Low Traffic Levels For Steemit.com Post Hard Fork 20 Show Yet More Reason To Support A Fresh User Marketing Campaign.

in #steem6 years ago

The fallout from the Hard Fork 20 adoption of the Steem blockchain can be seen here in the traffic levels and keyword strength of the Domain: Steemit.com during the recent period.

Previous to Hard Fork 20, the amount of traffic that visited Steemit.com - as estimated by this industry standard tool for Search Engine Optimisation - was around 60% of it's all time peak, which was during the huge surge in crypto prices at the start of the year. That's not bad and represents a fairly stable growth and sustained user interest. The ability for Steemit.com links to result in high rankings in Google roughly follows the traffic levels too.

As we can see, in September 2018 both graphs nosedive down and that has continued on into October, with users and traffic not returning to Steemit.com's pre Hard Fork 20 levels. In fact, the levels are down by over 50%.

Clearly some of the traffic reduction is due to a decrease in spamming, which was part of the aim of Hard Fork 20 - but the poorly managed introduction of the Resource Credits system that now manages bandwidth and limits spam has come at a cost. I don't have accurate figures for exactly how many valid users have not returned to Steem after being unable to use the network following the Hard Fork 20 integration, but I will hazard a guess that at least 25% of the entire active userbase has not yet returned.

steemit traffic oct 2018

I am currently taking action to launch a significant program to correct this by targeted onboarding of users using a variety of methods. More to come on this soon. :)

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


I am currently among the top 100 in the Steem User Authority Table

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

The problem as I see it (and have posted on before) is that it is evident that the creation of Steem was not for the Steemit platform. This is little more than a demo for them for the real drive behind all of this for them, those who will build apps and use SMT's to fund projects. I had entertained the idea of writing a short book on Steemit to use as a funnel, but in good conscience I can't bring myself to do it. I believe that the time for this aspect of Steem is dwindling. I may be wrong, but I expect if they achieve what they are after with the SMT/App market they will kill this site. They take a lot of shit (because they don't put the effort in that a primary concern would garner) and I imagine at times they hate this site and those who are angry with them calling them out of name etc.

I assume Busy or someone else who understands (unlike Busy) people trusting you with keys to wallets wan't some information on who you are and how to track you down (or the authorities) if you are careless or worse, criminal with those access keys will replace Steemit.

However, it does not escape me that with the math that will change if Steem explodes in value might alter the dynamics possible in a system such as this, as well as dwindling inflation over the years. We are (in my opinion) in a moment of opportunity that may never come again. But probably smart to prepare for these days of opportunity to slowly fade away as they close in on their goals.

According to my source, busy.org currently receives less than 10% of the traffic that Steemit.com receives and Steempeak isn't even tracked yet because it's figures are so low. I used Steemit.com as a guide because it still has the highest traffic of the Steem based sites AFAIK. Steemit.com may well die as it is replaced with better platforms, but for now it's traffic levels are relevant.

It always amazes me how the few people who use Busy and Steempeak always make out their platforms are killing Steemit. But they both have totally unusable feeds with no option of a line feed, so I'm not surprised so few people use them.

I prefer the stempeak layout for feeds, but sure, a compact version would also be good.

Hello Ura-soul,
Thank you for your excellent work and highly informative posts - truly appreciated.

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Ahoy! Thankyou!

Ahoy Steem brother - a pleasure as always! :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah the marketing campaign and overall outside communication is not so bright for Steemit and thats why we still haven't seen big amount of new users coming in.
The advantage would be that Steemit.com is waiting (what they do best :-) with marketing until SMT is completed. Until than the User experience should be much better on Steemit and the whole SMT topic would be more explainable to users.
Lets see how things play out!

Posted using Partiko Android

They need to reduce the RC for comments; that would help new users or users with low steem power... Resteemed

The solution offered is to make sure that new users receive some SP delegated which can then be removed if they spam. The problem is that this requires monitoring which takes time and effort.

And unfortunately the HF20 downtime coincided with the arrival of Star Wars Episode II...



haha.. I didn't even know that.

Weku, Smoke, Whaleshares... a lot of familiar faces.

In Star Wars!?

Star Wars Episode II : Attack of the Clones 😃

Oh dear.. lol. I haven't watched any of the new starT wars movies, so I missed that it was an older one now ;)

I am watching the clones with interest. Not sure what to make of them yet...

that shows you how much spam the blockchain had pre HF20

This graph shows traffic to the domain: steemit.com - not posting levels. So literally the amount of traffic to the site has dropped.

I thought traffic was back to pre-HF20 levels.

This data is produced through a combination of analysis of available data from Google and a bit of estimation. The data here is not 100% accurate, but tends to be reflective of actual trends. This is not a measure of interactions on the blockchain - just of traffic coming to steemit.com pages.

gimme your monies..Hows that for a user marketing campaign (☞゚ヮ゚)☞

This is a concern.
I am still actively posting here in Steemit because I thankfully still receive support from Dsound and my 900+ followers. I do however, find more worth over on Whaleshares and
because I invested in their Bitshares token earlier on in the YEAR, I now have a good stake and a rather good upvote. My VP here's only worth 0.03. Investing in the new Whaleshares platform has made me a Dolphin 🐬 I guess.
I really hope Steem can recover and get back to where it was when I joined in January.
Great Post so thanks for the information.

You are welcome, thanks. I actually know almost nothing about Whaleshares being an actual platform that can operate like steem.. I just checked it out and it looks to be a clone of Steemit - I take it is a fork of Steem and Steemit.com? I don't see WLS on coinmarketcap - interesting info, thanks.

It looks similar to Steem but is on the Bitshares blockchaon. WLS are traded through the Bitshares Dex.
The rewards work on a 14 rotation which gives posts more time to get noticed and indeed, curated.
You can transfer Steem and SBD via your a Steemit wallet and send to easydex-wallet.
This will go into your EasyDex/Bitshares Wallets as EASYDEX.STEEM or EASYDEX.SBD which is tradeable for BTS. You can then buy WLS.
Sounds long winded but it's actually very straight forward for us Cryto educated folk.
Hopefully see you on there sometime.
Thanks again and have a good week mate.
DC 🎼

Getting people here isn't just the issue, making sure they stay is. I for one am greatly discouraged by the RC system even though it reduces the level of spamming

As far as I am aware, the only problem with the RC system for new users is where they get an account somehow that has zero Steem Power. AFAIK, most ways to get accounts include an amount of Steem Power being delegated to allow the account to function - or am I missing something?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28