Steem... What does the future hold for me?

in #steem6 years ago

This post might be flagged by those who have Steem muscle but I need to understand a few things. I have been here for a year now and aside from the misconception I joined this platform with thanks to Jerry, I haven't done enough on this community. This might be because I knew nothing about the entire blockchain apart from the common word 'Bitcoin' and most of my 'Kenyan' people still think crypto is a myth or a pyramid.

This is even while Kenya is among the African countries where crypto trading is a thing. But because the Central Bank of Kenya doesn't support it, I guess those who can be 'crypto investors' are still shitting their pants over, 'what if I lose my investment?' Plus... 'but the Central Bank said'... My favorite one has to be... 'no one can just give you money for free (this one comes after you mention 'trading crypto or a site like Steemit').

That said... my being here is by chance or maybe luck, who knows?

As much as my being here is a good thing, it is also a bit confusing. Hear me out, please.

Steemit in a very good way or bad way is VERY controversial. The atmosphere of everything certainly changes once money is in the mix forcing human greed to come out to play. Greed can be a good thing only if it inspires one to work harder and use the right merits. Greed on Steemit translates only to one word in my mind -ugly.

I don't earn much on my posts maybe that's why I am ranting yet I work hard on each and every post or at least that's what it feels like me. I don't have much SP either or any SBDs. I am literally no one here currently BUT I can't help but feel a bit cheated by the system.

Why do I have to work hard on a short meaningful poem and earn cents while others can trend on 'violating' upvoting bots? I say violating because it doesn't make sense to me for a person to use bots to get 100 and above on rewards. That's me though.

And don't get me wrong, I have 'tried' to use them but the guilt that comes with using those things especially after finding out what they actually do to the rewards pool is disarming for me.

Why does it feel like most people here are against Ned or the Steemit team and will that affect Steem or Steemit in the future negatively? Why do people say this site is shaky and if it is, why am I investing my time in it?

Forgive my lack of awareness, I am learning.

Most people who believe in this site have taught me a lot about it but doubts and questions are to a man so others poke holes in the information I absorb. My wish as a learning and a growing artist is to stay here. To be a part of something I believe can change lives including mine. To remain a part of this self-reliant online global village. To be a part of what should be a greedless community... a giving one.

I am just beginning to really wonder if Steemit is that unheard of community. If people can actually allow others to rise... Think about how many whales we have and the Steem Power between them and struggling minnows. Can't that be equally shared? And I am not suggesting they upvote everything but what if they upvoted worthy work? So that those they'll vote for can vote for us so we can also vote for those below us.

Think about it. Whales would vote for dolphins and they would vote for us. Wishful thinking, I know but a girl can dream. I am currently doing my best here... something I should've started doing the moment I joined but remember Jerry's misconceptions? I truly WONDER what the future holds for this brainchild of Ned... I am relying on it to be positive. For the sake of the dreams it instigated in me.

End of my unsophisticated rant.

Screenshot_2018-06-13_22.00.26.png

My current state :)


Thank you for coming.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I feel you @tezmel. Unfortunately, I don't think that a greed-less community could exist when everything spins around money. The only thing we could hope for is a little less inequality when it comes to SP distribution. That said, things were much better a year ago.

I wish nothing changed from last year... :(

Thank you for understanding.

I can understand those feelings. My personal view is this place is a game with potential to be more. I continue to power up and possibly could lose it all if it drops to worthless but I view this as potential and extra not “income”. My view of human nature has always been dim so I never really expected this place to change the world or human nature.

So keep building friends and creating content and who knows what may come of it and if you keep putting out quality content I will keep supporting :)

Thank you first of all for understanding. Most people view this as an 'extra' income but for those who didn't have many options before Steem, it remains a potential... I see it as a potential so I guess that's why I am ranting.

Thank you for your support :)

I don't know why you dream for the whales to care about you or even dolphins for that matter.

As a red fish who has been a friend since the beginning, I have moved a little love into your account. Please do not vote for my post while you have it. I know you always do vote me but put the money somewhere it is needed more. Find those plankton that have no votes and create some more red fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17