Random Steem Issues and Thoughts

in #steem6 years ago (edited)



Following:


The price is low and activity tends to go up and down with price action.  I've been noticing my "Feed" seems slow and thinking a lot of people aren't around lately.  As it turns out, it seems that magically my account stopped following many people I normally follow.  I am not even sure that I would have known other than I realized a few days ago I was no longer following Inertia, I thought maybe I accidentally clicked unfollow, and I didn't think much about it.  Today I noticed I am also no longer following @tarazkp and at least one other.  I thought it was just they weren't active.  I don't know how many others I have been missing, but some for sure.  A couple of weeks back I read another post that said they were having this issue, but I didn't stop to consider it very carefully.  Anyhow if I normally engage and you haven't seen me for a while, leave me a comment below!

SBDs and HF20.

If you haven't heard yet, the blockchain is not printing SBD anymore which is an interesting change.  If you read the information on @steemitblog you probably know @timcliff has coded and submitted code to change the percent of SBDs in comparison to Steem before the blockchain quits printing SBDs, the result would be SSBDs would print again.   Here is the post for more information as I can't speak to the technical side at all. I have mixed feelings as I am kind of wondering if SBDs are necessary at all at this point.  Due to who we get as end-users and the difficult learning curve, I lean to suddenly wanting to make things as easy as we can.  I don't have a strong opinion yet, I guess I am still mulling it around.  Whatever happens with this one, it will be okay.

Community Developers

An awesome part of Tim's work though is that it proves a witness or community developer can submit code for consideration and that it would be considered for the Hardfork.  No more complaining that no one can change anything because...  "SteemIt, Inc".  If you want a change, code it and ask for Community Support in getting it through the hardfork process.  


Three times recently I've heard that "The Dolphins" are powering down.  No one wants to name names.  :)  My account is always powering down and I always power it back up.  I checked the "Own SBD" ranks on https://mysteemitfriends.online/   

I didn't see that my standings had changed any.  I'm not sure who we are talking about, but I haven't noticed yet.  If it were to be true that would probably help with distribution and "new blood" is always good.  Anyway, I'm nosy, so if you know who people are talking about let me know.  :)

Keep in mind as we sob and cry over the price that all of crypto is looking pretty ugly and this is the time to post and accumulate.  

@whatsup




Sort:  

I’ll review what is happening with the unfollow issue.

[Edit] Looking for details here: https://steemit.com/steem/@timcliff/help-are-you-missing-anyone-in-your-follow-list

Has someone submitted a pull request to fork me out? :D

Your too corny for a fork. You need a spoon. lol

Lol, I think someone is on to ya because you overload the system too much with your post

jk :P

unnecessary bloat.

referring to my comment?

lol. your comment, my content :P

Oh haha I thought for a second you were referring to my comment lol. Haha

Hehe, no. I still have to do some investigation, but I suspect it is probably an issue in the Hivemind layer.

It has been happening for over 6 months now.

Hmm, ok. Thanks for the info.

Just wanted to say thanks for all the effort you put in around here. I don’t have much Vp so I tend to support smaller accounts but I feel I need to start upvoting you now simply out of support. Seen you around a lot over last year and didn’t upvote much but I’m going to change that. Thanks again it really is appreciated cause you are one of the standouts from a technical standpoint.

yup - I just checked my @tarazkp 'follow' status - it has been 'unfollowed' to...

Thanks let us know. I just had to re follow you too and i know for a fact i have already followed you and have definitely not un followed you. Its quite sad there's so many people i know are missing from my feed but can't remember their names.

...and now i'm 'followed' ! - the unfollow showed up when I opened a new window to check the status....????

Thank you Tim! I just had to refollow you as well!

It's a little late but your here is the post link is bad.

Good article. Will check out the links you sent as I am working hard to better understand the HF20 changes. I'm glad to see @timcliff submit code changes. We only know what truly works based on updates. It seems like if SBD is minimized then upvoting bots may be affected as well which could be a good thing in my opinion.

I just checked and you're not following me either but I suspect that's because you never did in the first place. So, all seems as it shoud be as far as that goes. Just thought I'd let you know. :)

Interesting actually I didn't for a while. I didn't know you, but I started following you when you went to visit Tarazkp and I learned you were out there! :) I'll fix this.

I didn't know that. I don't scroll through my followers preferring to spend time respondimg to those make comments. So must have missed it. Sorry.

I have noticed that on my timeline all the time. People disappear when 'rewards' are low... Question is, how then will they grow? I have realised that for one's account value to grow, you have to interact with as much people as can. Help and support as many as you can even with just comments... They are the ones who support you back.

That's interesting. I've noticed the unfollow issue a few days ago, but I just thought maybe I accidentally unfollowed some people. In my case, its because the blockchain can be a little slow sometimes, and I end up double-clicking the follow button. So thanks for pointing this out.

Anyways, this made me double-check the list of people I'm following. It's a good thing too because I discovered new blogs add to my feed.

As for the SBD printing rate, I'm leaning towards just keeping things simple with only liquid steem. Personally, I think the SBD is redundant. Someone correct me, but I remember reading during my first week (I don't remember where) that the SBD was created to help those new to crypto not feel too much like a fish out of water by giving them a currency pegged to the dollar. The rationale is that it gives them something familiar to trade with, I think. This is all well and good, but now I feel that this just gives Steem an extra layer of complexity, that it could've done without.

I mean, the way I see it, we can use liquid steem to power up/down, trade for other cryptocurrency, trade with other users, buy goods and services like steemmonster cards. So where does SBD come in? It just serves the same purpose. The only difference is it can't be used to power up.

I think it was a cool idea that Dan had. It doesn't really work as planned, maybe they should just covert it to some sort of SMT that can be traded, but doesn't involve payouts.

That could work. After all, they can't just get rid of the SBDs cause people still have them, so finding a new use for them like that might be better and less confusing.

I will have to run through and check also, I didn't realise this was possible. On a side note, at least your feed wasn't filled with only my posts :D

Haha, I was wondering where you have been. Then I went to your page. Doh.

I expect you to catch up and hand in a report at the end of the week summarising what I have covered. :P

Yeah, I will mail that to you... real soon. (lol)

I actually experienced writers block for the first time in ages this week. And it stopped me from contributing for a few days. I also didn’t want to do that thing where we write about having writers block as a way of getting over writers block. I see that happening all too often.

The price of Steem doesn’t bother me at all to be honest. It costs me nothing other than time to collect so being worth 10 cents or 10 dollars makes no difference to my motivation.

I can't say that the price has no influence, but it isn't a lot. I am competing for each day's reward pool.

My account unfollows people from time to time too... Really weird....

Thanks for the updates. Btw the link you gave here isn't working

Here is the post for more information as I can't speak to the technical side at all.

The unfollowing thing is very weird btw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87