Rewarding the learn, later.

in #steem6 years ago

Last night, I wrote a post about emotive words and narrative and it is great to see so many non-native English speakers trying to improve their language skills. Many use translator support but I think that those who go out of their way and beyond the boundaries of the translators, will find that they way they interact with people here will change a lot.

I just read a comment from someone who was complaining that no matter what he tries to post, his rewards stay the same. When I come across such things, I generally head right over to their blog, check their content quickly and then, go to their comments section. What I found in this case was as expected. The interaction was not spam but, it wasn't not not spam. It was the type of comments that one would see on Instagram, the pat on the back but shallow, the positive but lacking any authenticity and substance. It is disingenuous. One could say that it is due to language skills however, the comment complaining would indicate otherwise.

The other thing that many people who don't have a great deal of support forget is that most of their interaction should be off their own blog roll. They need to get out and about and this isn't just on other blogs either. Unfortunately perhaps, functions of Steem are decentralized also and many of the tools necessary for engagement and interaction are found on off site services in chats or on other apps. For most, if you aren't engaging off the chain well, it is difficult to get traction.

There is a lot of things to consider here and a lot of complexity which raises the effort needed. Although many complain about this, it is actually a blessing when it comes to differentiation and competing for space as many will be unwilling to learn and/or interact well in the areas that are just too difficult. In time this will change and everything will become easier however easier means, easy for everyone to try their hand. People believe it is difficult now and wish for the tools to simplify (I do too9 but that will increase competition as the barriers of entry continually lower.

for those willing to learn and put in the effort, there is a great deal of opportunity now and, for those that really learn, the future is going to require educated blockchain users. There is going to be a flood of need for people who are not only social but, understand the tech and processes of engagement and interaction. For those who missed the job opening on 'traditional' social media, this is the next opportunity and, it is going to come with rewards.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I think a lot of comment-quality success here comes from time investment more than anything else. The more successful users at having excellent comment sections, you being a great example, seem to have gotten there by consistently working toward it for long periods of time.

There's one poster I won't name who I've noticed rewards comments indiscriminately, has been here forever, and gets a ton of them but very few are of any particular value. It seems like that poster has it half down.

I probably don't talk enough to my commenters, and should work on that. I'd love to eventually have a comment section approaching the quality of yours.

I think i know who you speak of and I don't think that use cares much as long as the follower count grows. You are right that it takes time and consistency but what most people consider a long time, they probably need to triple their estimates as to how long they should be investing for. I would say that if someone can't maintain consistency for 6 months at the moment, they aren't likely to survive when there are a million or two real users.

I'd love to eventually have a comment section approaching the quality of yours.

I count myself lucky although it has taken a lot of work.

The other thing that many people who don't have a great deal of support forget is that most of their interaction should be off their own blog roll.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This really cannot be repeated enough. To grow your audience you have to go and find it, and it's never been more the case than today, unfortunately.

Yeah, it will improve and eventually, some killer interface will take most of the users but for now, this is what there is and working with it will bring benefits.

Thanks for this tip @tarazkp
It actually took me a while to understand the fact about the need to communicate with people outside your own personal blog.
Of course, my rewards suffered....

Although... Now I'm making changes even though it's sometimes hard to keep up especially when you have so much on your plate to do outside this platform...

Either ways, I would personally put some more work into strengthening my relationships with people outside my blog.

Thanks once again...

Although... Now I'm making changes even though it's sometimes hard to keep up especially when you have so much on your plate to do outside this platform...

It is good to experiment and be systematic and, yes I know, IRL presents its own challenges also.

I'm one of those people who has another language, @tarakpz. It's true that rewards come from your efforts, but that's not always the case. There are many publications that have 0 and you can see that the work has been done, but I believe that the connection with the interlocutor has failed, as you say. All work requires a little or a lot of interest and according to the work, passion and dedication, it would be the ideal thing to see the fruits. Steemit has the advantage that not only does it allow you to exchange opinions with a possible reader, to do what you like, but it pays you for that dialogue. Beautiful morning.

yes, a post could be very high quality and get 0 but it is a marketplace. The diamonds are buried in the soil but there aren't many people digging them out which means, it is going to take support from the creator. Once upon a time, artists had to promote themselves for years to get anywhere and even then, the chances of success were slim.

As someone who floats around in time and space while struggling to get words formed in content, understandable to other human lifeforms, commenting is really a struggle for me often. I know I should, it works and stuff, but I much rather prefer chats for interaction though I am not building/progressing much by doing so it seems. I am trying to improve though. Look, I even commented.

In this botland people rarely read now, even less comment. Why struggle? Bot will come along with spam comment. *Joking maybe

I think that there are two sides to the commenting and chat interaction. Chat is great for building the relationships more deeply but, on-chain is where accounts can see you, evaluate you and get an interest in just who you might be. Also, where you put your comments matter. Some put them only on the posts they like, some only on the posts they want to argue with, some target whales or people they think can help them. For me, I try to interact with interactors as it develops interesting chains and plenty of new thoughts to build upon for all :)

Can't believe you EVEN commented.

Yeah, EVEN do that sometimes when I feel like talking *read typing. That does not happen often though. Haha.

Thank you.

Engagement within and outside the blockchain is the best way to grow on steemit, it's remain the only legitimate means of making your presence felt.

It might not be too easy when you started out, but you begin to enjoy it as you allow it to become part of you and you will grow and be rewarded as a result.

For many, the difficulty is finding the information on where to go. Even simple things like chat or diiscord get missed. In my opinion, it is the job of people onboarding to make sure they give the information and support .

Well i dont always expect a reward after fishing but the self satisfaction i get after completing a tast is enough reward for me thats how it is for me in steemit,some times u chill for some things to happen.

English is my second language. I'm not one of those ESL speakers who will tell you they have acquired their skill without effort. There are many such people out there and I will call bullshit each and every time I hear someone say that.

I've always been very sceptical of whether I'm writing or speaking correctly and remain so. If there is the slightest doubt as to whether something I've written is incorrect or a word choice is not appropriate I'll look it up. Without consistently doing this for decades my skills would be far worse. I have a tendency to accidentally leave out words regardless of the language I'm using. That, too, makes it necessary for me to check and edit a lot. It's like making sure I haven't lost my keys by constantly making sure I have them.

There are many such people out there and I will call bullshit each and every time I hear someone say that.

I have met one or two who are somehow very gifted but, even they still put some effort in.

I have a tendency to accidentally leave out words regardless of the language I'm using. That, too, makes it necessary for me to check and edit a lot. It's like making sure I haven't lost my keys by constantly making sure I have them.

This is similar to the 'giving directions' example from yesterday I think as you/we know what is meant to be there so it is easy to skip in the delivery. Especially when typing fast as the fingers work behind the mind.

Interestingly, I have heard people with speech impediments like a stutter are generally above average intelligence and it is that their mouth can't keep up with their mind. I am not sure as to the accuracy of that though as it was my mother who told me.

Editing is made difficult because of the I know what it is meant to say problem also which is why it is best to have an independent proof it. Only really necessary for professional documents though.

I think this was spot on! I know I need to engage more (as well as get more productive!) but I tend to read a lot and think. I come here and think out loud... and comment on this and that... but I truly need to Engage more. It's my own introvertive fault... but it's something I know and will begin to address now by making this comment. I am also going to be getting my feet wet in discord a little too. Thanks for being a voice of reason and wisdom as usual!

PEople tend to think engaging is commenting but it is more the discussing aspect where two or more people can build an image of the world together.

Thanks for being a voice of reason and wisdom as usual!

I never hear this at home. thanks. =)

I never hear it at home either... must be contagious! I agree... it usually boils down to substance. I have a difficult time deciding when to drop the substance.. and when to keep it social. A fine mix with appropriate gifs works for me... for now. I am mulling over the image of the world I want to build... and my place in that construction!

I believe that Albert Einstein's theory , TE=R applies

Time x Effort ,squared = Reward

If you don't put the time in and double your effort how can you expect reward .

In the beginning who have to try different things to learn the platform . What people don't see or refuse to see is the work that others above them have put into Steemit to achieve what they have .

Many come in and see what is familiar and then behave as if the rest is also familiar. rarely do they explore the unknown here and there is a lot hidden away.

LOL this whole platform is an unknown .
You have no choice but to ask questions and keep asking .
You have to keep throwing yourself out there . and accept that there will be setbacks . I have come across more givers then takers .
There is no way to grow here unless you build a good foundation . The reward in doing so is minimal but in time it will pay off big
Time to buy some Steem $50 is not a lot but consistency will pay off

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09