STEEM: Resist The Urge To Stop Posting

in #steem6 years ago

It is easy to get negative when the price of STEEM keeps dropping like a rock. The last few months have been tough on the pricing front.

The tendency, it appears, is that when the price of cryptocurrency drops, so does activity. People allow the pricing action to influence their involvement in this arena. My sense is this happens in all areas of the token world. It seems that sentiment drives people away from here.

Thus, it stands to reason when prices do start to move up, more people will return. This will further enhance the pricing action meaning it will build upon itself.

The challenge with this approach, from the STEEM perspective, is there is a daily reward pool that is fixed. Each day STEEM is available based as payout for being active on STEEM. The payout is not affected by the price of STEEM. Since we are not paid in USD, Euro, or JPY, the price in those terms means nothing.

Nevertheless, we still see people pulling back. Which is exactly the opposite of what they are doing.


Source

When the price of STEEM drops and everyone else pulls back, this is the time to get more active. Those who post only a few times a week can increase it to, maybe, once a day. While it is true the payout is less in dollar terms, the accumulation of STEEM still is the same. Of late, the drop in the price of SBD has affected payouts since that was 4 times higher than it was originally slated. Outside of that, the payouts, in STEEM units, is the same.

Those who are successful on STEEM remain consistent regardless of what is happening. There are stretches we go through where the rewards per post are not what they were. That does not mean that STEEM cannot be acquired. I acknowledge that it is getting harder to amass STEEM for the reasons discussed repeatedly. Nevertheless, adding STEEM to one's account is still possible.

STEEM is very close to being a very valuable asset on the STEEM blockchain. Once the SMT protocol is released, I believe we will see a rapid increase in the number of projects that show up on this blockchain. The fact that STEEM will become a token factory for utility tokens is going to have an impression on the overall market. Coupled with the hivemind technology and we could be in the process of seeing the internet shit before our eyes.

It is best to think of STEEM as a long-term process. The price of STEEM today is not important to me. Rather, I focus upon the development. That said, it will be the pricing action over the next year or two that makes the big difference in our lives. The market will catch up to what is going on at some point. In the meantime, developers keep creating new applications and updating the old ones. It is up to the rest of us to still keep posting. Everything we do on this blockchain adds to the entire ecosystem. On a daily basis, STEEM gets bigger and more powerful.

The pace is determined by how many pull back from posting.


Source

It is easy to fall to the temptation to stop posting. We all know how it is not motivating to see posts paying out 1/2 or 1/2 what they use to. While that is true, I just keep my focus upon the SP part of my wallet. My goal is to keep that growing. The rate may have slowed but as long as it consistently grows, it will be a fair bit larger by the end of the year than it is now.

And, at some point in time, each little SP in there is going to have a tremendous value to the open market. When people need bandwidth for their successful projects, there is only one way to get that: buy STEEM.


If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

Nonetheless it is very depressing to see the price always going down.

But you earn from both the Low times and the High times. So how can that be depressing when you look at it logically? Not like we are building a future with Fiat. We are building a system so we never have to switch back into the old system of doing monetary transactions.

Hey @discernente, Congratulations! Bodzila just upvoted your post with 23.99% power. Keep up the good work!

Delegate your Steem Power to @Bodzila & Earn 80% Weekly returns based on your share. You can cancel delegation of your SP at anytime as the money & power remain in your hands only.

Any queries or required support can be discussed in person. Join our discord channel https://discord.me/SteemBulls

When the price of STEEM drops and everyone else pulls back, this is the time to get more active

When things slow down and the price dips down is the PERFECT time to get organized, maybe start a new way of posting (new ideas and skills you never attempted before), stay active with commenting and find a new audience of incoming steemians and even learn more about formatting codes.

The thing(s) for me is/are:

  • I have a five and ten year goal for steemit (to build up enough and hopefully use towards our retirement and property- until then.. never ever power down)
  • I have enough ideas to make a post twice a day for the next six months (constantly doing projects, growing something and looking for new avenues to express creativity)

Price goes up.. price goes down... I am always going to be around. I have no plans to slow down, reign back on my activity or stop.

Being an idea machine is clearly the smartest strategy. Looking at yourself as a train that just keeps on going since there is so much momentum there. 🚄For many it surely is a big problem of having little ideas. And that comes from taking little action. The more you value each idea and expand energy on it the more you realize the abundance of ideas and new digital content. Comments will always be the best way to grow since it's free to post it and people find it extremely valuable and people look at comment sections to find more value!

This has happened before (the slowing prices) and I have used the time wisely to get prepared for the next uplifting. It seems to help me... plus I have OCD

For me it is the urge to stop spamming. I speak and write before I think and sometimes say more than I should. The focus when steem is dropping in price to to make quality posts. Thanks.

I have resisted :D

Oh, oh! I will certainly keep on posting. I was so happy yesterday when I was voted by @curie for the first time ever!

I was in shock, seeing a post of mine earning 30 SP! How cool! 😄

Always feels so amazing when you get a big upvote from someone very generous. A feeling that you never can get on YouTube since the value coming in there is extremely slow in comparison to the button click on the STEEM Blockchain haha. That's when your eyes get opened up and you see what's possible. Since 1 big upvote from a source may mean a lifetime 1000 more upvotes from that place!

I have always felt the opposite of what the trend seems to be when it comes to wanting to post. I feel encouraged to post more when the price goes down because I feel that I end up with more Steem.

Like you, I don't particularly care about the price compared to the quantity because all signs seem to suggest we will eventually see some impressive numbers for pricing as all this development starts to pay off.

Either way, I am interested in writing and interacting with others on here and it is a shit ton better than Facebook or any other platform I could be using, so I am counting myself lucky that I can earn anything here to do what I want to do.

Yeah Facebook is pretty horrible when it comes to writing. I really enjoy the Steemit interface for writing. You can find so much excellent writing content here and always easy curate more high quality material. There is no other platform at the moment that offers such an easy smooth way earning cryptocurrency as the Steem Blockchain.

Facebook is a cesspool on so many different levels.

There experience here is much more enjoyable.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I been a steem member for almost 9 months now. I like this platform but I am not here for the rewards. I think the last time my wallet had a payout was like 2 weeks ago. I thought we got rewards for voting on posts too, I never see em. And no one ever votes my posts unless I pay to promote it which costs me in the long run because I have never made back what I pay to promote. So for me steem isn't about the rewards because those are shit anyways. I just like it because it's not Facebook

It's because you barely have any STEEM in your account. The more STEEM you have the faster you can get more. The rich get richer. And it works in momentum. You do get rewards for voting on posts but since you have little STEEM at the moment you will not see any results from that. But once you have 100 STEEM you will start to see curation rewards which will excite you more and see that your time is worth real money compared to other platforms.

Awesome that's very good to know

Gotta post everyday.. otherwise your followers start following other people and you get left behind.

What would STEEM be without our daily weed post from @davedickeyyall?

The entire platform might collapse.

So I presume as long as you are smoking, you will be posting.

Q: "What would STEEM be without our daily weed post from @davedickeyyall?"

A: Boring

I would say people who pull back from posting or the crypto world in general when the market is down, think in terms of fiat and not in terms of crypto, meaning they transform everything into fiat to find its value. Some of them are forced to do that because of payments they need to do regularly, and they cannot find the crypto alternative to pay for the same service YET.

Someone can easily go on in such times if they stop putting a fiat tag on every transaction, everything they spend or earn in the crypto world, if they stop watching their account value in fiat go up and down. They are in the crypto world, which will, sooner or later be the dominant one. Value in fiat is irrelevant, unless you need fiat right away!

If you ask me how much is my account value on Steemit, I don't know. I almost never check that, most often it just falls under my eyes by accident.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17