Inexplicit Characters - Study Sketches #5

in #steemartists6 years ago

Thunbmnail_01_03.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Back in 2013 I was still into traditional art even tho' I already had a job as a digital illustrator and designer.
I really love spending my summer brakes outside of town carrying only my phone, some books and materials for drawing like papers, pencils and dry chalk. The same year I found this awesome white ink pen and some cardboard in different colors.
Couldn't wait to try them using my characters from the The Inexplicit Project made by my friend and colleague and friend Rossy and me.
Here are 5 of them in size A5.
Each was later framed and is now somewhere in the apartment, hehe.

Border_01 (2).png

I was inspired by the incredible Orpheelin and her earliest technique you can check here. She has some really incredible artworks! ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

Hail Mallory

Starting with the main character and also the Commander-in-Chief of the City called Nomid in the original story - the City with no Sun or Moon.
I chose a medium gray color for him, because it corresponds with his character and the atmosphere of the town.
_Skici_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Phery Mallory

Next in line is Hail's sister - Pherlorya, aka Phery. Her character is a bit brighter, but because she's also part of Nomid her portrait is on the same color paper.
_Skici_01.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Victorian Stalk

Not much has been said about this fellow until now. He's more of a secondary character, brother of Kaleya Stalk - the Moon companion and also the carrier of the Moon soul. His role is more significant in the second Book where he help rescuing Shiori (Hail's wife) from kidnapping.
I chose bright color paper for him because he's from the "Bright City", also called Ledna.
_Skici_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Vivian Blackheart

The Princess from the Past, Vivi is a strong (physically and emotionally), determined and very bright character. She's also one of the secondary characters who later plays a significant role to the story as the future wife of Vain Spell- Hail's best friend.
_Skici_04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Regalis Nomid

Last but not least - the founder of the City. The playful and also destructive demon god from another planet. His role is to disturb every story and life of the others (because he was betrayed by the other gods). XD
So deserves the darkest color paper I could find.
_Skici_05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like them! ^.^
Have a fantastic day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

woooow these are such lovely character portraits, @katalinaooma ! i love the descriptions for each character, and the explanation of why you chose which paper for which character <3 very lovely !

drawing on coloured paper really brings out very different and very unique personalities on each of them :> A wonderful post~ Very inspiring ! .... I kinda also want to try coloured paper now !!

Regalis is very ... regal, by the way :> Love his hair style <3

Thank you so much, Spidey! ^.^ <3 <3 <3 Recently found that for the past months I've shared so many illustrations without showing the initial map of characters from the story. That's why decided to add a bit of description for these ones. ^.^

Oh, I'd be incredibly happy if I can inspire you. The colored paper variate in thickness, this one is a bit thicker that the paper for printers, and has nice texture on one side.
I'd love to see your drawings. ^.^

Really happy you like my Regalis. What I forgot to share in the post is why I chose these names. The name Regalis for example I found in a list of demon names (but not sure where I read about it). Only recently saw that's also a part of spider's name - Poecilotheria regalis. ^.^


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow, thank you so much, @c-squared! ^.^

These are all so lovely!

Ahhh you are so brave, my dear, introducing us to your lovely characters. It is great to get to know your characters more and more, I hope you will let us know them even further through your art and writing :).

-upvoted-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74