Overcoming the RC fear in the HF-20 aftermath

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

It was immensely relieving to me to learn today that Steem blockchain is officially stabilized now after the Hardfork-20.

Hardfork induced comment-phobia



You know, over the last week, this hardfork instilled so much fear in me for performing simple actions like voting, commenting or following that it has turned into a form of comment-phobia in me. I've become so conscious of my Resource Credit and Voting Mana that I still use to check my RC & Voting Manabar after every transaction I make. Actually, I've refrained from voting and commenting as much as I could. I even let go my daily posting schedule. I undelegated a part of my SP, stopped my power down, tweaked my auto-votes to max out my Voting Power recharging, undelegated to projects like @steemhunt, @muxxybot etc. So my RC & VP soon boomed up to 100%. But I was still hesitant to make any transaction over the blockchain.

However, I noticed that voting & commenting isn't consuming too much RC now. But I'm still too terrified to vote and comment freely as I used to do before.

Let's break-free and reclaim our freedom

Is it only me who is scared of blogging on a blogging platform? I guess, I am not alone. Do you also feel similarly?

Are you still carrying out your blogging activity as before or something in you changed after the Velocity HF?

For the ones who are frightened like me or are feeling somewhat conscious of consuming too much resources for genuinely using this platform to interact and socialize as before, I invite all of you to break-free of this HF-20 instilled phobia and feel like a normal blogger again.

Please feel free to comment here and I'll upvote all relevant comments without bothering about my mana power. Let's forget checking our RC & VP again and again. To make you feel better, I'll put a small STEEM bounty on this post so that your comments are worth something more.

Please feel free to share your experiences

  • How did you feel on this platform in past seven days?
  • Did the HF-20 event instilled fear in you or it made you more confident about potential of STEEM?
  • Did this hardfork change your behaviour in any way? If yes, what are those changes?
  • Anything else you would like to share or opine about this hardfork event.

Let's cheer regaining our freedom!

Sort:  

Dear my friend @xyzashu, thank you for your kindly words and attention for who is still in the shit with this hard fork. I feel very bad, today i did a post and made 2 comments and my RC was already gone to zero, so i have to wait till is recharged to make some comments. Of course in this situation i cutted all comments in Steemit and i am active only here in Steem-bounty, but anyway even here i cannot make anything if my RC go to zero. It is really first time i am treated like a pour man which is begging please from the platform and i am tired to see the write of some whales who is asking to me to power up. WTF!! I do not want remain without any coin to put in the bounty!! But they do not understand, for them Steemit is only a business and who want freedom of comments is a spammer.
Of course i know here i am with brothers like you and for that i feel less frustrated, but anyway see the posts and can comments only after some hours because i am without RC it make me angry a lot.
Sorry for my nervous but this situation is unbelievable for me.....

I can understand your situation, mate! We should act according to our circumstances. People may say anything to us but everyone of us are in a different circumstances and thought process. These times necessitate to act more diligently. We need to spend our resources more judiciously than before. Take care of every single mana you have.

I wish you will be soon in a position to contribute more across the whole platform! All the best to you!

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

How did you feel on this platform in past seven days?

It was a terrible mess. I hate it because I like to comment a lot and I couldn´t.

Did the HF-20 event instilled fear in you or it made you more confident about potential of STEEM?

It instilled fear because I thought a lot of users would leave and that would affect Steemit in mid and long terms a lot.

Did this hardfork change your behaviour in any way? If yes, what are those changes?

No, but now I am considering to delegate some Steem Power to minnows to help them.

Anything else you would like to share or opine about this hardfork event.

I do not like the reduction of curation limit from 30 to 15 minutes, I think it reduces the effective expiration time of posts even more.

I think the hardfork didn´t do enough for preventing spam. Another measures like increasing the RC cost for transactions of 0.001 SBD/ Steem or for accounts with less than 25 reputation would help.

I understand how it feels but I highly appreciate your generous intention to delegate your SP to minnows. It's people like you who are going to make this platform great.

I liked your suggestion of different & tough rules regarding blockchain resource consumption for accounts with lower reputation score.

I had some withdrawals since I had some posts lined up already and ready to go in my drafts so I was kind of annoyed. It was the first time ive been through a hard fork so I didn't know what to expect and was on discord trying to find as much info as possible. many of the admins were pretty relaxed so i thought why should I panic

I don't think the HF has changed the way I use steemit, it just limited my interactions for a week, but now im back to my normal interactions! I'm just weiry of when I vote now due to the changes in curation times other than that its business as usual

I can relate to you as my draft too refused to get posted a few hours after the fork.
By the way, this was the 20th fork ...and the worst one so far, considering the way it was implemented.

Good to see you back to "business as usual"!

Hi @xyzashu

To be honest, when the HF 20 first happened, I had no worries for the future of the Steem Blockchain. I was simply concerned about my inability to post.

Then I started reading posts on how the upgrade was skewed to the favour of whales and I began to fear.

So far, nothing has changed much in my behavior. I have enough SP to allow me post a hundreds of comments a day so I don't worry much.

I still believe in the Steem Blockchain and that's why I'm still hanging around. From what I've read from a few witnesses, this upgrade is going to benefit everyone in the nearest future.

I'm staying optimistic

Only optimism can get us all there!

Good luck!

Initially, I experidnced the same fear. There werd so many contradicting stories thzt I got all confused. So I quit SteemIt alltogether for a couplle of days.

When I started again on Sunday, I was checking the VM and RC bars afger every comment I made, dvery upvote I did. Only to find out that those actions don'r rdally take a lot of RC (of course I have a slightly bigger account). Meanwhile, I stopped checking those stats and I picked up my habits from before again. For me, nothing really changed

Your reactions echo the experiences of most people on this platform. I'm glad that you are back to normal activity level. Let's hope it's the same with everyone.

Initially, I was just put off a bit and because i am a small account i was literally on lockdown. I had very little RC's and steem life was non-existent for me.
But it seems the powers that be heard, and took note and they fixed it. It's much better. not as much freedom as before but enough to keep you active and help you to grow. I do think its good in some ways as people won't just post spammy comments and actually think before they post. So its much more quality stuff i'm seeing these days, less spam!

Yeah, striking the right balance is the key to success!

I have about 222 SP .. ooops I mean MANA ... but am very active so I know I will run out sometime in the near future.

I know, you're hyperactive here. Velocity has taken care of giving you some rest in between 😉.
Looks like this hardfork has given a message to not to get too addicted to Steeming ...LOL!

I hope everything will get well for you too with time.

HF20 was a nightmare to me i was really upset like what is just happened but now everything is fine.

@cleverbot @banjo @automation

You need to study syntax and grammar.

No, my name is James and I'm sitting at my computer typing.

A wonderful morning always follows a nightmare 😊

So far, I'm able to up-vote and comment, and this comment will be the 7th transaction for the day so far, and so far so good.

When hardfork 20 first ravaged us, I was only able to do one thing, and that was it. Hopefully they've fix this issue, because the platform will never ever grow if newcomers can only do one transaction per visit without paying to play.

I don't know how this change is going to mess with the long-term success of Steemit going forward, but as long as they can strike the proper balance, I can see it maybe working out.

Good to see satisfaction and optimism in new users like you. But it hurts to see that small accounts like yours still can't post more than 4 comments a day on average.

May you have a great time here!

@grumpster, I see you have just received a 15 SP delegation from @steem. How did you manage that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76