Taking Advantage Of The Cryptocurrency Opportunity

in #steem6 years ago

On a number of occasions I wrote about a project that I started following over a year ago. This project recently started a referral program which offered immediate tokens to those who signed up using the code. On top of that, it also gave a same number of tokens to the one doing the referring after a period of time.

Recently I went in to look at the results which really started me thinking about what is going on in general.

Before getting to those thoughts, here is what I am referring to. The project is Presearch which is a blockchain based search engine that is in the making. This is going to be a couple year project before they have enough searches indexed to go live. At this point, they are using an interface to tie into other search engines to put their machine learning to use.

The program is as follows. Signing up using the referral code (the link I provided is my referral code) will net someone 25 PRE tokens. These are traded on exchanges so they have an immediate value. Each search that is done using the interface, either from their site or via a browser plug in, is worth .25 PRE. Hence, 4 searches will net a person a full PRE. There is a limit of 8 PRE earned per day.

Since January, I have done the searches each day in an effort to amass the tokens. I really like this project and found this to be a great way to get myself a decent position. As I mentioned they only instituted the referral program of late so most of my holdings are from doing the daily searches.

Web searches are something we all do daily. Without thinking, most of us do dozens of them. And this is where the rub comes in.

Part of the Presearch referral program is to pay the referring party 25 PRE. That goes into effect only after 60 days AND the person accumulated 100 additional PRE from doing searches on his/her own. Essentially, someone will have to earn a little over 1.5 PRE per day or 6 searches.

Here is my referral code:

https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=105446

Looking through the stats, I see of those who surpassed the 60 day mark, only 25% ended up fulfilling the terms. Of the 24 referrals, only 6 were able to be claimed.

This is what go me thinking. Here is a program that is offering free tokens for something people are doing anyway yet 75% choose not to participate after signing up. Why is this?

Then I started to consider STEEM and what we see taking place on here on a daily basis. Most of you know that we put together a Minnow Uprising for the month of July in an effort to get some additional SP in the hands of the smaller accounts. If you look at the posts in that tag, you will see the participation rate is less than inspiring.

Ironic considering the number of people who tend to complain on a regular basis about how unfair things are.

So this brings up the question are people taking advantage of the opportunity presented to them by cryptocurrency? I use PRE, which is not a project associated with the STEEM blockchain, as a prime example. Why would one sign up and not use the interface to initiate web searches? We know that 5B are done daily on Google alone. Here is a route where people without the necessary resources, i.e. have no fiat, can get some tokens. It is a no cost opportunity that, if it turns into something, can net one a decent amount. Of course, it could fall flat on its face which means nothing lost.

Are these numbers the norm? Do we have a rate of 75% who want things to change but are refusing even to do the minimal to earn something that could have an impact? To me, that seems a bit high considering the referrals came from a pool of people who are already involved in cryptocurrency. Nevertheless, the stats do not lie.

I have one basic philosophical approach to cryptocurrency: to amass as many as I can no matter what the tokens. This is especially true of ones I can earn as opposed to buy. They are the ones that I think will have value in the future.

This is an industry that is only going to get bigger. Perhaps PRE will not amount to anything which is highly possible. However, all tokens are worth a shot if no money is required. These are lottery tickets since we honestly do not know which will be successful.

We are also involved in something that has the possibility of making a major impact in the world Cryptoeconomics, the combination of blockchain and cryptocurrency, are remaking the world of finance. It will not take a ton of the right tokens to substantially change someone's life. Sure there are going to be many failed projects. However, one or two successes could net the average individual more money than they ever made elsewhere.

Personally, I believe STEEM is one of those tokens. I look at the potential and believe that anyone who looks at this blockchain and walks away is missing a grand opportunity. The vast majority do it out of a lack of knowing. Yet there are others who get frustrated and leave because of emotions. Either way, anyone who left in the past only to return, say, a year later tells of the regret. The entire time he or she could have been earning tokens.

Cryptocurrency is a tremendous opportunity. It is not something that anyone is shut out from unlike other opportunities regulated by the SEC that means someone has to be a "sophisticated" investor. That is code for "only the select few get to profit from this". Tokens are different. Anyone can participate and earn them. While the options are slim at the moment, they are expanding. Just recently, the STEEM blockchain had @steemhunt and @actifit add tokens that can be earned and will eventually be on here via the SMT protocol. How many are engaging in those applications on a daily basis?

I feel it is rather simple. People will get into tokens now, or down the road. But they will get in. It is just a question of when. The tokenized economy is only going to grow. The question I have is when do you want to start amassing your tokens? Would you like to get them now or later?

Being an early adopter always has an advantage.


If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and resteem.

Pictures provided by Google Images.

Sort:  

My first Presearch!

9ADF0D7E-221C-4EE8-AB55-62BBA2DF46B7.png

LOL it shows where you heart lies....

Glad you got involved with PRE. It might seem like watching grass grow but the 8 tokens a day do add up. I started in January and havent missed a day so I have a nice stash building.

I wonder if some people are troubled by the notice that the minimum current amount of PRE before you can withdraw is 1000. I went here and clicked "Redeem Tokens"
https://www.presearch.org/account/tokens/rewards

It says, "Token withdrawals are coming soon" and "we've set a fairly high withdrawal threshold of 1,000 PRE to start".

I'm personally not super concerned because when I started here on Steemit, there was No Way to withdraw anything! So I understand that withdrawal functionality can come later in a project. But I can see why others might not put this on their daily To Do list when they need to do almost 4000 searches to be able to withdraw their tokens, at least in the current situation, which they say in regard to the threshold to withdraw - "This number will likely decrease in time, and we will keep all Presearchers notified via email when they are able to withdraw."

That could be very true.

It was only recently that they enabled any tokens to be withdrawn since they were working through some people using multiple accounts and fraudulent behavior.

I agree I am not that concerned about it and, on one level, it does make sense. They want to give people the incentive to use the interface to help build the machine learning algorithm.

Handing someone $2,50 worth of tokens just for signing up means that many would sign up, take the money, and never do any searches.

So I can see both sides.

Thanks for writing! Haven't heard about Presearch before now, but based on your article I quickly gave it a try. I like it a lot, especially the fact that it has a real-life-usage. This is something anyone could use, and actually, earn money surfing and searching. This is an example of a crypto that will help both the technology and cryptocurrencies to go mainstream.

Why don't people use it? We are people of habits, and it might feel complicated to use this instead of normal Google. Also, it might seem stupid to spend 1% extra energy on getting tokens that ain't worth anything (in their eyes). But, one day they might regret it, just like some of us regret not mining Bitcoins 5-6-7 years ago!

I've been using Presearch, but I have no idea where I am in terms of the 60 day mark. I can see amount acquired, but don't know what day I started.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Thanks to you, I already earned two euros (from the referral and the tokens earned from my own searches). It is totally stupid not to use PRE. Make it a Chrome plugin and be a winner.

PRE is currently trading at $0.114 or so. It's like earning from taking a leak. Only an idiot will not pick this low hanging fruit. :D

Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/presearch/

Litecoin anyone?

Now! I have been using Presearch and so far I have 262 PRE tokens

maybe people are just accustomed in using search engines that they are apparently used to and are familiar in navigating into.with presearch,this is the only time that i came across with and is willing to try using your referral link.thanks and will reesteem.

Excellent article. I really liked it. Thank you for doing STEEM - better. Low activity is explained very simply - people are very big by nature. They want to give nothing and have everything. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Спасибо, что делаете STEEM – лучше. Низкая активность обьясняеться очень просто - люди оченьленивы по своей натуре. Они хотят ничего не далать и все иметь. Удачи Вам и Любви

Thanks for reminding me of Presearch @taskmaster4450 - thought it was a great idea when I came across them early stages, but they somehow slipped my mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78