The moon and boom and bust

in #steem5 years ago

I was thinking about something a little bit today about the people who are active on the platform. It seems that those who have known the lows of Steem before the highs are the ones working the hardest right now. It is kind of interesting in a way how various people see price as I think it might depend on where it is approached from.

A dollar is a dollar right?

I don't think it is. Well, technically it is but how one "feels" about that dollar can change remarkably. Steem is at 50 cents now, is that cheap or expensive to buy? Well, I remember pretty well a lot of people saying "if Steem is ever at one dollar again I am going to buy so much..." ahhhhhahahahha... liars.

However, that 50 cent Steem for someone who recently boought at 20 cents must seem a huge amount right?. I remember when Steem spiked to 40 cents after I was trading it at 12 cents back and forwards and being pretty damn surprised. This was of course well before the insanity of 22k bitcoin and 20 dollar SBD.

How many of you remember all the people shitposting for rewards because Steem was up at 2.50? What is the name of that girl who makes the food? She was posting 5 times a day for hundreds of dollars in rewards from autovoters. Where is she now? Does it matter? No. Funny thing is that her autovoters would have still been there all this time, it just wasn't worth it for her. Fine. Wait until Steem hits 2 or 3, they'll all be back en masse.

It is interesting because as price fell from 8.30, people opted-out of posting at levels that six months earlier would have been considered insanely high prices. It is a funny psychological trick really isn't it. If running up from 20 cents, people pour in wanting a piece of 1 dollar Steem but if dropping down from 8 dollars, 2 dollar Steem isn't good enough to earn.

Of course in my head, it is always a good time to earn free Steem. Any amount, always. I don't mind being a Steem addict as I know many people with a lot worse vices in life than writing for magical internet money. It is definitely interesting to see how various people get accustomed to price and of course, the support that comes along with it and I like to observe people at all stages of the platform.

One of the great enjoyments for me on the platform is watching how people interact and post at different price points. While I don't like the drama on the platform, I have liked that there are some people who have stuck to their guns and done exactly what they said they would, earn Steem at any price. I like seeing those who know scrambling as price starts to increase and build again. I like not seeing the people who have opted-out returning yet. Although, I have noticed some coming back to test the waters.

This little social experiment that Steem is makes for quite a fascinating world of behaviors and while it is great to be able to earn for the potential of a better economic future, watching it all happen is a brilliant feature of the system I think. All these 'community' people who claimed this and that a million times over but, where have they been the last year? Not here at least. Maybe on Whaleshares, EOS... ONO? :D

I used to care a bit more about these people but I have decided it just isn't worth it. Instead, I do my thing, interact where I choose, write about what I choose and vote on who I choose. There is a lot of choice here and while not everyone wans to be a part of it unless it is under certain conditions, that is fine. I like the variables and the volatility, I like the range of experience that is Steem.

At any price.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

From my post you saw, I'd like to submit for your consideration aiming for more far than the moon, so to speak. That was so 2017-18.


I agree, I think we are getting closer to the sun in the coming years.

I also think it's crazy that more people don't take a longer term view and treat steem like a legacy and an investment.

It's not as if that many people on here have to rely on it for day to day income.

Then again most people in life don't do this - we wouldn't be facing environmental castastrophe if they did!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not as if that many people on here have to rely on it for day to day income.

Yep, and those that do should't be as it is far too unstable. For many who continually sell, they are going to always be in the position they are and, they didn't have this option that long ago. At least put 10% away for the future

Yes fair point, it is a very unstable way to earn an income!

Even if I start using it as a weekly/ monthly income source, I'll always leave 50% powering up!

Hear! Hear!

It's probably good to blog low and sell High. Although I've been blogging low and high and using dollar cost averaging. For me I guess there's more incentive to blog when it's low. Thanks for sharing. @tarazkp

It depends because if you are looking to sell weekly, it is better to blog when the dollar amount o n the post is the highest however, if you are looking to earn for later, it doesn't matter what that number is.

Yeah that makes sense it is interesting how you can take different Avenues on this platform thanks @tarazkp

I am sort of caught in between as I joined at $4.50 range and it has dropped to 20 odd cents. I did increase my posts daily from one to two. I think all those that left did us all a huge favor as it is rather pleasant now with the users that are all here. I don't know why, but in my head Steem is still holding a value of $4.50 as I know one of these days it will fly past that figure.

all the Steem you have earned is going to go up incredibly in value at some point. When you are comfortable with the price, sell a little and do something nice or put it in the bank for a buyback later. I should have done the latter as, I don't appreciate nice things it seems :D

I have thought about this and maybe will do something. Not taking much though as it is still hard to earn. My mind hasn't changed about this place after nearly a year of slogging. My family thinks I am nuts, but they have no idea.

Accumulators will have a tendency to stick around when prices are down. People who need income now are the ones that flee first when prices drop.

Honestly, my time in the Steem community has ebb and flow. Sometimes offline life takes over. Sometimes motivation wanes (even with the price of Steem is high).

I am trying to diversify my Steem experience so I can earn while I can actively engage but also have some streams of income ready for those times that I need to be away.

You are right. When the price goes up, it is going to get noisy and crowded again.

Honestly, my time in the Steem community has ebb and flow. Sometimes offline life takes over. Sometimes motivation wanes (even with the price of Steem is high).

I think everyone goes through these phases but some power through knowing it is just a phase. It is the same for just about every job or hobby.

That is true. I keep coming back. I keep powering through.

Wait until Steem hits 2 or 3, they'll all be back en masse

You can bet on that. One thing the low prices did was to really reveal who cares and has the most faith about the platform.

I had a good reason to be absent for the period I wasn't active but truth be told if steem was $4 then, I'd have found a way to make it work.

It's pathetic but it's human nature.

Just keep doing your thing your own way Taraz

It is human nature, which is why I find it so interesting. I think that when it comes to many aspects of life and "success", there are patterns that keep repeating in us as individuals and groups. I am trying to break some of mine and stop being what I once though was "me"

Let the prices be down until I reach dolphin status, more Steem for meeeeeeeeeee :D

Steem is definitely my favorite social experiment – not that I've been part of many – which reveals surprisingly lots about human nature. Builds up some emotional resiliency, too, which I think some people forgot to do in our "snow flake" era.

Let the prices be down until I reach dolphin status, more Steem for meeeeeeeeeee :D

Until I am an Orca at least!! 10k to go.

Steem is definitely my favorite social experiment – not that I've been part of many – which reveals surprisingly lots about human nature.

Anyone who like observing human nature should be on Steem :)

Until I am an Orca at least!! 10k to go.

Yes! :D 10k is gonna be really fast to acquire when you already have 40k under the belt, especially with the pace you're posting.

Unless life gets in the way, I try to post something (I'm mostly using Steepshot these days) at least once per day. I remember when the rewards were great, and I was seeing the same people on my feed 3-5 times a day. Oh, well. I've been here about a year and half now, and will try my best to continue.

I am glad some of the prolific shitposters are gone tbh, they will be back of course though. I think it isn't hard these days to get once a day or at least every two days something up though, especially with all of the options out there now.

I'm sure prices are going up, so I want to establish myself as much as possible while the getting is good. I don't depend on Steem for and income, lol. But, I would like to someday. I don't think I would have near the chance to do that if everyone was here boxing it out.

Today is my two year anniversary. I bought in big when it was $0.07 and I continue to buy and earn the best I can. With all this development and hype lately, I really think this is all going to pay off.

I'm sure prices are going up, so I want to establish myself as much as possible while the getting is good.

Yep, in more ways than stake too.

I don't depend on Steem for and income, lol. But, I would like to someday. I don't think I would have near the chance to do that if everyone was here boxing it out.

Yeah, I would like it to be at least a major stream in the future and I agree, with everyone gone, things are a little easier.

Today is my two year anniversary. I bought in big when it was $0.07 and I continue to buy and earn the best I can.

Happy Birthday mate. When it was 7 I had no idea about anything at all and didn't realise I should buy. I knew no one, knew nothing. Give me that opportunity again...

I had no idea either. Actually, I knew when it launched, but I was super suspect of Steem. I kept hearing things and passing them off, but then about a year later I looked into it again. When I really tried learning about it, I decided even at an all-time low, I was buying in big.

I think and hope I was right.

Dude, at 50 cents, I'm already counting my profit :)))) I bought some Steem at 36c or somewhere around that. This is mooning, basically. :P

That is awesome. I am so glad people were able to benefit from it :) Hold a bit longer though I'd say... but, do as you choose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76