Shinigami Boy/Man Fan Art ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

I've been fascinated by the Heart Shaped Skull King by the Amazing @scrawly, so much that I asked her if I can make a fan art of her character.
The moment she said YES, I immediately started searching for reference poses. I wanted to pay special attention to this illustration, because he is a special hero. When I paint my characters, sometimes I can afford making mistakes, skipping details and in some cases not even finishing the piece. I know they will forgive me for that (well, I hope so). XD

But when it comes to other people's characters the question is a bit different. It takes time and special attention to details and features. I know my style is quite different, but hope there's a similarity with the original. ;)

This is just the initial sketch. In the meantime I plan to make a color version. ;)

Border_01 (2).png

Here are some works in progress before the final (for now) sketch.
Starting with some basic guide lines. Wasn't sure what clothes will have, but had this idea of his heart floating in the air, emitting light and energy.
Shinigami Boy_01-01.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Added a T-shirt and a bit more details. Still rough tho'.
Shinigami Boy_01-02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Finally decided to do the face. I was a bit scared how this is going to turn out. To be honest, wasn't satisfied at all. XD
Shinigami Boy_01-03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Still, kept working until the face features started to look like his. Well, at least I hoped that. For some reason I have a tendency of drawing grown up men, so this Shinigami Boy turned out to be Shinigami Man. XD
I'm so sorry, @scrawly! XD
Shinigami Boy_01-04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Next step was inking and adding some shadows. I was so caught up in drawing that forgot to take screenshots in between.
Shinigami Boy_01-05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And the final sketch for now. I'm still not done with the heart pendant, but planning to give it a special attention later when have more time (it's 1AM already here, wow).
Shinigami Boy_01-06.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I really hope you like him! ^.^
Have a special day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Wow, you worked so quickly! What professional speed you have, katalina! When I promised someone I will draw something usually it takes me at least a few days to completion XD.

Though you made him grown up, you captured his likeness well and he’s now a handsome man ^_^. I am looking forward to the coloured version huhuhu.

🤗

Thank you, dear! Um, no, I usually don't make it so quick (sometimes takes weeks to prepare a drawing for a friend XD), but I got so motivated from our chat that made this sketch for couple of hours. ^.^

I'm so glad you like it! ^.^ <3 I was a bit afraid to show it. Didn't want to disappoint you.
But don't really know when the colored version will be complete. Maybe I'll share several steps/posts with the progress. ;)

Don't worry, katkat, take as long as you want and as many posts as you feel required. My only request is that you're having fun :).

Thank you, dear! <3
I'm having so much fun with him, don't worry. ;) That's why I'll give my best to make him look good for you. ;))))

Very impressive. His eyes are so well done! Thanks for sharing the process.

Thank you so much, @jamesartville! Glad you like it! I left the eyes for last, but spent most of the time on them. If the eyes are not good, I sometimes leave the whole piece.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much, @c-squared! ^.^

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @veryspider to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Thank you! And YES. ^.^

Really nice, @katalinaooma! I love the pose and the expression and I think this will look amazing in colours * ___ *

Love the hair also :D

Thank you so much, Spidey! I'm very happy you like him!
I was a bit afraid to show it, because the sketch is not entirely finished. But my curiosity was way more, I wanted to see if you and Scrawly would like him. ;)

What a beautiful piece. I love your clean lines. Will resteem.

Thank you so much, @invariable.muse! I appreciate it! ^.^

Hello @katalinaooma, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much, @creativecrypto! I'm so glad you like my work! ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67