Investigating The Cost of Creating accounts on STEEM

in #steem5 years ago

Just a few days ago I wrote about claiming new accounts by burning your Resource Credits. Since there is a max limit to your RC the best thing to do is keep spending it like Voting Power. Spamming is a terrible thing to do. The other remaining option is claiming accounts which can be used o create new accounts without burning 3 STEEM. In a way you could say that 1 claimed account through RC burning is worth 3 STEEM. At the time it used to cost 5,203,320,253,000 RC. You can read the full post here.

Claimed My Second Account Today

That's the before picture and I expected to barely have any RC left. But the results were this:

At the time the RC cost was at 4,831,115,541,825 which is much lower. But instead of reporting right away, I prefer to keep track of things over a longer time frame to get a better idea. So below is ho it looked about 2.5 hour later:

That is roughly a 0.8% reduction. Then after about another hour I do a test again. This time it is a 3% increase.

Conclusions

  • RC costs are always fluctuating based on the network activity. When more resources are being used, RC costs go higher.
  • The overall trend seems to be a reduction of prices. But we have reached a somewhat of a stable point in prices.
  • Try to claim your account during times of lower activity on STEEM. Things will be cheaper due to supply and demand.
  • You still need to have about 2500 Effective SP to claim accounts.
Sort:  

Fascinating research! What will you do with your accounts? I currently have more alts than I have time to do stuff with, but I have put about 5 or 6 to use (a low bar being set for 'use').

I have been thinking of using scripts to automate some of the other ones, but of course they don't have enough resource credits to do very much at all....

I like to keep things simple. So getting alts would be just too annoying for me. I've been thinking about claiming a @makishima.shougo But I'm a little lazy. I'm thinking about selling them for 3 STEEM or little less. Maybe I'll give away some for a project I love. I'm not active on anywhere other than STEEM. So it's less likely to happen.

Mostly I'll just be selling at at least 2.5 STEEM or more. It's a little bit of extra income + bragging rights.

I too am only really active on steem. But there are simple scripts to get those alt accounts voting, even simpler to use steemdunk.xyz

BUT...I don't think these zero power accounts can do much now with the rc's. I heard that they were going to be able to vote an infinite no value votes but I don't know if that came out in practice.

I heard that they were going to be able to vote an infinite no value votes but I don't know if that came out in practice.

It used to be that if the vote was too small accounts weren't allowed to vote. Now they are allowed to vote and there could be many voting without knowing that their votes have no impact. It could even end up making our votes worth more since many accounts could be just draining their voting power after the dust threshold was removed.

As for the autovoters: I still think you need somewhat large enough SP to actually make it efficient. Large accounts even tent do get more followers just because of their wallet. Plus you need about 2500 SP account to claim accounts. Maybe I'll have an alt when I can still remain a dolphin after all the delegations.

Thanks for the https://steemdunk.xyz link.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 206 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @vimukthi!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.071 which ranks you at #3234 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 3242).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #58.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 6.16% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @vimukthi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76