The comments are out there to help you!

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you, but I am a big fan of comments, reading comments, and learning from comments. Yesterday, I got a comment from @drax on an article I wrote here about The Guilty on Steemit, and it was a helpful comment that will help me get the info right and that increases the quality of the article itself (if I listen to it and make the changes needed based on the comment).

In the same way, those of you who know me, probably understand that I write a lot about movies and about Netflix content. I often describe ways in which people can get access to other Netflix regions by using VPN providers which will give them an IP address in another country, and so on... But, if there is one thing we can know for sure, it is that streaming sites block new IP addresses and VPN providers on a daily basis. And that is why I am always alert to discover and read comments from my readers that might indicate that a change has taken place. And those comments help me a lot.

Not long ago I received a comment on my little instruction video on how to watch Suits season 8 on Netflix telling me that it didn't work. Before answering the comment, I went ahead and gave the method a try, just to know if the comment was true or not. Well, it wasn't correct, and I could gladly tell the commenter that it still works. Maybe they had done something wrong, or maybe they just wrote that it didn't work because they didn't want to pay for the VPN subscription... I don't know, but at least it helped me stay secure that the method I recommended still work. And that is actually nice to know, no matter what.

And do you know what I do if I give such a method a test (based on a comment) and discover that it still works? I update the article, or I write a comment to the YouTube video to tell the viewers that I have just tested the instructions and that they still work. What is the result? People often don't trust old articles, but if they see a comment or information in an article about how the method worked a few days ago, they will much rather follow the method and give it a try.


No comments on this movie yet on Youtube

Comments give more content


This is also important to consider. A comment gives more content. And more content means a better chance of Google to feature the article in their search result... at least if it is good content. That is why it is important to have people commenting your content, and if you are smart, you will also answer and reply to those comments, at least if you have any valuable information worth replying with.

This is also very true on YouTube, as they much rather feature content that has received lots of upvotes and/or lots of comments. They like the fact that the viewers are interested in your content, and if they see and understand that, they will again let it show up on higher places in their own search engine or as a recommended content to people after watching another clip on YouTube.

I guess you understand by know that commenting is a powerful tool. If you just think about it here on Steemit, a comment will leave a link to your own profile. This is a link that Google will follow, and the more comments you write, the more links will lead back to your profile, where again your articles can be found. That doesn't mean that you should spam with comments, but it means that it could have a possible impact on your Steemit profile if you frequently write comments and remain active on Steemit, not only sharing your own content, but also commenting on the comment of other people.

What am I gonna do now?


I just received a comment on my YouTube video on how to watch The Blacklist season 6 on Netflix telling me that it doesn't work. I just tried to launch the VPN provider needed to access Polish Netflix, but it didn't want to start. In other words, I have to restart my computer and then I will see if the comment is true. If it is, I will have to work hard to find another working method, if not - I will just tell the author of that comment that it still does and he/her better try again.

Anyway, the comment will help me keep the video/article up to date and I am really grateful for it, even if it would end up being a spam comment.

Thank you for reading everyone. Do not forget to follow me on Steemit for more interesting articles about movies, TV shows, VPN providers, IP addresses and more!

Sort:  

Interesting, it's great that you've taken the trouble to check if it still worked, most do not even read the comments. Personally I like the comments, generally wrote reviews about movies and series, and in the comment section occasionally received recommendations on content that I review later.

When writing about VPN providers, there is nothing worse that signing up for a VPN provider based on an outdated article only to discover that it doesn't work - so I feel like it is an obligation towards the reader as well to keep it up to date! And about movies, I have gotten lots of suggestions in the comment field, so that is a big help and gives me lots of new ideas all the time!

When writing about VPN providers, there is nothing worse that signing up for a VPN provider based on an outdated article only to discover that it doesn't work - so I feel like it is an obligation towards the reader as well to keep it up to date!

I see, then it's very important, I didn't know. Good job!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86