I found an amazing photographer on SteemIt, so I flagged him

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Well, I have never been so happy to say that I was wrong.

When I happened upon this photo posted by a tiny account, I assumed it was plagiarism, because I recognized the picture from Pixabay.

https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@wales/this-is-my-entry-for-animalphotography-contest-by-juliank

Upon searching Google images I found the photo on Pixabay and other free image sources, so I flagged the post and accused the Photographer of being a plagiarist.


After having @walden review the account, he thinks the guy is for real.  

Especially after the Introduction Post.

https://steemit.com/travel/@wales/my-first-steem


This post is 

  1. An apology to the photographer
  2. An opportunity to show off his talent

Check out  @wales

To @wales I'm sorry, it appears it I was totally wrong!  

@whatsup


Sort:  

Thanks for coming clean, and sorry we had to meet like this, but no real harm done now. This is not the first time this has happened and in fact people steal my work all the time and call it their own; there have been times when sites have banned me for putting my work there and finding it already there and they have said I am the plagiarist, not so much my photos these days as I give them all away for free on Pixabay, and many other sites including National Geographic, but mainly my writing that is taken. Someone told me if it is stolen so much then I must be good. I have noticed many that do take my work and call it their own actually make far more on it than I do; I wonder why...This image I took in the north of Thailand one day and was out visiting the temples and came across this little fellow who had just eaten and so was no that interested in me as food. I crept up on him, or her and took a quick shot and then counted myself as lucky and got out of it and went and had a cup of coffee...

Awesome story @wales... Glad you got flagged by @whatsup or else I never would have found you in the vast sea of STEEM. Cheers!

Yes, now that I come to think of it, it was a good thing that he flagged me and then apologised, which was nice of him to do so, and proper; it's brought me lots of attention...

Its OK, Flags can be forgotten when you give Upvotes, it makes people forget about the flags

When I looked up "Stolen Artwork GIF" on Google Images, I found this GIF of a VR Art Gallery of stolen famous artwork heh

maybe youll get your stuff featured here one day :D

Maybe one day

If anybody plagiarizes your content in Steemit let me know and I will fuck them up.
Regards,
walden-signatur-footer.gif

I'll keep it in mind...

Welcome to the site! I hope people will find your beautiful photos now. Maybe my mistake will benefit your visibility!

Sorry about the shaky start, let's see if we can fix that! :) Sometimes making amends can be fun.

Well mistakes happen sometimes.

Well instead of pixabay you could try Shutterstock @wales

While the image is indeed beautiful.

I am on Shutterstock with the images that they would take but have not reached a pay-out yet; I'm more of a snap what I like kind of photographer and places like Shutterstock need certain kinds of photos and the two don't always meet

Well yes there are few out there like you who likes to enjoy taking mages .Glad to meet u buddy !

Solid advise !

Hii @whatsup your apologize to for doing wrong unknowingly to @wales is awesome reaction. i appreciate your positive thinking to accept your mistake with open heart and share with us. anyhow picture is really wonderful and photographic skills shown in it.

At least you are doing something. And look you made a new friend. @wales.

It's nice to make new friends

Great shots @wales and thanks to @whatsup for letting me know him!
Nice to see everything sorted out ✌️

Thanks for saying that; yes all is well now and I've had a lot of publicity because of it so I'm pleased.

People who can admit they're wrong are the best. It means they're not the bad kind of crazy lol. By the way, kind of mad at you for not posting earlier 😝

Whoops.

@whatsup,
Hat off!

Cheers~

Imo it’s better to use the flags and subsequently remove them if you find out you were mistaken, rather than not using them at all :)

What a nice apologetic post. I'll be checking out @wales on your recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87