Steem doesn’t either. It’s more interesting to watch things evolve, branch out and grow.>

Yes, that's the way it will develop: through a myriad of apps most users of which will never need to know about the other apps let alone a quaint website called steemit.com.

I am looking forward to finding my corner one day to play in and watching how the rest unfolds.

What's interesting is how large the payouts available here will be relative to passive income from delegating to apps that use the the blockchain - and in what timeframe that ratio will change. If the payouts available for bloggers turn out so small that curating and attracting followers and upvoters here through curation will no longer be economically viable, I will probably stay anyway but with my SP invested in different projects even if I can't expect much income from blogging. (Not that I'm a huge earner even now but with the upside potential of STEEM, even that makes it worth putting in the effort.)

Every development here is a blessing. I don't like games as such (anymore) either, but if steem monsters has the ability to attract a more mainstream audience, or bring an extra source of revenue - then am all for it

There are going to be so many and it won't be long until the farmville type games arrive either and then the more complex RPGs and even FPS.

Steem is a very good side on socilal network . Steemit only one thing this not second thing . Steem is very helpful and incoming side .
Thanks for sharing @tarazkp

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82