I highly respect those who do not use Steemit for selfish ambitions!!

in #steem5 years ago

There is one thing I have thought about so often and that is the amount of selfish Steemit users out there, and the biggest of them is me! What do I mean? We are so much thinking about ourselves, and we often only give our votes to those we hope will vote for us back. Or we skip voting for others, in order to use all our voting power on our own posts.

selfishness.jpg

And then you have an even worse version (I am writing about myself) - when I only vote for posts that I believe will give me the best curation awards. Now, that is just terrible - and again, I am the worst in that case. I have even discovered myself voting for posts that I have no clue what is about, but knowing that they have just paid a bot to upvote their post in the coming hours, means that there should be some very nice curation awards around the corner, and thus I give the post a vote as well. Now, that is what I would call a VERY selfish attitude, and one that isn't really helping the Steemit platform move forward.

I believe it is okay to work hard to make a profit for yourself, but it should also be about making Steemit a platform worthy to use, also for those without big financial muscles in the start. But, if everyone did like me, those who entered the platform and wrote splendid posts would never get a vote, simply because a vote for that article wouldn't result in any nice curation award for me. And guess what would happen with someone trying the luck on Steemit if they write a couple of high-quality posts with no reaction at all from the community - they will go and try their luck somewhere else (if they aren't those really stubborn people just never giving up).

Luckily, there are some exceptions.


I am so happy that there are some exceptions in the Steemit community, and probably, there are a lot of them. One of the users that I really find to be an encouragement to the movie/TV show posts is @namiks. He has a nice voting power, and he doesn't care about whether or not you are a whale or just a little shrink if you write a good post about TV shows, movies, or a similar topic... he is always out there to support such authors! That deserves a lot of respect. And, I am not sure if I am 100% right about this, but if I have seen correct, he doesn't even upvote his own posts. Now, that gives him even more respect in my eyes. I wouldn't be able to do that with my own posts (for sure), but I respect him a lot for doing so.

There are several other communities or bots also out there to upvote great content from not so visible users, for example, @ocd, @curie, @steemitworldmap, and some others. I deeply respect the job the curators are doing looking for content not discovered by lots of users yet, only to help new users and great content authors get an audience on Steemit!

So, I guess I feel a bit ashamed for my selfishness on the Steemit platform, and I will do my best at getting a bit better and not think so much about curation and so - but instead, be an encouragement to other users and help upvoting the content that is good, to make sure that the Steemit platform gets better and better!

Sort:  

I agree. I understand your piece of writing. It's hard to put myself on a scale of 1 to 10 according to this reading. I don't even think I could put myself on a scale of 1 to 10. I think all of these things are just touchy issues. I tried to do my best to encourage new users and get them involved. Thank you for writing this piece. It helps me take on or consider a different view.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess actually reading through the articles written by others is a step in the right direction, and even writing a comment on a post that doesn't have the biggest amount of viewers is an "un-selfish" thing to do. Thanks for sharing and writing!

I don't blame you at all for being a profit-seeker. The way I see it, my time is a scarce resource, and I expect compensation for sharing it. It does seem to result in a lot of garbage posting and those posts getting upvoted, certainly, but if that is the way the system is working in the short run, people are going to act in ways that maximize the return on their time-investment.

I have come and gone from the platform several times, and my opinion is that it doesn't have to be an "either-or" situation. If you are producing quality content that has appeal to other Steemians, the trick still is to get on the radar of those potential upvoters, commenters, and followers. The only way to do that, it seems, comes from investing yourself in the curating and commenting side of things, which builds community and brings attention to your own efforts. That way, you not only have to produce popular content; you have to consume the content of others. I definitely upvote and comment on some of the more popular blogs, but I balance that with saving some of my voting power for those blog posts I find compelling, like this one.

Thank you for your feedback :) I know, 98% of the people here want to make a profit from Steemit, and that is really fine... and I know that a way to hopefully catch the attention of some whales is by commenting and upvoting their content. That is also reasonable! But, for me, it has kind of become so wrong when I with my little voting power still almost only vote for content, not even because it is a whale, or because the content is good, but simply because I hope to get a curation reward that is worth something.

Of course, I do not have time to look through Steemit searching for great content all day, but I will do my best at maybe being a bit less selfish and rather upvote some great content worthy of an upvote, instead of upvoting posts I never intend on reading or posts I am not even able to read (because they are in a different language)...

When I find good content, I typically make it a point to follow the author as well, to enjoy (and reward) consistently good writing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Following authors with good content is a great thing to do, will for sure make it easier to find the same authors again later at least (and upvote their future great content as well)! :)

While I try to profit as much as possible on Steem, I also try to not manually vote unless to the topics I like. I also don't post all the time because I don't want to make crappy articles.

I really respect those who're not like me, who don't vote for themselves, don't expect a vote-back and try to make the community better for people.

I guess we are all human so voting for ourselves is totally okay, but I guess the best way to grow is by also investing into the community and the people around us. So, walking the selfish road will eventually lead to less fruit than actually investing into others and by doing so, growing on your own as well!

This post has received a 31.75 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99