Commission - Family Portrait ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Today I'm going to share with you one of my recent commissions. ^.^ Only couple of months old... XD
I'm currently working two jobs and it would be really difficult to draw what I want (there's not enough time for sleep, but I'll just have to endure for the next couple of weeks). ;)

This one is rather special to me.
It was more of a gift than commission, hehe. ^.^ I was asked to make a portrait of a young soccer family by one of my friends who's actually the wife of his colleague. The man on the thumbnail picture is called Mihail Milchev - a quite famous soccer player-defender in my country. He and his wife Lora were expecting their first child and my friend wanted to make a special celebrating gift for them. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

Basic Sketch

I started using a photo reference, but later added a small heart, just for fun. ^^
You can even see their daughter almost smiling under the arms.
Mihail_01.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Basic colors... and faces

Because I forgot to take enough progress pics (as usual), you can see the faces and arms are almost done here. ^^'
Mihail_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Clothing and hair

I usually love drawing hair, but this one was exceptionally difficult with its so many shades and colors. That was also a great experience as I haven't done similar hairstyle before. It came out better than expected, hehe. XD
Mihail_04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Background

I wasn't very sure about the color scheme of the BG, but I kept the same as the photo. And my friend liked it a lot, so this is the most important.
Mihail_05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Final version

After a small change of the man's shirt (had to make it brighter and more saturated) and background this the last work in progress for this piece. From here it was set for printing.
Mihail_06.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Bonus

Here's a small pic of me holding the printed and already framed illustration, just before giving it to my friend. ^.^
20180203_120940.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like her! ^.^
Have a unique day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wonderful portrait work, @katalina ! You really captured both of their likeness well and their happiness is translated nicely on to your art work <3

Love the step by step, also !!

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^
It took a lot of working hours and sleepless nights, but it's worth it. ^.^
And they liked the present, even wanted me to draw other portraits, but don't have enough time for them now. ^^'

it looks so cool :D
Don't worry about the progress pics, it happens a lot xD
even i forget about it xD
btw, I love how you made the hair :)
great work

Thank you, dear! I should try and make time-lapse video, it would be more convenient that way... maybe. XD
Glad you like the hair! <3 ^.^

Great job, katalina! It must be difficult to do these kind of commissions because you can't really make any wrong expressions but still have to make them good looking too, but you did wonderfully here.

I agree with you, I think the hair turns out great in the end, even if you're having some difficulty in creating it. And it looks great as a framed painting :D!

Though I think they should pay you for this!! >:3

Thank you, my dear! ^.^ Yeah, it's more demanding to paint from a photo, because I always try to make it with my style and that can change the overall look (especially the face). In this case they are really beautiful like the painting. ^.^

I'm really glad you like the hair, most of the time was spent on it only. XD

Don't worry, it was a paid commission. ;) I just had to wait couple of months before uploading it on the Internet, because it was very personal piece. Only last night got permission to show it on Steemit exclusively. ^.^

That looks amazing Kat, your skin toning is so good! Ahhh you should have left the little heart in there XD

Thank you, Ry! ^.^ I'm glad you like it! Hopefully, in a month from now I'll be able to do streams so I can show how I paint my works. ^.^
I really wanted to keep the heart, but it wasn't included in the commission. I can always add it in my digital version tho'. XD

Congratulations @katalinaooma! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you, @steemitboard! Much appreciated! Keep up the great work! ^.^

Hello @katalinaooma, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much, @creativecrypto, for appreciating my art! ^.^

Thats soo cute ^~^ I'm pretty sure they liked it! It's super realistic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77